Image of Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El Sheikh Hotel

Royal Albatros Moderna Sharm El Sheikh Hotel

37 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 45 reviews
5 stars
P.O.Box 215, Nabq Bay, Sharm El Sheikh, South Sinai

45 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    12
  • Very Good
    25
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Great Hotel and great value
3 years 3 months ago
Royal Albatross Moderna .What a great Hotel. Arrived back yesterday and have joined holiday truths just to say how much I enjoyed this holiday. Booked through icelolly with a company down south. Very quick and efficient booking process and got all my documents via email. I am always a bit wary of what sales people say about hotels as it is in their interest to sell the hotel, but I can assure you this was not the case; the hotel is absolutely fantastic. The food was good and the entertainment team kept my 2 teenagers busy most of the days (thanks Darius and Hafsah). One of the best bits is when I met another family from Stoke who had paid more for the same holiday as me, the icing on the cake.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Imperia Travel

Recommended
Veronica White
Would I return definitely
4 years 6 months ago
Great for families with young children. Pool for kids was great our two could not get enough. Staff were lovely, food was good and very plentiful. Only downside was room was a little tired but we were reassured that a refurbishment is planned for the area we stayed in. There were no real places to visit close by but the lovely chap who sat at the desk outside the front door will organise a shuttle bus if there are enough people. Would I return definitely.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Christine Bray
Great for kids
5 years 8 months ago
Hotel is very good with regard to service, quality, price, rooms, and pools. Cleanliness great, Staff – second to none. From the reception staff to the gardeners they could not be more friendly and helpful.

Food – all buffet style. Many options - all well-presented (Asian, Mediterranean, North African, Italian, German and beach BBQ food).
Entertainment basic, but the kids enjoyed it.
Drinks I was disappointed with but they where acceptable.
Loved the delicious coffee served at both the upstairs and low coffee bars. Plus they provided us with hot milk for babies’ bottle and a carton to take back to the room each evening.

The water park is small but fun with plenty to do for all ages.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
They sort the problem before they have problem, amazing!
6 years 8 months ago
This March, my husband and I went back to the Albatross for a 3rd time and fully expected this hotel to have deteriorated in service and style. The car dropped us off at the reception entrance and as we entered the hotel, reception and other staff recognised us and it was like coming home. There was no hold up at the check in desk and in no time at all Valeria, the personal executive secretary of the MD met us and we were whisked off to our room. This hotel knows how to deal with returning guests.

Our room was perfect and we had the best of both worlds, a view of the ocean on the left and the pool on the right. After unpacking we went to the lounge bar for a drink before dinner. Here once again we were met by Mohammed, Ahmed and Elsaid. These lads work incredibly long hours and see hundreds of guests coming and going through their bar and they remembered us!
Mohammed was quick to bring us drinks, without having to ask as he remembered what we drink.

As we had a long day travelling, we needed some food and went to the Mediterranean Restaurant “one of at least 5€“ only to be stopped by staff on the way all saying their hello’s and wishing us a lovely visit. Again, these guys see a great many people and they all remembered us. After dinner, we walked toward the coffee bar and Ahmed at the coffee bar could not be happier to see us and the service from him and Essam is always better than any Costa coffee bar you will find.....and so are their drinks!!

There had been a lot of changes made at the Albatros. A beautiful scenic lift had been installed which is fabulous as this hotel is very child friendly and many people come here with their little ones for a holiday. This hotel is also dedicated to making moving around the hotel easier for those guests with disabilities.

Facilities at this hotel include 5 restaurants, AquaPark, with king sized white leather beds and white leather pillows, Kiddies pool with their very own Aquapark, Activities Pool, Relaxation Pool and heated pool.

Food is also served at the beach bar every lunch time, BBQ, fries, Pizza, salads, breads etc.
Breakfast is available from early to 12 noon and if you missed that, you could get snacks at the AquaPark, where Mohammed is happy to give Pizza, Cakes and other snacks.

For those people who come to the Albatros with small children, this is heaven!! There is a kiddies club that entertain the kids and for those whose kids are a bit bigger, they have their very own AquaPark for them at the kiddies pool. They have slides, tunnels and a huge bucket that pours water over them! It is not possible to take a nap near the kiddie’s pool as they scream, shout, giggle and just laugh all day long. There is a bar there for parents to sit and chill while the tots play.

Apart from the AquaPark, there are 2 large pools for adults, and 2 for kids. The lifeguards at the AquaPark are fabulous! They are very much on the ball and good at what they do. While we were there a little lad got into difficulty and Mohamed, the lifeguard, got him out of the pool, telling the parents the problem. They sort the problem before they have PROBLEM.

There is also the beach and a pier that has a jetty that seems to go on forever where you could go onto and relax on a bed over the Red Sea.

Entertainment at night for the kids is in the form of a kiddies disco at the beach bar. Marie takes the kiddies through the disco which lasts for approx 45 minutes. Once that is done the evenings show comes on which is always good. The one and only thing I have that I feel is not good, is the entertainment for the over 50s after 10pm. There is the Irish Pub, where they have a disco every night, only this is not for over 50s.....unless you are into head banging music!!!
We have spoken to the DJ but unfortunately he does not seem to understand what over 50s want. In the lounge bar they had a couple singing and playing the violin and they were superb but the contract with them ended whilst we were there. This has now started again and I have to say they really are very good.

I know this reads like a fairy tale, but this is truly a wonderful hotel. This hotel caters for all tastes, however if you want egg & chips or roast beef and Yorkshires, then stay at home. This is a desert country and you will not find Angus beef here, nor will you find good steaks or lip smacking lamb cutletts. But what I can say, this hotel has very good food. They do cater for everyone and the service cannot be beaten. I am a South African, my husband is Irish and we have never been to dinner and found there was nothing to eat.

These guys are superb at what they do and will be happy to make your visit unforgettable, however at the AquaPark is Mohamed Kamal. He not only cleans up after everyone but he serves snacks and carries drinks for you all day long and he always has a smile on. Mohamed can be run off his feet but he’ll always have a smile for you and he makes the very best cocktails that I have ever had in Egypt! If there is one staff member at this hotel worthy of mention, it is Mohamed Kamal. He is worth his weight in gold.

So apologies if this is very long winded, however you will be very sorry if you do not go to this hotel. This is a hotel where the guest comes first. This is a hotel where your comfort and your needs are the most important things. There are guests that have been coming here for more than 10 years and if there is a nation on earth who likes good service and likes their comfort...it is the British.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Barbara
6 years 10 months ago
Having booked this holiday and the price we paid I was a little worried about what we would find but I need not have worried because the royal albatross is just perfect. I’ve been to Egypt plenty of times before but this for me is the best

I cannot praise the staff enough from the cleaners to the management they go out of the way to make your holiday great.

This hotel I’ve recommended to family and friends and I will be returning again next year just goes to show how much I love it because I never stay in the same hotel twice.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Brown
Can't wait to go back
6 years 10 months ago
We stayed in the Royal Albatros Moderna. We had the best holiday ever. I'm a very fussy person and I worry about the cleanliness of my hotel - I had no need to have worried our room, it was spotless.

All the staff looked after us and were very polite. The bar waiters were very good, looked after us well.

The food was very nice. There is always something you can find to eat. Breakfast was my best meal of the day.

We are going back again in Jan, this will be our 3rd visit and hope many more.

Has a nice little beach area where you are well looked after by staff. Can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Margaret Treloar
Will be back next year
6 years 10 months ago
This is 2nd year my friend and I have stayed at hotel. It has improved even more - everything about it is brill.

Staff cannot do enough for you, are so friendly especially all the long hours they work. They even remembered us from last year.

Loved the new coffee area at the new restaurant and the aqua park is great.

Went snorkelling for the first time - I am just 64 years old. It was amazing.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Sara Malone
Just loved it!
7 years ago
Just got back - LOVED it - staff friendly and helpful, pools, loungers, food and drink plentiful.

And the SPA was heaven - great massage deals and evening use of hot tub, steam, sauna etc. a must.

Definitely going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Mick Hawkins
A fantastic holiday and the complex was excellent
7 years 4 months ago
We stayed at the Albatros Moderna in Sharm El Sheikh and were apprehensive after reading some of the earlier comments. The complex was large and well maintained with lots of space. We decided to go to the beach and were directed to a sun bed by a friendly member of staff called Hassan and after the first day he looked after us for the remainder of the holiday what a host! Including the beach bar staff.

The bar staff throughout our stay were excellent and must mention in particular the following: Mohammed Kamal, Salah, Nasar and Lotfy as they made our holiday the more enjoyable, they were always polite, friendly and always had a smile for you.

I would also like to mention the reception staff as they were very friendly and helpful.
All in all this was a fantastic holiday and the complex was excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
First lets get the downsides out of the way:
The rooms vary from very nice to basic, depending on where you are allocated a room. Our bathroom with a half bath let down by the dirty shower curtain.
Food was fine, but nothing exceptional - then again, you aren't paying for gourmet chefs to prepare your meals.
Bars - lager was ok, the spirits are a bit rough. The Russians do tend to ignore the queues, but the staff tend to serve the people in order of queuing , we found.
The Russians seem to want to order 10 drinks each too.
How the previous review can complain that the bar closes at midnight is staggering, 10am till midnight is 14hours of the free bars being open - if that isn't enough, there is a pay bar for after midnight !

The good points:
Breakfast - coffee and either fresh baked croissants or a made to order omlette.
Lunch or dinner - there is the option of fresh made pizza. The food wasn't brilliant, but the choice of 4 different restaurants meant you could find something you wanted.
L'Asiantique restaurant did some nice Asian dishes.
The hotel and all areas were spotlessly clean, staff were smart and friendly.
Facilities were very good, the pools were excellent. Never a problem finding sunbeds.
If you have young kids, they'll love the kids pool, I'd imagine
Beach bar was nice, with ice cream available there, very refreshing.
There is the jetty to walk down to snorkel from, providing the sea isn't too rough.
Terrace bar was relaxing on an evening, Shawkie providing good service there.
A massive mention & thankyou to Bakary at the Relaxation Pool bar - service was excellent, always smiling and really looked after the both of us.

Please do not be put off by the negative reviews of this hotel. I read plenty before we went and after spending 2 weeks there, I have wondered if some of the reviewers have actually been to this hotel. The rooms may not be actually 5 star, nearer 3 star in some cases, but overall this is a wonderful hotel, great facilities and excellent staff.
I will probably be returning within the next 12 months.

3 Tips:
1) Visit the 3 Crowns English pub, 5 mins down the road by taxi. We both had a wonderful fillet steak au poivre ( cooked to perfection ) and a beer for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.