Image of Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

Ascos Coral Beach Hotel

3 of 7 hotels in Coral Bay

4 out of 5 from 94 reviews
4 stars
Coral Bay, Peyia, Cyprus
This spacious hotel offers comfortable accommodation and a good range of facilities. Set in a quiet location, the Ascod Coral Beach is ideal for adults who enjoy a relaxing holiday, especially as children under 16 are not allowed in the hotel.

94 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    24
  • Very Good
    31
  • Good
    26
  • Average
    9
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Paul & Joanne
Very dated, rude staf and certainly not a 4 star
6 years 10 months ago
On arrival we were booked in quite quick and gave our card pass for door, the porter offered to take our luggage to the room. We got in there and the wallpaper was falling off the walls, the bathroom extractor fan was on 24 hours a day and very noisy & air conditioning was not working properly, burn holes in sheets, mouldy bathroom, fridge dirty & not working properly.

We booked a quiet room with sea views via Thomas Cook and got room 205. We go to bed quite early approx 10pm and rise about 6am. The so called entertainment went on till after midnight and could not sleep with the noise, when we complained all we was told was we will send someone to fix problem in bathroom. Nothing happened, so we went to see the Thomas Cook rep and after 3 days were moved to room 422. It was quiet but the decor was the same wallpaper falling off walls and it was dirty.

This is no way a 4 star hotel I guess a 2 star, the Thomas Cook rep told us the 4 star was the facilities in the hotel not the rooms.

The pool closed at 6 every night. The food was over cooked but plenty of it. Staff were mostly rude, not replying to yourself just speaking to other staff in there language, we only found about 4 staff helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
RAY & BERYL NOBLE
Love this hotel
7 years ago
We had two holidays in Cyprus before we found the Ascos that was in 1998 since then we have been to the Ascos 18 times including the last one in May 2011. Since 1998 we have never considered going any where else.

The welcome we have always received from booking in to leaving for home has been without fault. The hotel is very clean, bed linen changed every 2/3 days, towels every day. Meals a wide choice to please everyone. Staff pleasant courteous and helpful.

We love it and cannot wait to go back. We have already booked for our next visit, three weeks in October 2011.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
David
I would recommend this hotel
7 years ago
This was my first visit to Cyprus and what a wonderful holiday. All staff in the hotel are amazing.

I admit that the entertainment in the first week can only be described as dire but by the 2nd week more professional acts appeared as the hotel filled up

The food was really fantastic, something to suit everyone with great variety and choice. The dining room in the evening was lovely and loved the fact they operated a dress code.

The rooms as previously stated are basic but adequate with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge and safe and are in need of updating. There is only 2 electric sockets but are English plugs so don't need adaptors.

The pool area is well maintained with plenty of sun beds and drinks.

The shop in the hotel is fairly good sadly if you like a daily paper only sells the Sun (when one is desperate) and there is a 5 minute walk to the main shops and some lovely restaurants and bars and shops.

Paphos is not far and the lovely harbour is only a bus ride away about 20 mins you pay 2euro for a day ticket so you can get off and on when you wish.

We had a lovely holiday; I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking at visiting Coral Bay. I would not recommend this hotel for people with children as there is no real facilities. The hotel has previously been an adult only hotel also another exception would be people with walking difficulties due to the steps down to pool area and beach.

I fail to understand the negative comments people have made about this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 373 get the sun in the afternoon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
David
First time to this hotel
7 years ago
This was my first visit to Cyprus and what a wonderful holiday. All staff in the hotel were amazing, but best of the bunch Mirabella our superstar cocktail waitress.
She gave us really excellent service during our stay, she was so friendly and hardworking and we miss her already.

Kelsey and Dimitri the entertainers you are great, they work so hard with very little equipment and try to please everyone night and day they have only been there about 6 weeks when we visited. I admit that the entertainment in the first week can only be described as dire but by the 2nd week more professional acts appeared as the hotel filled up

The food was really fantastic, something to suit everyone with great variety and choice. The dining room in the evening was lovely and loved the fact they operated a dress code I feel this makes the evening special GUYS DONT FORGET A PAIR OF LONG TROUSERS.

The rooms as previously stated are basic but adequate with tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge and safe and are in need of updating their is only 2 electric sockets but are English plugs so don’t need adaptors I would suggest taking an English 3 way adaptor instead but how much time do you spend in your room our lovely maid kept our room cleaned for our 2week stay. The bath can be dangerous as it’s not a non-slip bath.
There are also besides the hotel rooms some bungalows by the sea the views are gorgeous but if walking up to the hotel can be hard work when it is hot.
The pool area is well maintained with plenty of sun beds and drinks served by my 2nd superstar George the man.
The shop in the hotel is fairly good sadly if you like a daily paper only sells the Sun (when one is desperate) and there is a 5 minute walk to the main shops and some lovely restaurants and bars and shops. Paphos is not far and the lovely harbour is only a bus ride away about 20 mins you pay 2euro for a day ticket so you can get off and on when you wish.
We had a lovely holiday; I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking at visiting Coral Bay.
We met some really fantastic people who also helped to make our holiday and thanks to all the guests who helped support stoke city on FA Cup Final day (we sadly lost but never mind)
I would not recommend this hotel for people with children as there is no real facilities the hotel has previously been an adult only hotel also another exception would be people with walking difficulties due to the steps down to pool area and beach

I fail to understand the negative comments people have made about this hotel and they really need to get a life we will be returning at some stage in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
June
Didn’t want to come home
7 years 7 months ago
We returned to the Ascos Coaral Beach last week after a few years break from it - they were building next door last time we went and were apprehensive but the villas have no impact on the hotel. Lots of improvements - reception area windows, relocation of stage making it indoor/outdoor much better, poolside toilets modernised, and bar staff serving drinks at the tables was a much needed extra.

Staff were excellent on the whole apart from a couple of girls in the dining room who need to remember to smile. They need to take a lesson from Popi who has been there 13 years and is very friendly.

The food was so much better than last time we went in that there was so much more variety and the quality was better.
We were again placed down in the bungalows which we love because it is so peaceful and waking up to that view - fab. The main reason we were attracted to this hotel originally was that it is for mainly for adults and if that changes we will look elsewhere for another adult hotel. I really hope that doesn't happen because once again we have had a fab time and didn't want to come home.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Tony Le Page
7 years 8 months ago
The Ascos coral bay, we stayed in March 2010 and it was ok, when we returned it was horrible. The bar staff and some of the waiting staff and reception staff are brilliant, the rest are miserable, they never smile.
We were in one of the beach front apartments, the same room as march, they know I complained about the hotel rooms in march.
The food is ok. reasonable choice, reasonable quality.
The bars, the pool and pool bar close at 6pm, poor when the sun is still out and you would like a dip.
Milivan and George at the pool bar are fantastic.
The upstairs bar closes at midnight, for all inclusive, but you can buy drinks until 1am, if you are not tucked up in bed already as per most people.
The entertainment is useless, shakey shakey all night with bingo bango bongo, the odd parrot show and the odd so called entertainer thrown in when thrown out of x factor no doubt.
If it wasn't for the few great staff this hotel would never keep a customer.
The area is great, jet ski, boat hire, banana towing etc, just 100m away.
The pool, gym, sauna, and indoor pool, these are ok, closed early but ok.
All in all, it could be worse if Basil and Cybill ran it, the decor is dated, and they refurbished it over the winter? the rooms are dated and the facilities are dated, no air con in general rooms only bed rooms during the day and evenings, and when you leave, you have to sit around in the heat until your transfer picks you up? not good when you have hours to wait dressed to travel.
They clearly want to cut corners, money pinching will eventually kill the hotel, you can see it in everything that is being done.
They have opened the hotel to kids for the first time, but have nothing for them, just a tiny swing and climbing frame etc, no entertainment for them.
Dress code is a pain too, for you evening meal, women can pretty much wear what the want, open shoes/sandals short skirts/shorts and skimpy tops, but men must wear long trousers, not sports wear, enclosed shoes, no smart shorts etc, a t shirt/not shoulder sleeves, and all this in a restaurant that has a high temperature for the food? not impressed with some men being turned away at the door, but all women allowed in wearing virtually anything?
We met lots of people with the same opinion as us, poor.
We will not be returning to the Ascos, but will be going back to the area, its lovely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Terea Rashbrook
7 years 10 months ago
arrived in heatwave,air con failed.decor very dated,going back to the 70's.needs total refurbishment.guests should refrain from feeding cats at breakfast that roam freely around the complex,and pool area.food repeditive, hot food served on cold plates.plate warmers not working properly.entertainment not up to standard of 4*hotel as advertised.hotel should stick to adults only hotel.this hotel only warrants a 2/3*rating.fridge advertised in room is totally inadequate,18 inches by 18inches.room safe is 25 euro's for 14 nights,non returnable.
the hotel beach is more or less inaccessible.public beach 15 minute walk away is very crowded. this hotel is totally unaceptable for people with disabilites.steep slope and steps around complex.lifts not reliable,was stuck in lift for 15 minutes.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Evelyn Ralston
7 years 11 months ago
The Ascos Coral Bay Hotel is great. Its very clean, the staff are lovely and the food is wonderful. The entertainment is also fine. We had a lovely relaxing holiday and I am already booked to go back in November for a week.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 4 months ago
We went to this hotel for New Year and it was brill.
Great staff in bar and restaurant. Food was excellent - couldn't fault it and the all inclusive was too. Entertainment was quite good and will be better when Bianca gets a team around her. At the moment she is on her own and you can't please everyone can't you? The rooms do need a refurb but they are big and comfortable enough.We were told at first that it is being refurbished this year but then got told it wasn't so they may get around to it one day.... still want to go back though whatever....
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
Cath
9 years ago
After reading previous reviews on this hotel I was very apprehensive about going to this hotel, all to no avail, it was absolutely fine! I'll try and be brief and summarise as follows:

Staff - Excellent attitude, very efficient and friendly. Val on reception was english and brilliant, and also the manageress who tried to get us an upgraded room and tried her absolute best but was held back by her own boss. All very hardworking. Cleaners came every day and cleaned, again, friendly and efficient.

Food - Fantastic! I can only think the people who complain of the food being repetitive is because they're there for 2 weeks and I suppose anything would be repetitive if you went out all the time for 2 weeks. There was always a good selection of choices to suit everyone - examples include:
Soup (oxtail, chicken, pea, ministrone)
Meat - carvery with roast beef, roast lamb, roast turkey, roast pork, beef stifado, chicken, curry, fish
Salad - every type of salad you can think of! Potato, rice, beetroot, standard, tomoatoes, cucumber.
Veg - veg to suit the meat of the evening, even got sprouts one night! Cauliflower, peas, brocolli, etc and gravy.
Puddings - jelly, gateaux (choc and strawberry), traditional eg bread and butter pudding, apple pie/crumble, sponge and custard, ice cream, masses of choice
Then always a selection of cheese and crackers

How can anyone complain about those choices???!!

That was for dinner - breakfast was again excellent - all sorts of breads and cakes (even jam and iced doughnuts!) Your usual cooked stuff - baked beans, bacon, fried eggs, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, potatoes etc, as well as all your cereals, toast, and fruit.

We only had lunch on our last day as we were half board and it was pizza with lots of salad choices and pork with potatoes and veg and gravy.

Surprisingly I didn't put any weight on though!

Pool - pool was the best pool I've ever been to. It was massive and a really big area, well suited to the size of the hotel. Only problem was the water was absolutely freezing!

Rooms - the room I must admit was the one thing that let the holiday down. There was nothing wrong with it as such, it was just a bit dated. It was big enough for the two of us, but only had a tiny balcony. We had a side sea view which was quite a nice view. It was clean though so that's all I was bothered about and at the end of the day it's only a base. There was a fridge which you paid 13 euros for and a safe which was about 13 euros too, but if you're all inclusive you get the fridge money back.

Location - within walking distance to Coral Bay beach and close to bus stops which take you to Paphos which is about a 20 minute ride away for 1.5 euros. Close to the small choice of bars and restaurants.

Entertainment - there was hotel entertainment during the day and evening by a young 20 year old - Dan. He was brilliant, he got involved in all the usual - water polo, french bowls, killer darts etc and single handedly did the evening entertainment - bingo every night as well as a quiz and a Mr and Mrs Ascos night. There were a couple of outside entertainers in which were OK - line dancing, but one act was brilliant - a gay singer/comedian! He was only there for 2 weeks and as we left he was introducing the new entertainer who again, was a single bloke, a bit older but without so much charm.

Age range - average age range of the hotel was about 45/50. I'm 41 and my husband is 40 and we felt we were around the younger end of the scale! There were a few younger groups, but mainly the older generation, but they were all very friendly.

Drinks - we went half board and were definitely in the minority. Would recommend All Inclusive as the drinks prices were extortionate - half a coke was 2.40 euros!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidays Direct

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum