Image of Sandra Hotel Apartments

Sandra Hotel Apartments

16 of 49 hotels in Protaras

4 out of 5 from 22 reviews
Protaras Avenue, Cyprus

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    10
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
9 years 2 months ago
This was our second visit to the Sandra. It has an excellent location, walk across the road and you are on the beach, turn right or left for the main street.
The apartment had very good, quiet, air con and was extremely clean.
Beds and towels changed regularly.
Not too much equipment in the kitchen but there is a kettle and enough to do snacks which is all I need.

Rather short on storage space for four of us and the beds in the lounge were really only suitable for smaller children than mine.This would be the only reason I would not go back.

The pool was lovely, not huge but big enough for the number of guests.
There is a pool bar and a traditional Cypriot restaurant.

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Evelyn Hearn
10 years ago
Sandra Apts are a great base for a holiday in Protaras - Close to both beaches and on top of the action. They're not posh, but they are comfortable. Staff do their job well and try to help where they can. Beds were so comfortable I slept well for the whole fortnight.(A first for me!)One bed apartment is large with access to the balcony from both rooms. Main issue was the storage for clothes. Even for two of us it was limited. I heard the binmen twice during my stay, but on the 3rd floor it was not a problem.Lifts were always available, if a tad cosy. The pool was clean and warm, if a bit busy in Aug. however, up on the higher terrace, there are more beds, which were also comfortable, and a bit quieter. Plenty of parking, although weekends at this time attracts the non-resident locals, with their smart cars. Furnishings were clean and adequate, although we never quite managed to work the oven! No telly, which wasn't a problem for us, although we did miss the occasional update from Sky News. Bathroom OK with good plumbing and clean. Huge bath and sink in a small bathroom! Have to agree about the toilet though, close to the sink is an understatement - amazing what you can get used to.
Had a great holiday and can recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mrs North
10 years ago
The Sandra appartments are in an excellent location just a couple of minutes to the beach and in the middle of all the bars/restaurants etc. The only downside was we booked independently and when we arrived, having booked a year beforehand, they gave us a room in their other hotel "Crest" which is up a hill, behind the Sandra appartments. The room was absolutely stifling as there was no air conditioning in there. The furniture was shabby and all you could see from the balcony were bushes! Very disappointing when booked for a full year. When I asked why we were put in this "Hell Hole" the Manager said it was because we booked independently,if there was someone else that had booked with a tour operator, then they had the best rooms, even if they booked the day before! We had to wait for three days to eventually get a room in the Sandra. This is absolutely disgusting! I will never return there again!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independently

Recommended
Miket
10 years ago
Booked a couple of weeks in August and for the price i wasn't expecting much. After a very fast check in opened the apartment door and was very pleasantly suprised to find an imaculately clean and very nice room. Ok, the toilets maybe a little close to the sink but if this is a problem you need to lose some weight!

Its located right in the middle of the strip but i was never woken up by noise once during our stay. The pool wasn't to packed even for August and was always able to get a sunbed when i wanted.

I'd like to say i'll go back to cyprus but now they have the euro the prices are sky high. I overspent by several hundred pounds and probably wont return again because of this. If your going i'd look all inclusive or be prepared to spend.......a lot!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Johnson
10 years ago
Stayed at the sandra apartments 17th-31st august 08 with our 2 kids 8 & 11 years,free air con very greatful as tempartures reached 95s which not complainig, we was in room 112 had a problem with ants but it was sorted as quickly as we reported it,cleaner was fantastic she couldnt understand english but she always had a smile and kept our rooms amazing,very basic rooms but clean,Bar food was great for snacks served by tom who was english and a nice person who also arranged karoke on a saturday night off his own back as there wasnt any entertainment as advertised in the welcoming clean foyer, we didnt eat in the resturant it never seemed busy so thats not a good sign we met friends who ate there and said portions wasnt too good.very expensive since changed to euros.good supermarket across road called happy days,we ate alot at the cheers bar which staff were fantastic and friendly and done an amazing breakfast and great portions with a great choice from the menu definatly recommend this place,Didnt like fig tree bay to packed and not alot on it and a very rude cypriot man yelling at people when they asked for sunbeds it amused us anyway, beach down the side of happy days shop was great loads to do and not that packed were also on a bill board advertised mr john a local taxi man who took us everwhere and was very cheap, the only reason i wouldnt come back to the sandra is there were no entertainment at all for kids we had to go on the strip to entertain ourselfs and sometimes its nice to chill at your own hotel before going to bed, Went to water park in ayia napa with mr john taking us brilliant day.we had a great holiday overall.......
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
June
10 years 1 month ago
Just got back from the Sandra Aparthotel in Protaras. Its in a good location on the quieter end of the strip and the most noise you hear is from the Sandra itself.

The apartment is teeny weeny tiny and not very impressive. I have two teenage daughters who claimed the bedroom so we ended up sleeping in the very small bed setee for two weeks. Its only big enough for 3 or if you have younger children.

The air con is good you need a depisit of 10 euro to work the bedroom unit. Safety deposiy lock is 60 Euro and you get 10 back. The bathroom is a bit shappy with old bath and lots of cracks and its the smallest bathroom ever you can sit on the toilet and wash your hands in the sink at the same time. However there is plenty of hot water.
They do have internet for teens desperate for msn but it was always going out of order.

The pool area is okay its in three tiers the main pool by the bar which I never used owing to the constant unch unch unch of the very loud music system in the afteroon and all the ball games in the pool not relaxing so I chose to use the middle section with the kids pool which was fairly quiet. No matter when you went down enough sunbeds to get a few together.

There was a karaoke night where the children were encouraged to get up and sing so just avoid those night unless that your thing luckily it finished by 12.15.
Had a snack by the pool once fairly average and expensive. Also had a meal at the Blue Moon restaurant at the front of the Hotel which was also average.

Protaras is very expensive to eat out. The mini marts are very dear best to go to Paralimini about 3 miles away and go to the big carrefour supermarket or Orphanides where the locals shop you will save a fortune. Friends bar on the main strip is nice for a drink the food is not well presented and dear much better is Cheers accross the road great for breakfast and lunch and good service.

Ate out quite a lot all quite samey and very expensive compared to other places on the Med.

Summary

Very hot. Get car hire but be careful the Cypriots have rules of their own whilst driving. Take plenty of money with you its not cheap Look out for the lizzards they are everywhere. Wear light clothes going home the airport is mafting.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

10 years 11 months ago
The hotel is perfectly situated on the strip right in the middle of everything

we were in room 22 (the block at the back of the main block) and were pleased we were put here as there is building work going on directly in front of the hotel and it was very noisy - we didnt hear a thing where we were - you could still see the sea from our balcony.

Apartments were very clean - cleaned i think 5 days out of the 7, only thing i didnt like was the cleaner kept moving my clothes onto the floor - strange one - we did have a few ants but nothing to get too bothered about.

We only ate at the apartments on our last day (waiting for the taxi to go to the airport) for quickness - there are plenty of far better restaurants and bars to eat at on the stip which are better - the food was reasonably priced for what we got.

We ate mostly thruogh the day by getting our food from the deli (two doors down on the right) from the hotel - the food was soo fresh - they had sandwiches, pasties, pastries and salad bar - very reasonably priced and really fresh.

Restaurants we ate at and would recommend: Oscars (near McDonalds) and Los Bandidos(in Aiya Napa) and for a cheap pub lunch Cheers opposite food was ok - we ate hear watching the footy one day and thought it was good value for money.

Our only niggle of the whole holiday was the cost of the air conditioning and the safe - felt it was a bit of a rip off at 40 cyprus pounds for the week - thought this was a bit steep.

We have been to cyprus many times now and have to say we still prefer aiya napa but if were were to go back to protaras would recommend these apartments as a cheap, clean place to stay.

Jo

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Argo Holidays

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
the sandra apartments are ideally located on the strip a short walk away from the beaches.there was building work going on across the road but apart from the odd jack hammer it wasn't really a big problem to us. we had room 306 and had a good view down the strip and of the sea.we ate there a few times and found the food very good especially the salads.the pool area is fairly good with three levels of terrace.at this time of year there was never any push to get a sunbed and we found the pool area a very pleasant way to spend a day.the rooms are fairly basic but perfectly adequate and the air con certainly was welcome during our stay.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
Just back from 2 weeks at the Sandra. Owned by the same company as the Brilliant and the Sunrise Beach. 10/10 for location. Walk across the road and you are on the beach, turn right or left for the main street.

I had e mailed ahead to request a quiet room and one with full air con and they promised to try. Well they gave us a superb room (106) which had a huge balcony and full air con and we never heard noise from bars or anything else.
Apparently the rooms in the main block have air con in both bedroom and living room but those in the second block at the back have it in bedroom only.

This was my first time in a one bedroom apt . Always booked a 2 bed before for the four of us. While there was plenty of room there wasn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
J
11 years 11 months ago
Stayed for 1 week in Sept 06.

Great location, right on the strip, not noisy at all, clean spacious apartments - paid
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum