Image of Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel

Melia Grand Hermitage Hotel

4 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Hotel Marina Grand Beach, Grand Hermitage Alley 1, 9007 Golden Sands, Bulgaria

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Clive
Only just a 5*
7 years 7 months ago
Lovely hotel, but some irritating maintenance issues, such as the cover in the shower cubicle loose, some of the paintwork could do with a touch up. Only just a five star because one of these things and I was surprised about was that there is no dress code applied in the restaurant in the evening - people would come straight from the pool or beach to dinner.

Also I felt some of the younger bar staff found it difficult to understand some English terms but were very pleasant and perhaps would benefit from some more training.

However, there were very few English staying at the hotel, many Russian and Rumanian but this added to the charm because you realised you really were abroad! A few words of Bulgarian was greatly appreciated by the staff.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
9 years 6 months ago
Beautiful hotel! We took a walk down the boardwalk and we both agreed that the Hermitage was the best hotel in Golden Sands. Impeccably clean, sparkling! Great location - right on the boardwalk, but the rooms are sufficiently far from it so one does not hear the noise. The beach and sea are right on the other side of the boardwalk. Chiflika is lovely, charming Bulgarian restaurant, in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. The staff speaks good English. We were given a beautiful, spacious deluxe sea view room on the ninth floor. We were told that the elevators only went up to the eight floor and that we would have to take the stairs to the ninth. But have no fear, bell boys are standing by, eager to help with your luggage. The view was worth it. From our little balcony we could see Balchik and all the way to Kaliakra - and of course, the huge pool and the ship-turned-restaurant "Golden Dreams". Breakfast was included. Lots to choose from. I am a vegan and I still found plenty. I would definitely return. Comfort and luxury. I mean, the bathroom had two sinks. In the closet there were slippers and beautiful bathrobes. The safe is free (although parking isn't). You'll love it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: N/A

Recommended
Pat Byrne
11 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the kempinski golden sands for 2 weeks and decided on half board, on arrival hotel looks all of its 5 star rating with impressive lobby and facilities booked de lux sea view rooms and rooms were lovely especially bath rooms which were huge with a great walk in shower and a his and hers washbasins. Beds excellent and our single friends room was similar to ours but with a king size bed which she loved but single supplement is extremely high but I understand that if booked privately it is much cheaper.

Buffet style meals especially breakfast were good but dinner did not excell and on a few nights was lukewarm . Think if going again would go b and b all in all a very good if expensive hotel but its five star crown slipped a few times
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: topflight

Recommended
Max
11 years 6 months ago
We picked out a 'late' deal with Balkan-Holidays and only chose this particular hotel because of the amazing price.

We were very pleasently surprised when we got there.

Rooms were great; good size, and extremely clean.
Food was lovely, and the staff extremely friendly.

I would definately go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Mike & Yvonne
11 years 6 months ago
Our first visit to Bulgaria and it was great that we picked the Kempinski as our hotel.
Location was perfect as it is in the centre of Golden Sands, turn left for the quiet area, turn right for entertainment area.( Down quite a few steps to the sea front )
Hotel was spotless,hotel and the pool area being cleaned all day every day.
Food was very good with plenty of choice. Breakfast was a bit manic,very busy,had trouble getting the waiters attention for tea coffee etc, but then the evening meal was very different, it was a lot different and much quieter. The evening meal was theamed every night, ie Asian African Italian Bulgarian and more , also there was the usual pasta, meats, and vegatables.a good selection over all.
Staff very polite, most speak English.
We were there for two weeks and did not see any entertainment in the hotel other than a duo playing out side a couple of evenings a week
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Eileen &nicky
11 years 7 months ago
my partner and i had never been to bulgaria before but got a great deal for this hotel and decide to give it a go. the hotel was lovely , just what you would expect. with the staff nothing was a problem. the leisure facilities were great and spotless, as was the restaraunt, all i can say is if you enjoy a nice coffe on a morning take your own in to eating area and help yourself to the hot water as bulgarian cofee is a little strange tasting. and thats about all i have to say the hotel is fab.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: booked off computer

Recommended
12 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Kempinski 11th - 18th May 2006 and had a wonderful time. It was the start of the season, so the resort was only just starting to come to life. The Kempinski was certainly open for business - they are making a few finishing touches e.g. the grounds leading to the beach, and I don't think the casino was ready but there was no real disruption.

The staff were absolutely excellent - a real display of genuine customer focus. My only improvements would be better signage for hotel facilities and better communication between staff re. flexi-dine packages.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
ROB
12 years 8 months ago
During this stay the hotel was just re-opened again. Business seemed to be pretty slow although there was some large conference going on.
The hotel overall seems to be finished now.

With my various stays in Bulgaria, all over, I must say the food is definatelly among the best in the country!

The staff still needs training here and there but compensates it being very friendly and smiling. Even with some really nasty guests that I spotted :-)

What I like most and hope during my next stay when I want to come with friends is the green surrounding. The resort is very crowded and this hotel has a small but really nice green area between itself and the beach. From the pool deck you can see the black sea.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum