Image of Brilliant Apartments

Brilliant Apartments

12 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 55 reviews
P.O. Box: 33336, Protaras, Cyprus
The popular complex provides an excellent standard of accommodation, regular evening entertainment and a good range of facilities. Located a short walk away from the beautiful Fig Tree Bay, it attracts many repeat visitors year after year.

55 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    18
  • Very Good
    26
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
A
6 years 2 months ago
We have been to Protaras many times but this was our first time at these apartments. I had emailed them beforehand to request a top floor room overlooking the pool and this was exactly what we got.
We found the apartment to be clean and modern and quite spacious compared to other apartments we have stayed in. The children slept on the sofa beds which although a bit hard were much better than the camp beds they had last year at the Adams Beach hotel. The deep drawers under them were also really handy as they kept all their clothes in them that didn't need hanging up.

We didn't use the kitchen at all except the sink but there was a kettle, toaster, microwave and a small selection of plate’s etc. The bedroom was spacious with a double wardrobe, tall, thin chest of drawers that held quite a lot of clothes, two bedside cabinets and a dressing table and stool with hairdryer in the drawer.
The bathroom was quite small but adequate and despite only been renovated last year was showing signs of age with stained grout and a wonky toilet seat but it wasn't grotty and was cleaned well most days.

The pool area was nice although one side did go completely in the shade by mid-afternoon but there were plenty of sunbeds on the grass area that got the sun all day. We used to go down to the pool at 10am and had no problem getting sunbeds, in fact we sat in the same spot for the whole two weeks, we preferred to sit on the grass area but there were still beds around the pool free at this time and on the grass you could get beds all day long although towards the end of our holiday we noticed more reserving of beds as it approached the school holidays so it will probably be different then when parents need to watch their children in the pool.
The pool bar drinks were expensive and not that good (their milkshakes were the same price as the Sunrise beach ones but tasted like warm milk) There are signs everywhere saying you are not allowed to take your own food and drink to the pool area but we took water with us.
The snack bar was ok for breakfast and lunch, the staff were lovely and it was well priced and handy if you didn't want to leave.

The apartments are quite well situated with Aldi next door and the bus stop across the road. The centre of Protaras is about a five to ten minute walk away if you go down the hill and through Eden square but it is steep coming back up. We didn't stay for the evening entertainment but one night when we came back early we saw the Blues brothers performing there.

Overall we would recommend these apartments, they were ideal for us now our children are too old to share a bedroom with us but not old enough for their own room in a hotel. They are quite expensive though as you can only book through Thomsons or direct with the hotel and the school holidays are especially bad that's why we went before then.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
A Brilliant Holiday
6 years 2 months ago
We usually stay at the Sunrise Beach Hotel but now our children are teenagers we decided to stay in an apartment for more room and as these apartments are part of the Sunrise chain we chose to stay here.

I emailed the hotel to request a top floor/pool view room and this was exactly what we got. The apartment was very spacious and clean with the sofa beds in the lounge area already made up and my children were very happy with them comfort wise. There was plenty of storage space including pull out drawers under the sofa beds that my children used to store all there clothes that didn't need hanging up. The kitchen area was also spacious and clean and although I didn't use any of the equipment there seemed to be everything you would need including microwave and toaster. We enjoyed using the fridge for free as in hotels you have to pay for the pleasure of squashing your drinks into the mini bar fridge. The air conditioning was also free and very good.

There was no problem getting sunbeds every day, in fact we sat in the same spot on the grass area every day and we never went down before 9.30am. You could get beds on the grass all day and even round the pool it was not always full. This may change in the school holidays though. We had breakfast some mornings at the apartments and it was nice and as cheap as in the resort and the staff were really nice and polite. The Lidl supermarket next to the apartments was very handy for water and drinks and the resort centre was only a five minute walk away if you cut through Eden square. The bus back from Ayia Napa drops you off across from the apartments and only cost 1 Euro each way.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would return again if we can get a good deal, staying outside of school holidays makes a big difference, we paid less for our 2 week holiday than it costs for a week in August.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Montford Family
Great, just lacking evening entertainment
7 years 2 months ago
I emailed hotel day before departure to request pool view. Arrived late at night did not get requested room-very disappointed. Nevertheless the room we had was a side sea view and quiet, overlooking the tennis court so all in all fine. The rooms recently refurbished and very clean. Blocked out all noise at night with excellent sound proofed windows and doors. Fresh towels regularly as was the linen change. Satellite tv with fox films for the kids. Excellent air con.

The pool here is amazing with a whirlpool part. We got up around 8.30 each day and managed to get good sunbeds by the pool with a parasol. The pool bar is lovely, slushies’ for the kids and my morning cappuccino- a must.

We had breakfast a couple of times and it was lovely. 5 euros for a full English with tea/coffee and toast (not greasy!). We ate out in town and there are lots of lovely restaurants. In fact we did not have one meal below par. Some to visit are Don Coleones (Italian), Il Basilico and Erato. The water park is excellent and we visited Trodos- fab.

The only downside to this hotel is the night time entertainment which is only 3 times a week. It was good on the nights it was on though. Each night is needed especially in high season with children in tow. There were some decent tribute acts on in town close by so we went to those most nights instead.
All in all a lovely clean hotel with an amazing pool good sports entertainment in the day (water polo, volleyball, aerobics -for kids and adults) just lacking in the evening.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
GRIMLEY
Perfect for its name!
7 years 4 months ago
Just returned from a 2 week stay. The place was perfect for its name! We stayed self catering but we did have a few meals and they were very good.

The hotel has just had a complete refurb; a few little teething problems but no big deal.

A great place to stay 2 mins from the strip and 3 mins from the beach but you don't need to go to the beach the pool was brilliant. Plenty of beds but you still get the people getting up a the crack of dawn to save beds but no need.

For those with children they have a kiddies club and their own pool.

Entertainment - to be honest we did'nt stay and watch of an evening so won't comment on that.

We will be going back, we had such a great time. A big thank you to the staff they were great.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
G Grey
8 years 1 month ago
This is the 2nd time we have stayed in Cyprus. And this is also the 1st time we have ever stayed at brilliant hotel apartments. The rooms were very clean and the staff were very helpful!! We would definitely recommend this to families.

There was a kids club everyday apart from Sunday. There was a pool bar and restaurant! The food was lovely and everyone seemed to have a lot of fun. The only problem was that the TV and radio would not work. You should definitely try this hotel. It really is nice and it is in a great location!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
8 years 3 months ago
I have not stayed in apartments before and so for me it was a novel experience. It turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

The apartments are located on the main road, a few minutes walk up from the centre of Protaras. This led to a big plus, as apart from occasional bar noise drifting up from the bar below, it was very quiet

The apartments have a main block housing reception and two wings, forming a central courtyard. Rooms in the main block overlook the central courtyard and pool, those in the two wings look inwards and outwards.

My room was spacious. Two large single beds, a third bed, a dining area, a well-equipped kitchen area (gas rings, sink, microwave, utensils, cutlery, pots and pans, toaster, kettle etc).

The en-suite bathroom was grim. The bath very small, my knees were touching my chin. Not a bath to relax in! Had anyone walked in through the bathroom door, the door would have collided with me at the sink. Other residents said they had similar problems with the toilet.

Rooms have a fridge, telephone and an old TV (ie not flat screen).

The balcony overlooked the courtyard and swimming pool, with views overlooking Protaras and the sea.

Last year renovation work took place on the outside. The landscaping and pool bar had not yet been completed by early May.

There is a large lagoon pool. A pool that would put most of the four-star hotels in Protaras to shame (the exceptions being Capo Bay Beach Hotel and Sunrise Beach Hotel). From the pool views over Protaras and out to sea.

In addition to the large lagoon pool with swim-up bar, there is a children's pool and a tennis court (with floodlighting).

The bar area has a couple of pool tables and a darts board.

There is internet, but you are better off walking down the road into the centre of Protaras and using internet either in Bowland (5 euros an hour) or Zodiac Bar (one euro for 20 minutes). Not at night though when too noisy. Both have Skype.

Breakfast is served until late morning. But I would suggest a far better deal is to walk down into Protaras (less than a five minute walk through Eden Square), turn right to No One Restaurant, where a decent breakfast can be had for three euros (a pot of tea extra). Or of course self-cater.

Snacks are available lunchtime.

Dinner is also available. Far better to walk into the centre where you are spoilt for choice. Try No One Restaurant or walk a little further to Nicolas Tavern for the best place to eat in Protaras, especially if you wish to try traditional Greek-Cypriot dishes (kleftico to die for). Or of course self-cater.

The quickest way to Nicolas Tavern is to walk along the main road, then turn back into the main shopping street of Protaras.

There are two nearby small supermarkets on the main road. How they survive, apart from custom from the apartments, a mystery.

I ate out for breakfast and dinner, a lunchtime snack on my balcony. I did not make use of the kitchen facilities or sample any of the meals and snacks so cannot comment on price or quality, but from what I saw it was fairly basic.

Cleanliness was excellent, both within the apartment and all other areas. The staff were friendly and helpful. A nice touch was a letter on the back of the door from the manager asking that any problems be brought to him for a speedy resolution.

I would certainly be happy to stay again. The only negative was some rough people and their out-of-control kids.

Winter 2010/11 the interior is to be renovated.

Brilliant Hotel Apartments is part of Sunrise Hotels, a private family-owned hotel group.

Holiday tip: Trying booking direct. It may be cheaper than using a tour company.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: solo

Recommended
S Brown
8 years 10 months ago
apartment very spacious. plenty of room for a family of 3. could do with a lick of paint and new bath room, but very clean.cleaned every day. fresh towels every other day. bedding changed twice in a week.cooking facilities very good.microwave,kettle,toaster, 2 ring gas hop and all cutlery you could need.

english power points. tv with film channel and news.

pool very clean, although mainly deep only small area of shallow, but seperate kids pool.same problem as always with towls on sunbeds to save them!!!

did not eat or watch entertainment so can not comment.
hotel in fantastic location, just 5 mins walk though edan square to pubs and bars and 8 mins to the beach.
staff were lovely and very friendly. english staff too!
would recomend this hotel for best location,clean and friendly.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Wendy
9 years ago
hotel was clean.hotel food wasnt to bad,except all sandwiches were toasted even tuna discusting,prices were high.beer very expensive 3.50 euros for a bottle of bud.3.00 euros for a milkshake,diabolical.location of hotel was good not far from town walking distance.sun beds at beach with parasol 7.50 euros each,we had to have 4 so very expensive 15 euros a day.pool was busy every at hotel it was hard pushed to get a sunbed,parasols were like gold dust.pool area wasnt cleaned atall in the week we was there,my sisterinlaw had stayed there the week before we came and said the same.staff were pleasent,but some couldnt understand english very well.the entertainment was very poor worst weve ever known.in fact dicusting.the stair areas in hotel were so badly lit in fact no lighting very danerous,we used lift because of this at night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson

9 years 10 months ago
Read good reviews for these and maybe i expected more than i should. The location is set back from the main strip and good if you want piece and quiet. Pool and outdoor areas were fine inside it was like something form the 80's beige and orange lounge / reception areas and bathrooms were awful a shame as apart from those two areas the apartments could have been fab. Price wise i would have expected better also i think 7 euro for two ice lollies in the complex is a bit much !
Would i visit again..........
Deff Not !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

J Brookes
9 years 11 months ago
the brilliant apartments in protaras cyprus are excellant. i would advise anyone to go there. they were clean and staff very friendly. the view from the studios and apartments were great. they are on the top road just far away from the noise and not far from the beach.highly recommend them.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum