Image of Helios Spa & Resort Hotel

Helios Spa & Resort Hotel

25 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Golden Sands, 9007 Goldstrand, Bulgaria
The Helios Spa & Resort is a brand new luxury 4-star spa hotel, built in 2003, with some of the most breathtaking views of the Golden Sands Resort. Together with the extensively refurbished and redesigned Crown Plaza 3-star hotel, Helios Spa & Resort

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    13
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 4 months ago
when we arrived here we were told that we could use the lobby bar, which later we found out did not belong to the hotel, so all inclusive guests were given half glasses of what seemed as alcohol free beer, brochure states that hot beverages were also inclusive hot chocolate had to be paid for. lifts to floors were also very poor not going to the floor requested and sometimes staying either approx 4 inches short of the floor or above the floor. the corridors to the rooms were not very well lit, on entering the room we were aamazed to notice that we were able to touch the trees that were growing outside, there was a 7 inch gap from the floor to the bottom of the dividing walls. the meals were of a poor standard and sometimes disguisting which meant that our party had to eat out, chips were freezing cold and at times people were seen to heating them up under a two slice toaster, the choice of food was chicken and veal which at times was not cooked and this is what was being served every day. entertainment was only for kids and nothing for adults and lasted approx 1 hour. the alcohol was not good to drink. the jacuzzi never worked for the two weeks that we were there, the pool table which cost 4 levs (
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Y Knight
10 years 4 months ago
All inclusive is far from the expectations. Only biscuits available in between meals. Drinks are diabolical. Local spirits, wine, beer and soft drinks allowed only. Cola is meant to be pepsi but apart from in restaurant its not pepsi. Most epople found soft drinks unbearable. If you pay for food or drinks then you do get a far better quality. Room clean on arrival but try to get it cleaned during stay or bedding changed is hard going. Location ok a few minutes walk from beach, plenty of shops around. This hotel should be all inclusive it is ok though if you're half board or bed and breakfast because service is far better if you pay. Staff are also pleasant to those who are paying.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Sarah Murphy
11 years 3 months ago
My room was not cleaned for the whole two weeks I stayed at this hotel, even after asking reception and my rep several times; I have photographs of the grime in the bathroom.

Poolside was not cleaned at all
We stayed all inclusive, it was appalling, it was more of a canteen than a restaurant we had to wait around for tables, cutlery, cups etc.

Hotel staff were very rude and unhelpful
Entertainment was very basic, and it was in a non-inclusive bar so if you wanted to watch the entertainment you had to buy your drinks to do so.

One Big Con!!!!

I cannot stress enough how disgusting this hotel was!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

11 years 6 months ago
The Hotel was very good,Staff very helpful.

The food was ok we found something to eat every day.But as the hotel caters for so many nationals this was expected.

The hotel is in a good spot as you are away from the noise,There are 100+ steps you can use or a glass lift,which is very handy.Pools great one with slides and you can use balls and lilo's.one you can't and a warm indoor one.

The tiles are very slippy in the kids pool though.The entertainment staff are great they work non stop and really make an effort to get to know your names.they do darts.exercise,football.

There are 3 bars at the pool 3 inside,we had a great time but brits in the minority around20 percent
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Firsr choice

Recommended
Coveney Party
12 years 4 months ago
What a hotel very very clean. Our stay was just perfect. All staff were helpful and polite.

Rooms are lovely, laid out well with air con.
Good shower with endless hot water,and no smelly drains!!

Bottled water is available after midnight for free from main reception. Long trousers for men in the evening in the restaurant are required although some slip in without them. I missed one night and was ask to wear them the following night.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lidbury
12 years 4 months ago
When we first arrived we were all very pleased with the hotel, that was until it rained and there was buckets all over the hotel. After some English complain they were told not a problem rain stop leak stop. Also when anything got broken or lost they will try and charge you, we had no clean towels left one day and they accused us of nicking them and wanted to charge us for them that was until they checked their maids book and saw she had not left any.

Take alot of toilet roll as you will spend alot of time on the toilet.

All inclusive does not mean all inclusive you can not go into two of the restaurants or the club unless you are willing to pay.

The swimming pool is ok but the tiles around the pool are very dangerous when wet the amount of people who went over.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Geoff
12 years 5 months ago
First Time at hotel and read previous reports but went with an open mind.

Arrived at 2am and cases taken from taxi and were in our rooms before we had checked in. Rooms were clean and we had them overlooking the car park which suited us at it was very quiet at night.

Did not go all inclusive as other reports said not worth it, unless you have small kids who want drinks and ice cream all day I don't think it is. I hate to say this but many people of all nationalities did tend to waste a lot of food on all inclusive.

100+ steps at the back of the hotel down onto the main St make sure you can get back up them.

Pools were clean with lifeguards present but shut at 7pm Small gym shut at 7pm and the pool table and other games use tokens which you buy from the indoor pool attendant.

Which goes at 7pm Bear this in mind if you have kids.

Entertainment was not fantastic but few people wanted to join in anyway. The night shows which are quite good were
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Kathy
12 years 5 months ago
Wonderful hotel, near the beach, would also recommend seeing the dance troupe"maximus" one for the ladies.

Anyway the staff are lovely at the Helios.

We stayed in the 3* part could't fault the bar staff even one of the female waitresses took to my 7 year old was very good with him.

Food was adequate, staff great, cleanliness great, entertainment rating 10 out of 10 (male dancers)

I would recommend half board as it gives you the option to go into the town for a meal.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Recommended
12 years 6 months ago
The hotel was fantastic. We stayed in a 4* room for 2 weeks and it was great. We could not fault any part of it, as a couple. The room was cleaned everyday and had air conditioning which was good on a night when it got a bit stuffy.

We had breakfast once, but it was very much catered for the huge amount of Germans staying there. There was a toaster, but this tended to just warm the bread. They also had cereal, if you don't mind having that. The only reason we didn't go was because my partner could not have dairy products so his only option was warm bread and cold smoked meat.

The pools were lovely, very cold mind you, even the one indoor. Plenty of sunbeds and bars by both pools and it is very clear.

Just a tip, the Germans can be very rude and do not say please and thankyou if you help them. e.g. when i held the door open for some they just walked through without batting an eye.

All in all the hotel and staff where great! Couldn't have asked for a btter place to stay.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Tam Leggate
13 years 2 months ago
My first and major complaint is the fact that this resort was closing down for the season when we arrived to start our holiday, which was not explained to us on booking this holiday. By the end of our first week of our holiday most of the shops and restaurants were closed, all the bars had closed down or had only a very limited stock so we were forced to stay in the hotel for the remainder of our holiday.

This brings me to my second complaint, which was the hotel itself. We had booked the hotel as an
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum