Image of Obzor & Izgrev Beach Iberostar Hotel

Obzor & Izgrev Beach Iberostar Hotel

8 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

4 out of 5 from 26 reviews
4 stars
Golden Sands, 9007 Varna, Bulgaria, Bulgaria
This attractive modern hotel is a popular choice with adults and couples and enjoys a fabulous beachfront setting. There are great facilities on offer here including a superb therapy centre and private terrace with a Jucuzzi and bar overlooking the beach.

26 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Gordon
11 years 3 months ago
Had been to Golden Sands before so knew the hotel was in a quiet location in resort. Perfect for the beach 10 yards away and marina.
Standards in the hotel were excellent and the service in the restaurant was first class, no waiting for tables to be cleared, staff very pleasant and the food was both varied, hot and very good. Oh I do miss my little cakes at breakfast already. A special mention must go to our cleaner Ljoba, always smiling and her cleaning was excellent.
The majority of clients were German but we had no problem with them.
Entertainment team work hard and put on shows for most nights. On their night off there was a Russian Cossack Troupe and Choir on but you had to pay 23 lev to watch. Have seen these advertised all over Europe so it was a small price to have to pay and the fact was it was packed so it speaks for itself.
My only complaint really was one of our aquaintences Angela, along with her family, who stayed there at the same time as us were charged 2.5 lev on asking for a tea bag to make a stronger cup of tea.( This was the price for an entire cup of tea.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
11 years 4 months ago
Hi,we stayed in the Izgrev hotel that was at the quieter end of the resort.It was spotless and always very clean and tidy.Rooms were tidied every day.We had a room with a sea view that was fantastic.There was me,my husband and little girl and the room was very big with a lovely balcony.Food was very good and something for everyone,no complaints there at all.Entertainment team worked very hard and put on some good shows.Only complaint was that you had to pay to watch if entertaiment team had a night off and another act was bought in.Germans very very rude and 99% very ignorant.My mother in law had a cup of tea in reception and had to pay 2.50 levs for an extra teabag which she wasn't very pleased about.Hotel pool a bit small but heated indoor pool excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
11 years 5 months ago
This was our first visit to bulgaria. Didnt know what to expect at first but when we got there it was brilliant. Entertainment team was excellent. Hotel is right on the beach so we always went down. Hotel has two pools we always stayed in one where they played water polo and other games. Pools are really clean. Dont have to battle to much for sunbeds theres always a few spare. Food was excellent. Overall a brilliant holiday and we really didnt want to leave and come back to england!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Tim & Jen
12 years 3 months ago
Third visit to Bulgaria and far and away the best hotel. Lovely big room on 9th floor with sea view (a must as 'park view' is stretching the imagination).

Good food, especially anything in a sauce.

Staff very good, nothing too much trouble.

Entertainment team work hard and put on a couple of really good shows, but, if not to your taste, a few good bars close by. Everything very cheap, our only disappointment was the lack of public transport, but, having said that, taxis were cheap for a days hire.

Overall, excellent value for money and will definitely return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Tracy
12 years 4 months ago
We have just come back from this hotel which I found very clean, ideal position facing beach first time in Bulgaria.

Hotel was cleaned at all times food was nice but began repetitive over the two weeks. Hotel location was excellent but if you go farther up the road to your right the beach is a lot nicer.

Staff didn't really understand what your were saying or were pretty ignorant.

Entertainment was bad finished at 10 o'clock also was not very good.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
Excellent hotel virtually on the beach, a few complaints though, the food was nowhere near 4 star standards, though the menu looked quite extensive the quality and preperation was very poor.

They also need to trust people, they charge 30 leva deposit(
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Conway
12 years 5 months ago
This is the 2nd time we've stayed in Bulgaria and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and safe. We had an interconnecting room, so the kids had their own room, which we accessed via our room to check on the kids.. brilliant!.

The mini bar in your room are very reasonably priced and the maids refill and keep a check on what you've have had throughout your stay.

On the first few days we didnt bother with getting involved with the poolside games during the day or watch the evening shows. However, we did get involved after this and had loads of fun.. wished we done it sooner.

All the entertainment team are brilliant with everyone and really make you feel welcome. The shows are fantastic and would say there is nothing else like this in Golden Sands.

The food in the hotel is very good, which varies everyday. My children are 15,11,10 and tried everything and enjoyed the food. the best thing about the food is that chips are not served everyday, and the choice from salads, carvery(meat,duck,chicken,fish), pototoes in herbs(recommend)stews, soups, loads mores. As for the sweets, these always went down well. No funny tummys at all.

After reading reviews regarding the pools sizes. I can tell you that as long as your up around 9am you should always get a sun bed around the Obzor pool (this was better than the isgrev pool.. this was small), the Obzor pool is fairly empty throughout the day of swimmers, the kids had greatfun.. no lilos allowed in.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holidays

Recommended
Conway
12 years 5 months ago
This is the 2nd time we\'ve stayed in Bulgaria and would recommend this hotel to anyone.

The rooms are very spacious, clean and safe. We had an interconnecting room, so the kids had their own room, which we accessed via our room to check on the kids.. brilliant!.

The mini bar in your room are very reasonably priced and the maids refill and keep a check on what you\'ve have had throughout your stay.

On the first few days we didn't bother with getting involved with the poolside games during the day or watch the evening shows. However, we did get involved after this and had loads of fun. Wished we done it sooner.

All the entertainment team are brilliant with everyone and really make you feel welcome. The shows are fantastic and would say there is nothing else like this in Golden Sands.

The food in the hotel is very good, which varies everyday. My children are 15, 11, 10 and tried everything and enjoyed the food. The best thing about the food is that chips are not served everyday, and the choice from salads, carvery(meat, duck, chicken, fish), potatoes in herbs(recommend) stews, soups, loads mores. As for the sweets, these always went down well. No funny tummys at all.

After reading reviews regarding the pools sizes. I can tell you that as long as your up around 9am you should always get a sun bed around the Obzor pool (this was better than the isgrev pool.. this was small), the Obzor pool is fairly empty throughout the day of swimmers, the kids had great fun.. no lilos allowed in.

The beach at this part of the resort is great and not as crowded at the other end. There are always beds available at a cost of 6levs each for a bed and parasol. The private bar serves snacks on the beach (cheap too)(man in a hat). be aware that there is jelly fish in the sea but only a few. we stayed on the beach loads and no one had any problems.

Large beer is 2.50(80p) levs and cocktails are 6levs(around
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Cranefield
12 years 7 months ago
We arrived at the Hotel not knowing what to expect.

Our first impression was how clean it was. We paid the extra for the sea view... well worth it.

The food was good with lots of choice for every taste. The hotel is at end of the resort with only a short walk to the centre.

We would certainly return to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Frankie
13 years 2 months ago
I returned to Bulgaria after being in Albena (hotel Ganana see ratings) 5 weeks ago, I returned to do some business and could not return to Albena so took this recomended option.

The hotel like all hotels in BG is very clean the local people work very hard, all the staff from porter to manager go out of thier way to be helpful and friendly.

The location of the hotel is great for the beach but looses a point as it is quite a walk from the centre if eating out etc or needing a taxi / bus to Varna.

The Animation team which do all the entertainments in Bulgaria are very good the only problem in this hotel is that they insisted in singing a song in German (and there was a lot of them) at the end of the night, this hotel is very popular with the Germans so a fight for a sunbed is guarenteed. The hotel pool is in the shade from about 1.00pm so just go to the beach!

Although I have said I would not visit this hotel again it would not be a bad second choice after all I first stayed in Golden Sands 13 years ago and a lot has changed in that time!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum