Image of Alva Hotel Apartments

Alva Hotel Apartments

15 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 16 reviews
58 Protaras Ave, 5340, Cyprus

16 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    12
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Luke
9 years 7 months ago
We had a brilliant two weeks staying here at the end of September 2008. The hotel's location is excellent. It's in the middle of Protaras, with lots of restaurants, pubs and shops near by. We were lucky enough to have a pool and sea view from our balcony.
The hotel was nice, clean and friendly. The restaurant had a good selection of food but we ate out most nights.
We had no problems getting a sun bed by the pool and there were always over half of them free. We split our time between the hotel's pool and the beach. Fig Tree beach is lovely with lots of watersports. I would recommend Protaras and The Alva for anyone wanting a pool & beach holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
We stayed at the Alva in August,apartments were very clean and spacious,lovely big bedroom,kitchen,cooking facilities table and chairs,lounge area with settee,chair and tv,lovely big balcony with a sea view.Air conditioning at a cost but it is only in the bedroom as it was very hot in august you will need it.The pool area is nice but a bit small as it was august the hotel was full and some days we could'nt get beds at the pool but as we were so near to the beach we went down there most days instead,As we were s/c we only had snacks around the pool these were very nice and reasonably priced.We did eat in the Park restaurant which is located ajacent to the apartments very nice food and good service.
The location of the apartments are superb a short walk facing fig tree bay,but you do have to be on there early to get a sunbed,the main beach is only a short stroll to the left of the apts.
Turn left when you come out of the apts and all the bars,shops and restaurants are located here along the strip.Love boat is next door but one to the apts and has live entertainment on everynight,we saw "kylie,robbie williams,cher,abba and oh yes "elvis "is still alive in protaras,plenty of night life.
The staff in the hotel were excellent all english speaking and very helpful.
We would definatley visit cyprus again,and would return to this hotel as the location and friendliness of the staff made it for us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL Airlines

Recommended
Andy & Karla
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed at the Alva after reading reviews on this site. The location is fantastic - just across the road from the beach, about 2 or 3 minutes walk from Fig Tree Bay itself. The staff were brilliant and so friendly, really making you feel at home and could not do enough if you had even a slight problem or question.

They are all Cypriots, but speak English better than most guests! Room cleanliness was great, and although not luxurious, the accomodation was all that you need.

We were self-catering, but used the hotel restaurant several times - the food and service were lovely, slighlty up-market from most of those around the resort, and a great cocktail bar attached.

They had entertainment on most nights, mostly the travelling acts that go round the resort, but pretty good fun - especially Elvis!

We shall definitely use Alva again, and I would recommend it to anyone (and no, I'm not a relative of the manager or have shares in the hotel!)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Traci White
11 years 8 months ago
We stayed in the Alva apartments for 2 weeks in August. Just got back home and now feeling very depressed indeed!

The apartments were basic but all you needed was in them for your holiday needs. The maids came in 5 times a week and towels were changed as you needed them to be. Bed linen was changed once during our 2 week stay.

The apartments were ideally located for the "strip", lots of bars, shops and restaurants all in easy walking distance and the beach was just over the road too.

The staff in the apartments were very helpful and all spoke excellent English.

The pool area was small and not enough sunbeds so inevitably you had the usual fight for sunbeds at 7 in the morning. The pool bar was very good, lunches there were excellent and the bar staff very nice friendly people.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Charlotte White
11 years 8 months ago
This hotel is very simple but just what we wanted and also what other families wanted that we spoke to.

The apartment was simple too but good enough for us...the beds were a bit uncomfortable though...I couldnt wait to get home to my own bed!

The pool was small but big enough for the amount of people that were staying there.

There was a pool bar that served lovely lunches but the breakfasts were a bit...let's just say a let down compared to the breakfasts that we had in Protaras!!

There is entertainment in the hotel of a nightime but only two days a week...and most of the time it was Elvis!!

We would definitely go back to the Alva hotel again...it was lavvly jabbly!! :D xxx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Joanne & Dave
11 years 8 months ago
We found this hotel to be fab. we stayed here in april 03 and it was pony because it had only just opened for the season but this time it was fab. Reception staff are helpful and friendly and made an effort to get to know you on a personal level. Pete the barman is just FAB!! If he wasnt there then there would have been NO entertainment. The 'entertainments manager' didnt do anything because he didnt think it was worth it. There should have been pool competitions and all sorts but when asked he just said no-one was interested but loads of people were moaning that it wasnt happening!! Maybe you should listen to what the guests want Luke!! Pete was the life and soul (and normally hungover!) but what a guy!!

The bar food was fab as it was the same kitchen that fed the Parko restaurant which was the best we ate in although there are lots of good places.

We will definitely be visiting here again. Watch out Pete!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
A Roughley
11 years 9 months ago
This was our 2nd visit to the Alva. Went in July 2004 as well.

Great location would recommend.

Staff very friendly and helpful. Pete the barman is a great guy. We met some great friends when we went in 2004 and we all went back in 2005 and keep in touch regularly.

Love it that much were going back in Sept we always get a present and welcome back card off staff can't praise it enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Janet And Alex
11 years 9 months ago
The Alva Apartments are in a great location,5 minutes will take you to the beach and 2 minutes on to the strip with all the entertainment.

Staff were all lovely, especially Michael the night porter. Just couldn't fault a single one.

We were in a one bedroom apartment and it was a great size, also must be one of the cleanest apartments we have been in during our 20 years of going to Cyprus.

I can't really rate the entertainment correctly as we didn't stay in the hotel at night time, but what we did hear appeared to be ok.

The one and only reason I would not go back to the Alva is because of the pool. It is quite a small pool and was basically taken over by young louts during the day who did all of the usual dangerous stuff teenagers do unchecked. We nipped up to the Lantiana pool at the side of the Alva and had some lovely relaxing days there though.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel/Thomson for accom.

Recommended
11 years 9 months ago
Basic but very clean apartments.

Pool and apartments could do with updating but nevertheless the Alva makes a superb holiday base with its friendly and helpful staff and excellent location.

Entertainment was laid on a few nights but we only caught the end of it when we had a drink at the fab poolside bar before going to bed, so can't really comment too much!

I would definitely stay at these apartments again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Lesley And Sarah Catt
11 years 10 months ago
The Alva Apartments were fantastic. The staff were so helpful and cheerful, they made everyone feel so welcome. We didn't really get involved with the entertainment, but we did see Elvis, he wasn't the best look alike but he involved the whole audience and everyone seemed to enjoy it, my sister loved it!!
The pool bar staff were great, very friendly. We're trying to encourage the family to go next year, I'm up for it!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum