Image of Papantonia Hotel

Papantonia Hotel

38 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 46 reviews
Protaras, Cyprus
Refurbished in Summer 2004 these comfortable apartments are located just a short distance from the beach. The range of activities and entertainment available will keep the whole family amused by day and night.

46 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    19
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Yolanda Donoghue
Spotless hotel
7 years ago
Hotel is spotless, cleaners do a brilliant job keeping it clean although bedrooms a bit dated. We were half board and still provided with a kettle and toaster.

Cyprus is a beautiful country and the best family holiday we have had, protaras is lovely and the hotel is in a great location 10 min walk along the beach to the main town full of bars restaurants and a gorgeous beach but if you don’t like walking the bus stop is a short walk away and runs to protaras, ayia napia nissi beach and the water park and is 2 euro for a day ticket.

Must do a visit to the water park/boat trip from protaras snorkelling provided drinks lunch etc.. And also a visit to the brilliant Romeos in protaras it’s a traditional Greek restaurant.

Can’t comment on hotel entertainment as went out of the hotel every eve (local bar station pub and only fools and horses and western bar mojitos good craic for all the family)

Food wise edible food gets a bit repetitive but to be expected next time would either go self-catering or bed and breakfast as loads of places to eat for cheap and would recommend a place on protaras beach front where all salad is freshly grown out the back of the restaurant.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Elaine Bell
10 years 1 month ago
we have stayed at this hotel 3 times we loved it .the staff and entertainers were second two none.only thing i can complain about this hotelis they took of the belfast flight so we cant go any more.how disapointed we were.i would recomend this hotel to any one.the second year we went our friends from liverpool and scotland came with us we all had a ball .drew ,leeanne.tammy were are entainers and they werethe best.love to go back lost out first choice three familiees went now we go to turkey each year as we all can get a flight from our own air port.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Carolyn Holladay
10 years 3 months ago
Myself and my family stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks and i must say this was the best holiday that we have had in a very long time.The hotel was very clean and kept tidy at all times.The staff in this hotel are very friendly and would anything for you if you needed help with anything.the
food was outstanding the children always had plenty to eat that they enjoyed there was not one day when they said they didn't like anything that goes for the adults in the group too.
The entertainment that was provided by the first choice reps was very good if you wanted a lazy holiday and just lay there you got to do that but if sunbathing is not your thing and you wanted to go and have something to do they provided you with entertainment throughout the day from playing games to having a poolside quiz its up to you what you get involved with.this was the same with the children there was something for them to do at all times from the kids clubs to pool fun.
The location of the hotel is a little further away from protaras than i thought it would be but you had shops,pubs,beach and a water park just a stone throw away.so the location for me was fine.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Rachel Evans
10 years 11 months ago
Arrived back yesterday from a weeks holiday with my partner and 5 year old daughter, staying at the Papantonia Apartments between Pernera and Protaras, South East of Cyprus.

Had read reviews with regards to the complex, and we were a bit dubious before we arrived as they ranged from good to bad.

We arrived at the Papantonia following a 1.5 hour transfer from Larnaca Airport (only takes 45 minutes, however there were a few drop offs to various hotels on the way).

The reception/lounging area was pleasant, complete with internet and gameboy facilities (charge payable - not sure how much as we didn't use them), pool table and large flat screen tv. The receptionist was equally as pleasant and in no time at all we were opening our 1 bed apartment door with one of those credit card type keys (which played up on our first day, but had no problems afterwards).

The apartment was clean and we considered it to be spacious, however would agree there is little wardorbe space if you have full capacity. Air con is welcoming in the bedroom, although a little bit too noisey for me during the night. Could have done with air con in the lounge for the sake of my daughter during the night as it was pretty warm.

Maid visited every day apart from one day part way through our week. Beds made on each visit, clean towels and linen every other. The maid even washed a couple of glasses we had left in the sink, which we had intended on washing later in the day!

We had originally booked our holiday as self-catering, however we decided to go all-inclusive while we were there as we had heard Cyprus as being very expensive. It was definitely value for money (cheaper than the brochure price, so worth book while you're there and the added bonus of this is that the minimum is 3 days, so you can have a day off like we did and go and check out the food in the local restaurants (yes it was quite expensive, so decided to go all-inclusive for the rest of the week!). The downside you do miss out on the culture, atmosphere, sights and smells. On the upside it was convenient as we had decided while we were there, to enjoy our week relaxing by the pool in amongst the palm trees as the Papantonia is situated in a quiet location. Food was good, although oddly mixed some days and a little repepitive with regards to the deserts. Children are catered for e.g. beans, mashed potatoes, spag bol, chips, nuggets etc, etc. Local drinks (alcoholic and soft, water) on tap whenever you want. Bar snacks are also inlcuded.

The restaurant and bar staff did there job's well, and a few went out of their way to in terms of politeness and friendliness.

The Papantonia's location is ok. Pernera is a 10 min walk and Protaras is a 25 min walk. Pernera has a handful of restaurants, bars and souvenir shops and stretches over a broken 30 minute walk. Protaras is a much larger version. Taxis', buses and car hire are readily available though.

Childrens entertainment was very good and staff worked hard to ensure they were having a fab time. Adult entertainment was ok, if you're into that type of thing, however the staff worked very hard to deliver.

Would definitely visit again!

The Papantonia made our holiday!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Claire, Levi, Mariah And Tyrah
10 years 11 months ago
This was our second stay at the papantonia, we stayed here in 2005 and loved it so much we returned this year. The hotel has always had very mixed reviews and like others were a bit worried about what to expect. When we arrived at the hotel it felt like we had never been away! Everything was just as we remembered it and it was nice to see some familiar faces working there still. Our hotel room was basic but clean but basic doesnt bother us as we are hardly ever in our room on holiday anyway. No problems with air con and we had a lovely view of the pools and complex. Pools and pool area lovely, clean and spacious and plenty of sunbeds for all. The downstairs toilets actually smelt better than when we came 2 years ago! Hotel really quiet when we arrived although friends that we met when we stayed here last flew out that night so it soon became lively (there was 16 of us in total). Entertainment staff were great with both kids and adults, evening entertainment started with kids disco, then bingo then whatever else was scheduled for that night be it a show or something that required participation! we took part in all the entertainment and had loads of fun! The only downside was that because it remained quiet at the hotel during our stay, most of the daytime activities were cancelled as not enough people to join in. The restaurant staff were friendly and worked hard although the bar staff seemed very rude and miserable most of the time. The food was not as good as when we last visited although the breakfast was good with loads to chose from. Lunch did get a bit repetative so we just ate lunch from the snack bar instead of the AI buffet. Dinner was a bit hit and miss, had some good meals but then had other nights where it was not so good. Didnt use the lifts so cant comment on those. The hotel could do with a lick of paint but this did not affect our holiday in any way. All in all, we had another fab stay at the papantonia and would not hesitate to return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Murphy
11 years ago
Well! we have just returned from a fantastic 2 weeks at the Papantonia Hotel.To be honest after reading some of the reviews on here i didn't really want to go and our first impression was that the outside needed a lick of paint and i did wonder if the reviews would be right and it would not be very nice but our room was clean,air con was a bit dodgy for the first few days but a nice maintenance man showed us how to work it and the room was soon cool.
The food was very nice,towards the end it did get a bit repetitive but we never went hungry,staff very hardworking,polite and the bar man soon knew your room number, you did have to queue at the bar as they don't have many pumps and staff to work the bar but you just keep your eye on it and you can time it right and not have to queue so long but it wasn't a problem to us.
The children could go to the bar order food,drinks and ice cream and they were served with the same politeness as the adults.
We didn't use the pool toilets,we just went to our room if we needed to.
The entertainers were a laugh,Tami,Leanne,Sean and Kelly worked extremely hard in very hot conditions, my 2 also went to Wavelength with Rusty who was always good for a laugh!
Pool was clean and very refreshing on a hot Cyprus day!
Sunbeds were a little old and could do with being replaced but we didn't have to fight to get a sunbed,we sat in the shady grass area most days because it was very hot.
The entertainment at night was ok if you like to participate which my husband did and when we left he was Mr Papantonia!
The entertainers did alot of their own shows where alot of time and effort was put in,watch how high Sean gets his leg when they do the Can Can.
Cartoon Heroes was one of our favourites and the kids can even dance to it in the pool during Splash Dance!Agadoo was great and Kelly was a sport because all the kids wanted to flush her down the loo!!Agado do do ,flush Kelly down the loo!
Cash bingo is also played every night and the children can take part,which my daughter loved,she couldn't wait to wave her bingo tickets in the air..we even won which was an added bonus.
We had a really great holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Wendy Knowles
11 years ago
We were originally travelling to Limassol but were changed last minute to the Papantonia Hotel so we obviously had our reservations as this was not the hotel we originally booked but what a result.

You could not ask for a better hotel ok some of the parts of the hotel were a bit dated but remember this is a 3* complex. The all inclusive package was well worth the money we have travelled 3 times to Cyprus this being our 4th but this is the first time we have gone all inclusive and after this holiday I will never do anything else.

Yes the food does get a bit repetitive but the choice is fantastic and the deserts are lovely.

The pool was lovely I didn't see my children all day and the play area kept them amused for hours.

And now for the best bit the entertainment team, they were amazing I take my hat off to all of them they worked their behinds off Leanne and Sean were fantastic the poolside quizes had us puzzled everyday and the shows they put on everynight where very entertaining. There is something for everyone day and night and as for the Kids Mini Disco the dances will stay with myself and my daughter for a long time.

The only 2 things I can say bad about the holiday were nothing major but with the hotel rooms, we had a one bedroom apartment which meant the children were on sofa beds in the lounge and unfortunately only the bedroom is air conditioned and secondly there is not enough storage in the bedroom for 4 people. But other than that I cannot fault this holiday at all and will definately be booking to go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Cheryl Higgins
11 years ago
I like many other people who had read bad reports, was slightly concerned as to what it was going to be like at the Papantonia! However, we were very pleasantly suprised and had an absolutely fantastic holiday...

The hotel itself is not the most modern hotel ever but it is clean, friendly and welcoming and the facilities are absolutely more than adequate. The rooms are fine, bathrooms not state of the art but clean and functional. We had a 1 bedroomed apartment and it was very spacious indeed, the lack of air con in the living area is a bit of a bummer as the kids or whoever is sleepingin there will get hot but if you shut the balcony doors when you go out during the day and at night and leave the bedroom door open it does cool it down considerably, to make the air con work all the time you need to put your tescos club card in the air con and electricity slot when you are out of the room as it it is one of those things that is activated by the card key for the room :-)

The pool area is really great. We were out there with about 30 other people for a wedding all staying at different hotels in the Protaras area and exceopt for the bride and grooms 5* hotel, our pool area was by far the best.

The nearest beach isnt the best but of you walk a further 5 mins max to the left if you are looking at the sea then this brings you to a lovely little cove. Nissi beach is absolutely stunning, it gets very busy but we got there not long after 9am and left at about 3 which was perfect.

The food at the hotel is fine, loads of choice and considering its the mass cooked buffet style thing, i think they did a good job and none of us had any complaints at all. The puddings were a bit odd but i think this is just a foreign thing in general, they dont really know how to do puddings!! There was always ice cream if you wanted it so that was fine.

The first choice team were great and the kids disco was brilliant, that was the highlight of my sons day! We didnt stay around for entertainment many nights as we had friends in resort but when we did it was ok, no complaints.

If you get a chance, do the under water walking, its one of the first choice organised excursions and it is just brilliant, even my 6 year old did it. The little aqua park in Protaras is great for under 8's, its only about 5 or 6 slides all round one shallow pool but it means us parents can relax on the sun lounger and know they are safe and you can see them at all times, we had a great day there and its only a short walk from the hotel. The big aqua park in Agia Napa is fantastic and well worth a visit but get there early as it gets busy! The Magical dancing waters show in Protaras is also really good for adults and children.
Penera is a lovely little village which is 5 -10 mins walk from the hotel and is really nice, we didnt really discover it until the last couple of days but wished we had found it earlier.

Overall a fab holiday at a fab hotel, grat value and we all enjoyed ourselves loads!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Houston
11 years 1 month ago
We arrived at 9pm and were met by a friendly receptionist who advised us to leave our bags in the baggage area and go straight to the dining area, where we were able to have our first all inclusive meal. Food was great and we also had drinks a plenty which also included cocktails which is not mentioned in the brouchure.

Apartments were clean and we found the cleaner to be very helpful, as we had 2 teenage children in our party who liked to sleep late. we were concerned about ear infections as this was mentioned in a few reports, our teenage son did get an ear infection do not know if from pool but we went to the chemist bought antibiotic ear drops for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
K.b And Family
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed all inclusive worth every penny. Food good. Pool very good. Entertainment was good. Did not use kids clubs. Hotel was very clean. Pool toilets could have been better but were ok. Just outside of protaras but the bus was quite regular and taxis were good shops and resturants there were a few near the hotel. Just a short walk into the center about 15 mins along the beach. Quite busy in the center so location of the papantonia was good. Would go back again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum