Image of Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel

Crown Resorts Horizon Hotel

6 of 7 hotels in Coral Bay

3 out of 5 from 16 reviews
Avenue Pegeia - Coral Bay Av., Paphos, Chipre 8560, Cyprus

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Barbara Ormrod
Only for OLDER generation!
2 years ago
Hotel was booked as family hotel with 4 stars, this is not true, it is 3 stars at the very most. It is full of older people who looked disgusted at us for daring to bring children to "their" hotel. The staff are no better, we were led to the same table at mealtime every day which was as far away from the other holidaymakers as possible. Wouldn't recommend this hotel to anybody under the age of 70 and definitely would not come here with children.

Can only think that the good reviews are from old people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Hotel tip: Go elsewhere, hotel coral beach is beautiful!

Philip Foster
Relaxing hotel
4 years 6 months ago
This was our second visit to this hotel, the first one 5 years ago. In the 5 year span nothing has been upgraded or decorated, it is now very run down and badly in need of a full refurbishment. The crockery in the restaurant is really sad with missing handles, chips on all the bowls etc. The rooms are just OK, the beds are hard and the pillows wafer thin. There is a TV in the room but not any channels to watch, soap dispenser in the loo is more fitting in a factory toilet, not a 5 star hotel.

The staff try hard and are usually quite friendly. I could go on and on but I think you will have the gist of it by now. The entertainment is all self made ie quiz nights, karaoke and one night of Greek dancers, the same as 5 years ago.

We still had a good time but won't be back. We are going to look for a real 5 star hotel not a 3 star masquerading as a 5 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Hotel tip: Upper floors and even numbers are normally sea view.

D N Thomas
9 years 5 months ago
Transport to and from hotel

We pre-booked a small car from Eurpcar for our holiday and even though we paid a second additional insurance for the excess to be wavered in the event of an accident, we were still offered a third additional insurance to cover the car interior and under body. We were told at the airport that this car was an upgrade, but it had obviously seen better days, nevertheless it never gave up on us.

All inclusive and (AI) all inclusive light (AIL)

The web page for this hotel remained unchanged from our last visit, it only advertises an AI option.
We were informed by the holiday provider (Holiday Hypermarket) that we would be AI
On arival, we were given wrist bands appropriate to AIL by the receptionist. We upgraded the day after arrival to full AI at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Hypermarket

Miles
9 years 6 months ago
** Moderator edit **

We do not allow reviews posted from the same country the accommodation is situated in.

If you are posting in resort, please resubmit your review on your return home.

Travel operator: On the Beach

Recommended
9 years 7 months ago
I agree with a lot of the other reviews of this hotel regarding the food, it was tepid on most nights, poor quality fatty meat, i ended up with fish fingers and cold chips on Saturday night, not what i expected from a supposed 4*. The pool was lovely and clean animation team worked very hard with only 1 day off per week, 1 or 2 of the bar staff friendly. We went all inclusive to find on arrival we were on AI light so it cost 153 euros to upgrade as the cost of drinks in hotel would have cost more for the duration.

The room was reasonable size, towels changed regularly All in all the hotel itself was very nice but felt very let down by the food.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Ossie
10 years 7 months ago
Having read the previous reviews I was a bit concerned, but arrived with an open mind as different people have different expectations. However, I found all the other negative comments to be well founded. The hotel itself was well appointed, excellent bedrooms, good sized communal rooms, a decent pool and very clean. A real shame that it didn't live up to it's surface image.
The food was usually cold, unimaginative and repetitive. Having gone all inclusive, the lunches were totally inappropriate - who wants a heavy meal in 30 degree temperatures? The few salad items that were provided looked as if they had been there for days and used ingredients I would have rejected in my supermarket (brown edged lettuce, over-ripe tomatoes etc). The evening meals were always luke warm, poor quality ingredients, and the same things most evenings. And the restrictions on the all inclusive choices were never explained, and they seemed to change according to who you spoke to, so maybe even the staff didn't understand! The head waiter wouldn't have been out of place as a prison warder and a couple of the bar staff never managed to raise a smile in the 2 weeks I was there. Saying that, a couple of the bar/waiting staff were excellent - shame they all couldn't have been like them. The staff at the reception were equally as unhelpful and miserable. The entertainment was typical of resort hotels, fire juggling, magic shows and some truly dreadful cypriot music!
The location was OK if you wanted some shops within a couple of minutes, but as Coral Bay is a purpose built resort, there was no atmosphere. I could have been in any resort. There was a good bus service into Paphos, cost 80 cents, very reasonable.
The only other comment is that the beach is far further than the 200-300 yds stated in the brochures, OK going down, but an uncomfortable 15 minute hike uphill going back to the hotel.
Certainly not one of the best hotels I have stayed in recently, certainly not deserving of the 4 star category and certainly not one I would recommend. In fact everyone I spoke to said they would not be going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Christine
10 years 7 months ago
The hotel is set in pleasant gardens with plenty of sun-loungers. There was an excellent gym in the basement spa area, also a small indoor pool.

We had a 3rd floor room with a mountain view. The room was fine, with a small but private balcony, and was kept very clean, with fresh towels every day and sheets changed every other day. The bathroom could have been better, as the hairdryer was falling to bits and the hand-held shower didn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

10 years 7 months ago
Hi Would not retunr to this hotel . Very often read these reviews and think are the hotels really that bad .....yep.

1)The bathroom was ropey and towels had holes and frayed edges to them . The rooms had hangers for trousers only . lived out of case for the week.

2)If you are used to normal all inclusive - youll be dissapointed . Because this hotel does various board types ,if you want a sandwich out of the designated time ( an hour before main meal) then youll have to pay . Also drinks are limited . My mother that does not drink alcahole also found it hard to find a drink that was not a kids drink so settled for coke.

Also the staff serve the paying guests first even if they thay turn up after you have been waiting 10 minutes to be served.

3) The brakfast is ok . The luch is last nights dinner. dinner is last nights dinner served differently ie last nights liver salad , todays liver pate. It is so obvious. Also the head waiter just shouts his other waiters and you if you dont move fast enough when he wants to serve you . Be warned on there website they say they serve sandwiches between 2 and 3 (which would be a welcome change from the repetative food) but they do not honour this they are served from 5 til 6 and hour before dinner!

4) Entertainment is not that great or bad. You are on main road if prefer to goto local bar for the evening.
I would not return to this hotel. But must say they had 1 really nice bar man on 3 evenings and the guy doing the pool bar was really great as well....he did not expect every person to have to queue for their own drinks as some did at the main bar .....very silly !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: INDEPENDANT

Nowikowski
11 years ago
We went to this hotel open minded as some reports said that the food etc was not very good.

We found the food to be excellent with plenty of choice as it was a buffet style. The hotel could not be faulted on cleanliness our room was cleaned and the sheets were changed twice. Hotel staff were very friendly and polite.

The location was the Coral Bay area of Paphos, local buses to Paphos Harbour every 15 mins and very cheap.

We would definitely go back. There was limited entertainment most nights.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Kim
11 years 5 months ago
Well when I visited this hotel I enjoyed it thorougly. The staff were very pleasant, and came and spoke to me often. The breakfast was delightful, but the evening meals weren't very varied and were just foods that I did not like. There was only certain meals, and no second choices. Some people there may have been vegetarians or vegans, and most of the food consisted of meat.
I don't really like many foreign foods, and the whole menu was basically Indian, Chinese, Greek, French and a whole bunch of other types of foods. The only food that I was used to and liked were chips and nuggets. (Not very healthy)
After about the 4th day I was sick of the sight of chips and nuggets.
The location was ideal, about a 5 minute walk to the beach. The beach was delightful.
There was hardly any entertainment.
Although when we first arrived, the bathrooms water supply was faulty, as the taps wouldn't turn off, the shower would run scolding hot, and then ice cold. The toilet flooded after every flush. And the sink would clog.
After a complaint that we made, we were moved to another room, a better room on the third floor with a splendid view of the beach and water.
Although there was a bit of noise outside which couldn't be stopped, and a few drunken holiday makers outside at night shouting and arguing. It wasn't my best holiday, but I would probably visit this hotel again. But maybe as a self-catering.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Family

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum