Image of Coral Beach Rotana Resort Tiran

Coral Beach Rotana Resort Tiran

64 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Ras Nasrani, Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt, P.O. Box 159

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ricky
You get what you pay for!
10 years 8 months ago
Steer clear if you have small children or have visited other hotels in Sharm.

Family room the same size as the bathroom at other hotels we have stayed in. No bath so difficulty when you have small children. Patio tiny, enough room for one chair and table but views spectacular.

Lot of aircraft noise as 10mins from airport.

Geared mainly for the high number of Russian there.

Only 2 restaurants; one buffet, one seafood. Buffet breakfast excellent (omelettes and pancakes made in front of you) but had one good (not great) meal out of 7 while we were there. Geared mainly for their Russian guests. My kids are adventurous eaters and they stuck to the pasta the whole trip. Eat at Naama Bay or the sister Rotana hotel next door. Good 'all you can eat' BBQ at the sea food one at lunch time but only 4 main course choices on the main menu.

Pools freezing - sea warmer - snorkling superb.

Entertainment geared for the Russians with a small effort to translate into English for others. Nothing for the kids eventhough we were told the kids club was all year round and there were about 15 kids under 15 from various countries. Great playground though.

Rececption staff rude and unhelpful. Other staff very friendly and helpful. Very keen for good reviews on the comment cards as they are sacked on the spot if they get 1 bad review!

Spa excellent and very cheap - had reflexology, massage and body scrub - £42!

If you are only interested in a cheap holiday and not at all bothered about the food then this the place for you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Experts

Linda & Rachel
11 years 6 months ago
The Coral Beach Tiran is a lovely hotel. We had a room overlooking the sea with a view of Tiran Island.
3 lovely pools, never busy even though the hotel was nearly full.
Fab snorkelling.
The staff are truly wonderful and couldn't do enough for us.
Would definitely go again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
The hotel didn't match its 4+ star rating.

The staff were exceptionally good, the bedrooms & hotel grounds were fine.

The hotel reception did not have any Egyptian money to exchange, anytime we asked. We left with our group being owed 3 Egyptian pounds. (60p! not a problem but an astounding way to run an international hotel)

It is the only hotel I have ever stayed in that had the same food menu in all its cafes. Because of the poor food, mainly never hot enough and unvaried, we eat a lot in Na-ama Bay & Old Sharm (excellent variety & huge choice). You either took the free bus or paid for a taxi.

The free bus was only twice a day & the evening run (4 until 8) could only be booked after five the previous day. Do not be caught in the mad scramble to get seats. Our Russian friends seem to think its the last tram out of Moscow. There are two buses and its well organised. Sami will sort out a taxi for you, reliable and in good order but a little more expensive than organising it yourself.
Beware of the distance to the (very small & rough) beach if you are unsure underfoot. Its a long way & very steep, many steps or long pathways. (You could get fit here!) Snorkeling is restricted to off the pontoon, an 18 foot drop. Non swimmer may find this daunting. Off beach snorkeling is frowned upon because of the very sharp coral (and very few fish!)

It is true that at least one pool should be heated. They are all amazingly cold! But the sea is fine, only the wind will give you a problem occasionally.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Tom. Cook

11 years 11 months ago
We stayed for 3 weeks and found the staff wonderful,from maids to management, Bob was great in Brauhaus bar, our 2yr old loved him. If anything they were to attentive at times.

Clean towels and linen every day. Rooms have NO BATH only showers. No tea facilities but could hire one which included tea coffee milk sugar and water for 12$ a week,or take your own.

Hair dryer in room. Hotel food was good but not catered much for plain eating people(we are not)but after 3 weeks we were craving plain boiled potatoes.

Only complaint about the food was it never seemed very hot. If you like kellogs cereal take your own (wish we had ).

The hotel is in 4 layers from reception to the beach. 3 layers having thier own pool. Only problem being they were not heated so us or our 2 yr old could not use them this seemed to be a common complaint with the guests.

We had to use the pool in the grande next door cos that was heated. Evening entertainment was almost non existent animation team enjoyed dancing with the guests in the bar thats about it, but they did a programme in the day if you wanted it.

Don't worry about taking to much Egyptian money any thing you have at the hotel is signed to your room and can be paid with credit card, sterling,dollars, euros, at any time during your holiday a print out of everything you have had is provided and very accurate.

The onsite diving school is fab hubby did padi course and was impressed as were other guests that did it. We would come here again if one of the pools became heated.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: cosmos

Recommended
Maureen
12 years 1 month ago
The hotel is set in a quiet area, very safe for a single traveller.

The hotel is set in 4 terraces leading down to the beach. There are many steps which may be a problem but there are also walkways but as it is on a hill it could be a problem for any one with a mobility issue.

The rooms are spacious and very clean. The staff are wonderful in all areas. Bed linen and towels changed every day. Good quality towels also provided for the beach each day. The food was ok plenty of salads and usually a choice of 3 hot dishes and loads of choice for desserts.Very clean restaurant. The animation team could be improved.

The setting of the hotel was great with it's own jetty with snorkelling and the most wonderful sunrise view every morning.

I would not hesitate to go back in fact I didn't want to leave after 17 days.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Laura
12 years 4 months ago
Well, I got back from this hotel 4 days ago and I can honestly say the holiday was great. I'm 17 and travelled with my mom, dad and little sister who is 2 years old and we had a lovely time.

The people who work there are so friendly and helpful although some can be a little too overpowering.

It
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Nika
12 years 4 months ago
I found this hotel and the people very good.
I'm quite sad now, when I'm at home already for 2 days, want go back!

I only had problems with food, I mean the food was good, but everyone I know, didn't feel fine after eating..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Neckerman

Recommended
Paul And Carol
12 years 7 months ago
The hotel is great this is our second visit to this hotel also went in 2004 and would go back no worries staff are fantastic food could be better they just need to cater for the british a bit better.

The snorkling from the pontoon at the beach is very good all three pools are great entertanment at night could be better but robert who sings plays keyboards at night is ok.

Bar staff are brillant esp bob anybody who holidays at this hotel will love it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Martin
12 years 8 months ago
The staff are outstanding and really make an effort to make you welcome.

There appears to be an attempt by management to upgrade many of the facilities and the general condition and appearance of the hotel, possibly because a 5 star hotel is about to open next door! Even though it is part of the same group. So full marks for making the effort.

The food in the Mermaid Restaurant is generally what you would expect in this type of hotel but we preferred to eat in The Sharks restaurant.

Avoid the splash pool and bar unless you want wall to wall music and fairly repetitive activities from the animation team.

The pool at the top end of the hotel is very quiet and more relaxing.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Katy Wilson
12 years 8 months ago
We paid an extra
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.