Image of Pliska Hotel

Pliska Hotel

37 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

3 out of 5 from 18 reviews
2 stars
Zlatni Pyasatsi, Bulgaria
Situated in a quiet part of the resort amongst beautiful woodland, the Pliska offers pleasant, comfortable accommodation and good service. Renovated for the Summer 2003 season, the hotel has a lovely outdoor swimming pool with children’s section.

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Roger & Muriel Brenton
8 years 5 months ago
Had a another pleasant stay at the Pliska. We stayed on a B&B basis. The hotel and rooms are kept very clean and bedding changed every day. The food can be an acquired taste but on general breakfast is good with a large selection of fruit, cereal and hot food.

The staff are brilliant nothing is too much trouble for them and always a service with a smile. Entertainment has improved this year with a regular duo every night supported by a guest act. Overall for the 3 star status the Pliska is an excellent hotel and we would recommend it to singles, couples and families alike.

The hotel location is perfect only a few metres to the beach yet far enough away from the late night noise of the night clubs, so a goodnight sleep is on offer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 4 months ago
Had a lovely stay at the pliska.The hotel was very clean and the cleaning staff kept the rooms clean every day with clean towels folded into various animal shapes and objects a nice touch.the hotel food was good with plenty of chioce on the menu at a good price.The staff were very helpfull and freindly.The entertainment was not so good the same songs every night and not that well sung although the guest acts were a lot better. I would recommend this hotel for the 3 star status and cost.This hotel is close to the entertainment but not too much noise when in the rooms
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Recommended
Daniel
10 years 4 months ago
The Rooms Were fine And Were Always Cleaned by the brillint cleaners and when she got she even started to cry because she was soo happy .

the entertainment was good and the even though it was the same two at the hotel they sang a range of different songs .

the outdoor pool was brilliant but the indoor pool hurt your eyes after a while with the many amounts of chlorine

the food was ok and it had a bulgarian touch and why would you look for something thats not bulgarian food if your in bulgaria ?



air conditioning was available at request at recpetion at a very low price and although the rooms were basic they were fine and you could sleep . a kettle and fridge were supplied
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan tours

Recommended
Mary
11 years 4 months ago
I stayed in the hotel pliska this summer, i really couldnt have asked foranything better. The women working at reception were so helpful and also very pleasent. The room wee stayed in was very plain ,but comfortable, the cleaning of the room was oustanding.
The cleaners came in every morning toclean your room and made sure you were ok for clean bed sheets. The entertainment was fine nothing outof the ordinary, but every couple of nights there was didfferntwee actson for the children,for example: magician and also dancers.
Truthfully i would recommend this accomadation to anyone. The pool was really nice, and there was always enough sun chairs around it .
The breakfast was alright ,eatable enough.
I jus cant wait to back next yaer.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cooks

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
Stayed at Hotel Pliska in Golden sands for 9 days during july 2007. I had booked the accommodation separately through Balkan Holidays from my flight.
I was a little apprehensive on arrival as I had no paperwork issued from Balkan to confirm my booking. My fears were unfounded however and received a warm welcome upon my arrival at the pliska reception.
I was allocated a single room on the 4 floor as I was travelling alone. It was a small room that was very simply furnished, most importantly though it was very clean and suited my requirements just fine.

As my arrival was late it was straight to bed and soon found that noise in this hotel was an issue.

There are plenty of folks at the hotel ready for a party and the noise is quite high. The concrete construction doesn't help this as the sound of a pair of flip flops echoes all around the building. The noise continues throughout the night and could disturb light sleepers. Next day I found that for 4 levs I could have the quietest room in the Hotel, I bought some ear plugs from a pharmacy, the noise problems ceased for me immediately.

I was staying on a bed and Breakfast basis. I only awoke for breakfast on one day as it finished at 10am however, it wasn't really worth waking up for. It consists of a simple buffet with various salads and a selection of bread and rolls. The coffee is ok (with plenty of milk) but the orange juice is just diluted squash. I must say however that there are so many cheap, good places to eat in the resort that it would be probably best missed.

The hotel pool is very nice but if you want a bed you need to be an early riser. The guys at the pool bar are very friendly and treat everyone very well.
The hotel in my view was quite well located although not on the beach. It was only a short 5 minute walk to party street and all the action( and only a 10 min stagger back !)
I found all the staff lovely and had no issues what so ever, but then, I had no complaints so didn't cause them any issues.
The hotel had entertainment each night but I didn't see it as I preferred to spend my evenings in the resort.

One word of warning if it bothers you!
Guests do bring dubious working ladies ( and the ladies bring customers) back to the hotel for some bedroom gymnastics. The hotel caters for this activity with short term room lets. If you can turn a blind eye it really is not a problem as they don't bother you if you don't seek their attention.

So to sum up I would say that for the Hotel Pliska does what it says on the tin. It is a cheap but clean hotel and you get what you pay for. would I go back ? YES for me its location, cleanliness and price was great. and I had a very enjoyable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
I booked the hotel Pliska on the basis that it was the cheapest I could find for the week I was looking for a room. I found the hotel very pleasant, the rooms were basic but adequate and had a fridge and TV with limited choice of channels.

This hotel is in a handy location for party street and a 5 minute walk downhill to the beach, I found this to be an ideal location for me. The hotel had a good pool area with free sunbeds though the drinks in the hotel were slightly overpriced compared to the local bars.

I stayed Band B, breakfast at the hotel was a complete waste of time for me as I like a good English breakfast, however it is so cheap to eat out that this didnt really worry me.

I had no problems at this hotel and would not hesitate to stay there again....it is a fairly typical budget hotel but was clean and comfortable and ideal if you are the sort of person who doesnt spend a lot of time in the hotel and just needs a base close to the bas and clubs to sleep in.

All in all an enjoyable stay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Kelly Warnock
12 years 4 months ago
I loved hotel Pliska, very friendly, and cleaners always working away. Some of the other hotels looked a lot nicer but, I thought at the price and with no kids with us. Would love to go back there with my children but there's not much for kids in the hotel it would mean taking kids away out to do things.

Entertainment could of been better apart from the brill night club down below will def be going back.

Micheal and George the bar men are so friendly amd hotel staff great too.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan tours

Recommended
Lynn
13 years 4 months ago
Stayed in the Hotel Pliska for the 2nd time and have already booked for next summer. Having stayed in two other hotel of a higher rating than the Pliska I chose to go back to the Pliska as I found it a very safe and friendly hotel. All the staff and even the hotel taxi drivers remembered as from the before.

We always book a family room which are large and airy and have air con. Room was cleaned every day with fresh bed linen and towels as well.

There was always a good choice of food for breakfast which even my 5 year old son ate.

The pool is very clean and safe and you don't have to pay for the sunbeds like other hotels. The pool bar staff are really nice and have lots of time and patience with children as do the rest of the staff.

Entertainment has improved this year, with nightly shows and the newly opened karaoke and night club.

Looking forward to another 3 weeks of sun and fun next summer in Golden Sands and the Hotel Pliska!.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan tours

Recommended
Pliska
13 years 4 months ago
Me and my wife have visited Bulgaria three times now and we have already booked for next year and we are going back to Pliska.

We have stayed at the Pliska twice and always been treated very good by the staff in fact we have made personnel friends with quiet a few of the staff.

The food is good we have never had a bad meal the entertainment could be better.

The hotel was clean I think the cleaners do a very good considering people are always walking around.

The location of the hotel is very good.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
Gareth And Family
13 years 5 months ago
My family and I awoke on the 2nd of July looking forward to 2 week in Bulgaria.

On arrival to our hotel the hotel looked nice but on the inside it became clear why no pictures were shown of the inside in any of the brochures it was like the back streets of Iraq.

There was myself my wife too sisters four kids and two babies in our party. I asked at reception about a fridge and a kettle on arrival and was informed they were already in our rooms. We got to our rooms and found there was a fridge but no kettle and went to inquire at reception as we had to make bottles to feed the babies and were told there would be one sent to our room ASAP. One hour later no kettle so again went to reception to find a different person working she told me the other person never understood us and that kettles were forbidden from the rooms. Later into the holidays I was telling people I had met there about this and was told they had hired a kettle from reception on arrival.

The staff were so nasty and unhelpful if we asked for hot water at the bar they would snatch the bottle from your hand and tut about it and sometimes they would just ignore you. The same thing happened at reception when you wanted to change money. I bought a newspaper one day left it on the table and went to get a coffee at the bar and saw the lady from reception lifting it so I went to get it of her only to be told it was not my paper and if I wanted it I must pay for it.

I will tell you all the bad points now and then the good points.

Bad points.

1 - Money stole off my niece by a member of staff at the bar we know it was staff because no-one else was there apart from them.

2 - People urinating over the balcony above us and landing on ours

3 - Ignorant and very unhelpful staff

4 - Hotel was a brothel

5 - One lift that kept breaking down

6 - Ant invested rooms and balconies

7- Food was bad and so much more.

Good points

1 - Leaving to come home.

I would never visit this hotel again and hope people read my report before going to the Pliska hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan tours

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum