Image of Viva Sharm Hotel

Viva Sharm Hotel

81 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
4 stars
Take a day off from sightseeing and unwind by the swimming pool, soaking up the summer sun. The tastefully decorated Hotel Viva Sharm is set amidst landscaped gardens and in a tranquil area - providing a great base for guests seeking a peaceful retreat.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mr K Godfrey
Definitely no good for families
3 years 7 months ago
Definitely no good for families the children have very little to do & no play group or areas. The resort is at the furthest point away from any shopping or entertainment, taxis are needed to travel anywhere.

The resort is not all inclusive more like full board. Wine only available with evening meal or @ £8 pppn, baileys or alternative not available. Late checkout â£15 per room to 1700 only. Many problems, stained sheets, badly stained mattresses, air conditioning not working, TV had no proper UK programmes, bathroom water dirty even after running, short of towels or bath mats every day. Most arrivals after 2130 had only bread rolls, cheese, cucumber, salami left in room without water or a drink.

In other words the worst hotel we & many others had been to. Management did rectify some of the problems but it seemed to be that all apartments etc. had the same problems.in the restaurants & bars there was always a shortage of crockery, cups, glasses & even these were all badly chipped etc. Staff excellent but could only work with what the management budget would allow them to. Russian & Egyptian guests very loud, bad mannered & wasteful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: SUNSHINE HOLIDAYS LTD

Hotel tip: FOOD VERY BLAND & REPETITIVE & NOT ENJOYED BY MOST OF THE ENGLISH.MOST ENGLISH ATE OUT,THE OTHERS COMPLAINED TO THE MANAGERS TO NO AVAIL.

Joan Crann
9 years 6 months ago
We do not accept reviews from the country where the hotel is situated, although you say you are in England - Admin
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: firstchoice

Recommended
Olive And Alan Shaw
9 years 9 months ago
We have arrived back home after a wonderful holiday staying at Viva Sharm Hotel, Um El Sid, Sharm El Sheikh, with our friends Ken and Marilyn Powell.

The hotel was very clean, the food very good [we all put weight on]

The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

The free bus shuttle service given by the hotel took us to the places we wanted to visit and picked us up again.

We would go back again to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: XL

Recommended
Carol
10 years 10 months ago
If youre after an escape from it all holiday, this is the place for you.

The hotel is located approximately a 10 minute walk from the beach, and if you dont feel like walking, a free shuttle bus provided by the hotel will take you there.

Entertainment is only provided 2 nights a week, but its sister hotel, which is located just across the road provides entertainment most nights.

If you fancy going into Naama bay, which is where it all happens in Sharm, then the hotel also provides a free bus each evening. The hotel is very clean and provides everything you need.

The food is of a good standard (first time weve been abroad and not had bad stomachs), although a little repetitive.

Staff all very helpful and friendly. We cant wait to re-visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Darren Lawrenson
11 years ago
Overall a very clean place to stay, but that's about it, wanted to come home after 3 days but stuck with it.

The brochure stated there were 2 restaurants but there was only one, the evening meal was chicken or beef every night with rice or pasta, the bar meals were ok and the room service was excellent.

The drinks were very expensive and worked out half the price from the supermarket, the hotel staff didn't like you bringing drinks in so had to smuggle in each night.

The fridge had to be unplugged each night as it kept us awake, and each morning at 6am they fumigated the pool side trees with a petrol blower which woke us up and despite complaining nothing was done
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Judy
11 years 1 month ago
We have been All Inclusive to Egypt before so knew not to expect too much from the food.

However the Falcon Viva food was mostly the worst I have ever seen anywhere in the world, all I can say is that I wish we had gone B&B then we could have gone into Naama Bay to eat.

The rooms were fine, nothing special, just ok, pool was quite nice but freezing cold, also you had to walk to the nearest beach or pay for the hotel shuttle, there is no beach directly at the hotel. There was no free shulttle to Naama Bay. Any other hotels we have stayed at have all had a free shuttle to Naama Bay.

Because a lot of guests are B&B they seemed to get priority service at the bars, perhaps because they were paying for drinks etc.

We had great weather for the time we were there, and made the best we could of the hotel.

We will return to Sharm, but next time will pay a bit more and go to a 4 star hotel, at the most I would rate Viva as a 2 star.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Sandra
11 years 1 month ago
We booked the Falcon Viva on a late deal so were not really sure what to expect, we were All Inclusive and now wish we had booked somewhere nearer to Naama Bay and gone bed and breakfast.

The food here apart from breakfast was dire, we went into Naama bay 4 times for our evening meal!

The rooms were ok, but not as clean as they could have been, some of the surfaces were a bit sticky where something had been spilled by a previous guest, and they stayed like that all our week there.

The worst thing was the smell outside our room, we were on the ground floor and did not sit outside the room at all as the smell was so bad, it smelled like blocked drains. We did report it to reception but they shrugged their shoulders at us.

The hotel is not on a beach but there was one nearby which you were taken to by shuttle.

I would say this hotel is more like a small Motel, I would not recommend the Falcon Viva.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: olympic

Geraldine
11 years 3 months ago
Generally quite clean but our room was not as clean as one would expect. Blanket was dirty not that you needed it though the towels and sheets were clean. There were stains on our toilet seat which stayed there the whole holiday. The mirror in the bathroom was cleaned but not the dressing table mirror. The tops of the cupboards in the room were not cleaned sticky to the touch. We had a problem with ants in the bathroom which was dealt with quickly.

Food was very disappointing not enough varity didn't know what half if it was especially the soup. Food and drinks from the hotel were over priced go to the supermarket much cheaper but you do need to smuggle it in. 1.5 litre bottle of water 8.00 egyptian pounds, 2.00 pounds down the road. They operate a sign and pay later system which we didn't like as when you asked for the bill it did not itemise exactly what you had only listed as beverage or food - half the time drinks were put down as food which caused confusion if you had not ordered any food from the bar.

The location was basic a few small shops lots of new hotels going up. Reef beach is great for snorkeling.

The hotel staff were very friendly but did feel this might be just for tips.

Entertainment was basic/poor and I think they need to address this issue. They didn't even have background music around the pool during the day or in the evening and if they did it was only for a short time before the CD kept jumping and was switched off.





Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Bec
11 years 4 months ago
This hotel is very clean cannot fault the guys who clean the rooms and the bar staff.

The resturant food was ok if a liitle basic, bar menu was fine but not much choice

A fair way out from the main nigthlife and there are no resturants or bars within walking distance, but taxis are cheap and there is a free bus nightly.

There was no entertainmnent as such a few dance type shows which were repeated and only took place in the dining room

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

David Thomson
11 years 4 months ago
Hotel spotless and very nice looking great pool and first class rooms.

Only downside was that the hotel stopped you bringing food or drinks into your rooms and as it was only 50 to 80 pence outside the hotel for a 1.5ltr Pepsi and
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours/thomsonfly

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.