Image of Shipka Hotel

Shipka Hotel

31 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

3 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Zlatni pyasatsi, Varna, 9007 Zlatni pyasatsi, Bulgaria
Enjoying a wonderful location in the heart of the resort the Shipka has always been a firm favourite with Balkan holidaymakers. The hotel is divided into 3 star and 4 star accommodation, it has an excellent range of facilities and a popular Health and Fitness club.

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jean Rafferty
Gerald & Jean Rafferty
5 years 1 month ago
Third time at this hotel. It is still a good hotel although this year we had a few minor problems we got stuck in lift twice and had to be rescued and then the third time it broke down and had to climb 6 flights of stairs to get to our room.

The receptionists this year were not very helpful, or friendly. Also they still don't give you the breakfast pack before you leave in the early hours of the morning.
Breakfast this year was hit or a miss as at times, there was hardly any choice even when we went down early every morning.

There was no one to help with the luggage, the cleaners were very good and always clean towels and bedding.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkans

June Gerry Rafferty
8 years ago
This was our second year at this hotel .And like last year it was just as good .The hotel cleaners were great ,and room was cleaned every day .The breakfast was not as good as last year as not much choice .There was lots of diffrent nationality but never any trouble in hotel and never any noise at night
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkans

Recommended
June Gerry Rafferty
9 years ago
The Shipka is located in a great area ,near the beach .The hotel was very well presented at breakfast ,and always plenty food on the tables for every one .The hotel pools inside aand out were cleaned every day and there was never any trouble getting a bed at it.The hotel was well kept and never any trouble getting any thing .The rooms were cleaned every day bed linnen and towels were changed regular .There was loads of young people of all nationalities in the hotel but there was never any trouble or noise.I would definately recommend this hotel/only thing i did not like was maid walking into the room without knocking June Rafferty
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
13 years ago
Returned from Golden Sands 2 weeks ago and stayed in the Shipka.
We paid to stay on the 3* side of the hotel, this is the side of "party street". If you like an early night (before 12.30) don't expect it to be quiet! 4* is at the rear of hotel and is the quiet side.
We went B & B and can't really complain, but the early you go for breakfast the quieter it is. Plenty of choice. Fruit - watermelon, plums, peaches. Meat - sausages, ham etc. Eggs - hard and soft boiled, scrambled. Pancakes. Breads (2 toasters available). Croissants. Sweet breads and products..... plenty of choice. More than happy (pancakes v.v. nice!!!)

Hotel is not far from red light area but don't have any complaints. Did not see any prostitutes in or in surrounding area of hotel.
Right next to party street so ideal for falling in drunk! But too close for any one who isn't a night owl.
We were originally placed on first floor on the front and heard people walking past drunk, coming in drunk all through night, but one word with balkan rep and she had our room switched. Ended up on 10th floor which had fantastic view of sea! Only down side is that lift broke down a few times so 11 flights of stairs kept me fit (apparently if you got stuck inside the lift, the odd kick got it working again).
Some staff were lovely and friendly, others were miserable!

No entertainment!

I would go to hotel again, but would go 4*
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Recommended
13 years 10 months ago
Hotel Shipka Golden Sands. This hotel was very clean an added extra was the displays the chambermaids left everyday with our towels.

The 2 pools were extremely clean the indoor one having a jaccuzi. The staff were friendly and answered all our enquiries. There was a very nice seating/bar area where we could relax watch tv or play cards there was the odd prostitute passing through but they never bothered us just said hello.

It would have been nice to have some sort of entertainment in the hotel but plenty to find on the street outside. About 5 mins to the beach. Would definately use this Hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan holidays

Recommended
Debbie Martin
13 years 11 months ago
Loved Bulgaria just not this hotel the pool area was great good location for the beach .

The prostitutes were the problem if you have children I wouldn't recommend it. The "ladies " use the hotel for their business. Also lots of German men there for the obvious thing!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Not a family hotel will be a lot more careful when we book this time as Balkan weren't interested when we complained.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Jim
14 years 1 month ago
it is right in the heart of the red light district, the girls of the night use it to clean up. there are a lot of german lads there for one thing and it is not sunshine. dont take children to the hotel
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: balkan

Martin And Elaine
14 years 1 month ago
Stayed at this hotel for a second time and have to say on arrival we were made to feel like old friends returning with a warm welcome from the concierge and reception staff who immediately recognised us from the year before (september 2003).

Got put on the 10th floor fantastic views of the sea and poolside areas and the rooms were as high a standard as you would expect back home (in some cases I would say higher than at home).

Firstly there is a high contingent of Germans that use this hotel but that is not a bad thing as germans do not like to be treated as second class and if anything ever goes wrong in a hotel they will report it immediately. They are loud when they sing their drinking songs and it will get on your nerves if you don't see the funny side of life. However learn a few key phrases, learn the odd german song (logo logo) and you will soon be talking about Berti Vogts failure to get the Scotland team performing and how Paul Lambert was sensational in Germany.

The hotel serves potent and I mean potent cocktails so take it easy but their cocktail bar has got a few Tom Cruise style tricks to keep you entertained when pouring some drinks.

Pools are kept clean daily (indoor and out), bedding changed regularly, clean towels everyday. Good value but I would agree it is a hotel suited for couples and adults as it is near the red light area. Never had any bother and all the staff are helpful even if their faces don't always show it.

Back again this year....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum