Image of Kaliakra Palace Hotel

Kaliakra Palace Hotel

28 of 45 hotels in Golden Sands

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Golden Sands, Bulgaria
This modern and comfortably furnished hotel has an ideal position right on the beach front, some 25-30 metres off the main promenade and about 600 metres from the centre of the resort. The are plenty of facilities to choose from, including an outdoor swimming pool.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Norma Nelson
12 years 3 months ago
After reading numberous bad reviews on this hotel, I thought I'd made a big mistake! However, we had a lovely time - don't be discouraged by what you hear, however to some extent I can understand other less favourable comments.

The hotel was very clean, rooms cleaned thoroughly every day. The pool was shaded under pine trees, so you got inevitable bits falling off, but no big deal.

Also the pool & poolside area were quite small, but you had the beautiful beach at the doorstep! We didn't eat often in the hotel - not because the food was poor, but because dinner was very early.

Being too old for nightclubs and too young for Tom Jones impersonators, our evening meal was our "entertainment". When we did eat in it tasted fresh & homemade. It was not British food - but we liked this, as it was nice to try different & unexpected things on hols.

There were excellent bars & restaurants all around the resort, all very reasonable, and we wanted to try as many different places as possible.

The location was on the quieter side of town, but very close to the centre. I think location was the best part of all, certainly it was the reason we picked this hotel & were not disappointed. Staff were helpful and friendly - their English (and German, Russian, French etc) was excellent.

Do try & learn to say "hi" "thanks" and "bye" as people all over Bulgaria really do appreciate it even you make a small effort (like anywhere, I supose).

We were unaware that there was any entertainment in the hotel - even if there was, we wanted to get out and about anyway! On the minus side, my partner, who is a coffee drinker, said the hotel coffee was like something Baldrick would make in Blackadder.

There was a guy with an electric guitar in a beach bar right opposite who did a hard rock singalong until the wee small hours - we loved it, but also understand that "Lordi" at 2.30am may not be everyone's taste!

In conclusion, if you are visiting, remember you are going to Eastern Europe & the relatively low prices you pay - and I don't think you will be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Recommended
Debbie Richards
12 years 5 months ago
This was my second time in Bulgaria at a 4 star hotel and this hotel was definitely not 4 star.

The food was disgraceful to say the least.

We had no balcony and when we complained to Balkan they wanted more money of us to move to another 4 star hotel(207 each).

I would not go back to this hotel and I would not recommend it to anyone. DREADFUL!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Sheryl
13 years 3 months ago
I spent a week here this September(2005) with a few of my family, including my Grandmother.

First impressions great! Though many steps to access the hotel. (not helpful to my grandmother in a wheelchair!)

Hotel very clean, towels changed every day, beds made etc though at rear of hotel main view was trees! Best to ask for a sea view, tried to change on arrival but non-available.

Pool very clean but is quite small. Food terrible! Not much choice - esp for English Best to go s/c (save some money!) staff not bad bar staff more helpful and cheerful!

Entertainment very disapointing even asked to pay extra few quid to watch some dancing!

Location great from sea, which is a good point.

I would not stay here again as mainly German guests, very poor food and entertainment!!!

Rate overall 6/10 **
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

ELAINE
13 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Kaliakra Palace for 2 long weeks.

The first room allocated had only a small wrap around balcony, which we could not sit on - after much complaining we were given a room with a balcony. The room had no drawers other than a small wardrobe. The bathroom fittings were of a poor standard.

The food was atrocious eg for evening meal one choice was Mish Mash - a blend of tomatoes, vegetables, scrambled eggs and cheese topped off with a generous helping of oil!!! The only good point was the chap frying eggs/omelette's to order in the mornings. After one week I was living on fried eggs and MacDonald's for tea.

The entertainment consisted of a man/woman duo which was nothing to write home about.

Kaliakra Palace 4* it would be lucky to get 1* if I was rating.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: BALKAN HOLIDAYS

Sarah
13 years 4 months ago
The hotel itself was a little worn, but the rooms were cleaned daily so I would not say it was dirty. Our room had a lovely sea view (we were on the sixth floor). The food was pretty good, we only had one meal where the food was cold, but it is so cheap out there and so many lovely other places to eat it didn't bother us. Also the staff would start to clear away food before meal times were finished and so it would pay to go early. The staff were friendly. The pool was a a lot smaller than we expected and as it is under trees can get quite mucky and there were very few sunbeds. The pool bar however was very good and offered 2 for 1 cocktails in the afternoon and evening.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended
Jeanette & Kenny
13 years 6 months ago
This hotel does not warrant a 4* listing, not even by Bulgarian standards. The cleanliness left much to be desired.

We were given the wrong room on arrival and had to spend 5 nights in it as we were advised that the hotel was full.
Neither room was ever cleaned the whole time we were there(2wks). We had clean grey towels each day and the bed was made, up after a fashion, but that was it. None of the floors ever saw a mop or the carpets hoovered. The corridors were the same with dead insects left lying undisturbed for days. After six days I had to ask at reception for the bed linen to be changed.

Breakfast was a meagre choice and they were always running out of rolls, eggs or something and you had an average wait of 15mins for replacement.

The pool wasn't the cleanest and there are only approx. 20 sun loungers as the pool area is tiny.

Apart from the location and some of the staff on reception this hotel is a distaster, looks nice from the outside but my advise is keep walking.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan Holidays

Susan
13 years 7 months ago
We travelled with our 2 boys and our fiends.

The hotel rooms are large and have good sized bathrooms however apart from the wardrobe there is nowhere else to put your clothes etc. no drawers or cupboards. We had requested sea view rooms however we were allocated rooms to the rear overlooking "the jungle". We had no problems with cleaning in our 2 rooms, beds were changed regularly (we left a small tip daily) although our friends did not have their bed changed at all.

The pool area certainly left a lot to be desired. It is extremely small, badly finished, dirty and there are very few sunbeds (the ones available were filthy) - well below standard for the size of hotel.

The food was absolutely awful - and cold most days. Also they started clearing away everything from the buffet about 20 minutes before closing time, even thought there were still people eating. One evening they even put out the lights early!

Most of the staff were friendly especially at the pool bar.

The entertainment was the same every night (male/female duo) it was much better in the bar at the bottom of the stairs.

I would rate this hotel as about a 2.5 star and will not be going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Book2Go

Cathie
14 years 3 months ago
stayed half board at the Kaliakra Palace for two weeks. Hotel was very clean. Most of staff were very helpful. Food very disappointing did not cater for British taste ended up eating out most nights.
Would definatly not go back again.Very disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: instant holidays

Recommended
Yvonne Kenny And Dillon
14 years 4 months ago
At the Kaliakra Palace the staff were very nice especially at the reception desk and the cocktail bar. The rooms were really spacious and clean. The swimming pool was far too small for the size of the hotel and wasn't finished to a high standard. The indoor pool didn't have a shallow end for the kids. The food was ok but did tend to cater more for German visitors and not english. Hotel location was excellent and was quiet at night but you weren't far from the busy bit. The entertainment was run of the mill, two singers singing club songs every night, sometimes there were bulgarian dancers.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan holiday

Recommended
D Angus
14 years 7 months ago
Just came back from two weeks at the Kaliakra Palace
Had a great time there even though we didn't book it
We arrived in Bulgaria to be told the hotel we booked The Perla was getting refurbished and we would be getting an upgrade which turned out to be right as Half of the resort is getting rebuilt. At the moment half of it is a building site
On the other hand the hotel is spotless and right on the beach. The staff are so friendly and helpfull. The food caters mostly for the German guests but it is good, as does the entertainment which is crap.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Balkan

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum