Image of Marina Grand Beach Hotel

Marina Grand Beach Hotel

9 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

4 out of 5 from 19 reviews
5 stars
Hotel Marina Grand Beach, Grand Hermitage Alley 1, 9007 Golden Sands, Bulgaria
Opened in 2002, this hotel combines comfotable and modern accommodation with an array of facilities to suit all ages. The beach is situated just across the promenade in front of the hotel, and there are many recreational facilities within the hotel.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Alpech
11 years 6 months ago
This was our 4th visit to Golden Sands and by far the best hotel we have stayed in. On arrival we were shown to our room which was massive, even with the sofa bed already made up for our children. We were on the 7th floor and had a great view over the beach and pools with a fairly large balcony.

The bathroom was twice the size of ours at home with WC, sink, bidet, bath and 2 shower heads over the bath - just be careful as the tiled floor can get very slippy when wet however lots of towels and floor mats are available. The white fluffy bathrobes were a great touch.

The rooms were very well cleaned and the maid would make a different animals out of the tow
els for the children most days which they thought was great.

We thought the food was excellent, always plenty of choice and not luke warm as is often the case in Bulgaria. Even my fussy children were happy and eat well.

The hotel facilities were very good and the spa excellent. The drinks were quite expensive in the hotel however when we were around the pool we would go to the shop on the nearby street which was half the price of the pool bar and nobody ever said that we weren't allowed to bring our own drinks.

The hotel is very central however far enough away from the noisy bars so you could get some sleep.

I would recommend this hotel - maybe more of a 4 star than 5 but still very good and we will be staying there again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Michelle
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel was in a superb location only a minute from the beach with fantastic views. Hotel staff were the friendliest and could not do enough for you.

The food was excellent I counted over 27 different Salad dishes and 26 Sweets not including the hot buffet which always included two meat dishes and one fish dish, two soups and vegetables. Fruit was always available so there was definitely something for everyone.

Rooms were really spacious and were immaculate. The hotel even brought out a Birthday Cake for one of our party which we had not asked for but they knew it was his birthday obviously from passport record on check in which we thought was excellent and a really professional touch.

The Mezzanine bar was excellent and the staff superb. Information was always available on the boards with regards to trips etc.

Pool was small but very clean but cold however we spent every day on the beach only a minute from the hotel.

On departure our cases were stored safely in a special room and there was also available a hotel courtesy room where we could shower and dress.

Fantastic hotel could not fault it and would recommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Jim Bermingham
12 years 3 months ago
Hotel is in an excellent position, close to everything but no trouble with noise when trying to sleep.

Food was okay but exactly the same every morning and evening which even after a few days got very boring. Staff throughout the hotel were all excellent and extremely friendly.

A slight downside was the entertainment of which there wasn't any but we were there near the end of the season so maybe they were on holiday! The Mezzanine lounge was great to end the evening in especially for us and others who had small children. It's large, spacious and safe for the kids to play about in.

The best waitress in the world also works there and she's called Mary. The hotel should be proud of her. The pool area tends to be very busy and beds are very cramped around it.

Overall, a good hotel but probably not the 5 star quality you would hope to expect
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
This hotel has almost everything needed a, relaxing holiday. In fact if anything, it
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Falcon

Recommended
Karen & Chris
12 years 7 months ago
This hotel is one of the best we have stayed in. The rooms are very spacious and are cleaned every day. The staff are friendly and cannot do enough for you. The poolside bar / cafe staff are great. You can be served drinks or meals at the pool, so you need not move all day if you don't want to.

Had no trouble getting a sun lounger round the pool this time of year, no need to get up at 7 to put towel on!!. Area around pool is fairly small, so ok whilst we were there (Hotel not full) so will be very cramped in summer.

The food was not the greatest, but there is enough choice so you will never go hungry.

Only downfall is the entertainment. There wasn't much of it. Some bars had duets on - but they all seemed to sing the same songs. Was quite funny really. I am sure this will get better in high season.






Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Norm
12 years 7 months ago
We had a very nice time at the Hotel.

The food was good. The Staff were lovely. The Pool and Pool Staff were excellent.

I would go back again. The best time is the third week in May, when every thing is up and running.

The weather was hot and sunny, with only one day of rain, which was a pleasant break from the sun.

Go for the sea view, it is worth the extra cost.

A reasonable Tip, is two Lev,(80p) this will ensure priority treatment from the Bell Boy too the Pool Attendant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nick Moore
12 years 7 months ago
Just returned from the Marina Grand beach hotel.

Found this to be a very clean and respectable hotel, with good sized rooms which were well equiped and maintained to a high standard.

Only BBC world in English & all other Sat channels in German or Bulgarian. Food is all buffet style, and whilst being edible, did not inspire you to stay in for evening meals each night. Most dishes seemed to lack a decent quantity of sauce/gravy so dried out very quickly. There also only seemed to be one vegetable option (excluding fried onions!)and not sure if there was any choice for vegetarians. Waiting staff lacked general interest until tip time and did nothing to help you find a table at busy times. The waitresses also wore amazingly shirt skirts which were inapropriate considering some were like Russian weightlifters!!

Pools were clean but quite cold. Indoor was a doubtful 25 degrees (20 at most). Food and drink at the poolside was generally good and cheap and staff very helpfull - look out for the crazy hats! Did not see much in the way of entertainment, but we were at the beginning of the season.

Did not think much to being charged 10% commission for using my debit card for currency at the hotel and used the small amount of our sterling instead.

On the whole though a very good hotel which I would reccommend.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first Choice

Recommended
Tricia
13 years 4 months ago
The hotel was beautiful. The rooms were very spacious with lovely big bathrooms and balconys.They were cleaned daily (however we found that the maids would sometimes come into our room at 8.30 to clean so make sure you make use of your 'Do not disturb' sign if know you will be in).

The food was varied and very nice although we went out a few nights to because there were so many restaurants to eat in that it would be a shame to not have tried a few of them out.

We walked the length and breadth of the resort looking at other hotels in the resort and we definatly believe that this hotel is in the best location. You are literally a 15 second walk onto the beach, but away from most of the noise at night.

The hotel staff were very helpful and always polite and cheerful.There was so many services to make use of in the hotel such as the sauna and jacuzzi which we used (however the beauty receptionist did lock the door when we went into the sauna and we had to shout for help, but the staff were very very apologetic. We saw the funny side and have kept it as a holiday memory,haha)There was massages and beauty treatments galore which we never got around to having but they are so cheap to that it's a crime if you don't completly pamper yourself after a long hard relaxing day at the beach.

Can't say much about the entetainment as we went straight out after dinner and never spent any night watching any hotel entertainment.Would definatly recommend the sky bar where we ended most of our evenings and the mezzanine bar on the first floor which also had three pool tables if you like pool!

All in all, we would definatly recommend this hotel and if we visited Golden Sands again,we would definatly go back to the Marina Grand without a doubt.It is the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Creed
13 years 4 months ago
The rooms were quite large but they certainly weren't cleaned properly. When we checked in (1st floor room) I cut my foot on broken glass and there were insects crawling on the floor.

Beds very uncomfortable - there was a big dip in the mattress and we had to put a blanket under it to make it more comfortable.

We were changed to another room on 2nd floor (at least we didn't have the insects then).

Pool too crowded - gave up in the end.

Staff were very polite but suddenly losts their language skills when querying charges ie safe deposit box key!

Food boring - all the same.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Webster
13 years 5 months ago
We had an excellent holiday in Bulgaria and would certainly recommend it to anyone. There is lots to do in the resort and it is very cheap.

The hotel was fantastic with the rooms being clean and spacious. We had a great view of the resort from our balcony.

The only problem with the hotel is that the pool is quite small with the beds being taken very early (we couldn't get one at 7.30am !!!) but after a couple of days we discovered that if you give the pool staff a small tip they reserve sunbeds for you the next day.

The food was fine in the hotel no upset tummy's.

We brought home a lot of designer wear (don't know whether fake or not, but who cares!!) Jeans
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum