Image of Halomy Hotel

Halomy Hotel

44 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
3 stars
Naama Bay, South Sinai, Sharm El Sheikh

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Roy Knowles
Nice hotel, friendly staff
7 years ago
My husband and myself had 2 weeks at Holmy hotel in Egypt. The view was great and the rooms were basic but cleaned every day. The staff were friendly and there is plenty of space around the pool.

The steps down to the town were a pain but we was aware of this before we went. The only down fall to our room was the noise at night from the town it started about 11.00pm and went on till 4.30am every night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anthony T
7 years 8 months ago
Ok, I am always open minded when I travel and usually agree, you get what you pay for. However, this hotel is so run down, it was beyond a joke. I have travelled all over the world and have never seen a place so in need of being closed down and completely re-done. The rooms were very drab. We were in 3 different rooms as the booking was not as we requested, so got a good look at the conditions. Beds were very uncomfortable. One room,the matress was actually sitting on an old door. There is no decor other than a hand painted flower above beds. Furnishings are old and basic. All 3 rooms had leaking drains from either sink or showers. Fixtures loose all over the place or missing. Numerous patch work on walls,doors etc that were very poorly done. Painter has not discovered masking tape or drop cloths as paint on everything, including curtains,bedding etc. numerous wires and pipes sticking out of walls with no purpose. Very poorly lit.Towels and bedding rather gray and very stiff and sandpaper like. Clean however.More like a youth hostel than a hotel though and certainly not worthy of a 3 star rating.
Outside grounds are quite well kept and pretty,but lots of holes,missing pavement blocks etc,bit of a challenge walking at night given so many broken light fixtures.
Food was clean, basic and pretty well prepared,but cold(especially breakfast)and repeatitious. Not much choice in general. waiters all very pleasant and friendly and attentive.
location on clifftop offers spectacular views of ocean and Naama bay,but a view can only go so far. steps down to town make this a great location, but the place just needs a lot of love and money to bring it back to life. So much potential, but obviously the maintenance is a cover up and hide rather than repair or replace and this is becomming evident. The old addage, you can put lipstick on a pig, but it's still a pig.
Staff in general ok, but manager not the friendliest man in town.he did do his best to correct our reservations but he,like the property, was just too tired. The man who runs the little shop on site is wonderful and helpful and very friendly and his prices are pretty fair.
There wasn't any entertainment offered while we were there. The outdoor " theater" was under repairs.
After 4 nights, we had just had enough and re-booked at the St Georges 3 corners. What a diference a star makes. How Halomy got a 3 and ST George only 4, I don't get. The St G was tremendous in every way shape and form and we are planning to return there next year for 2 weeks.
To sum it up, if you are a young group on a very tight budget or have nothing else to compare it to, this might suit your tastes, but honestly, I can't see how anyone could really enjoy staying here.
foot note. For a spectacular meal at great prices in a romantic setting on the beach by candlelight, go to Viva restaurant in Naama bay. GREAT meal/service and setting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On the beach

Joanne
10 years 5 months ago
we were 4 adults staying at the halomy al inclusive
the hotel could do with updating but if you look past the decore you will have a great time here, the food was actually quite good we had planned to eat out most nights even though we were ai but found the hotel food very good we never came away hungry and ate there every day and night there is somthing for even fussy eaters.
the rooms are basic but very clean , bed linen changed every 3 days and clean towels very day a nice touch is the towel art when you return to your room a small tip to cleaner goes a long way , beds i found were comfy matresses felt like the memory foam ones and pillows were fine too even found some better ones in a cuboard,we didn't like our first room (413) no balcony or terrace and no sea or pool view but it was big with 32 large single bed's but went to reception and changed next day to (115)ground floor sea view over the bay absolutly stunning and a big kingsize bed , tv and fridge also aircon (best rooms are 100 to 220's from what i saw for view's ) the location has to one of the best in naama bay it set high on a cliff with stunning views of all naama bay ovely on a night when its all lit up there are some steps 113 ( didnt count them ) that take you to the centre of town within 5 mins great for not having to get a taxi ,the hotel staff are very friendly and always smiling they cannot do enough for you , we changed money at hotel reception as you are not saving that much by going into town to change it
there is no entertainment as such every night but they do hold bbq's and fish nights in hotels theatre with a show on that are about
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: travelrepublic

Recommended
Bill Mc Lean
10 years 7 months ago
I can't really say this hotel is all inclusive no snacks, no nibble's between meals, no ice cream for the kids thank goodness we had no kids with us it would have cost us.

The hotel is very clean to it's credit, and the rooms are cleaned every day.

The food is ok, you could find something to eat, not the best I have had on my travels.

The staff are very friendly and could have a good laugh with the waiters and bar staff.

The hotel location after you have walked down the steps to the road is about 10 minutes walk to the main shops and bars.

For me this hotel is more for couples as there did not seem much for children to do a part from the swimming pool.

This hotel really needs money spending on it if it is to attract returning visitors.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: booked myself

Stephanie Dunn
10 years 7 months ago
Had read previous reports on this hotel so wasnt expecting a 5* resort..
A very basic standard of accomodation based in chalet style rooms with either a verandah or balcony for outside seating.
Most rooms were garden viewed, some overlooking other rooms, however a small amount overlooking the sea. Rooms cleaned etc every day, although shabby.. The towel rail fell off the second we put a towel on it !

The swimming pool area is fantastic, sun all day, enough beds, provide towels & the view across the bay is perfect.
The hotel is located on top of a cliff so you can see everywhere, downside, the 112 steps from the hotel, would say small children, elderly or unfit would be a bad move, I struggled half way I'm afraid !!

Food - breakfast was the usual, bread, cakes, fruit, couldnt eat anything hot, didnt fancy it, may have been Egyptian style.
Lunch from the bar menu, pizza was ok, burger made us dodgy ! didnt bother after that.
Prices for food & drink at hotel still cheap but slightly dearer than in town.

Staff in reception helpful & reliable. However trying to sunbathe or sit in the bar was a nightmare, staff are constantly coming round trying to get you to book a tour, book tickets for the hotel show, or agree to eating at the fish buffet. If you just politely say 'no thanks' after a few days they'll leave you alone !
One day in the bar, we paid our bill & heard someone behind the bar say 'tip' as we were walking away, which I didnt appreciate.

Also, orange juice for breakfast was not included (we didnt know) & the manager came & found us at the pool area shortly after and told us in front of other people that we hadnt paid & wanted the money, lol !
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: libra Holidays

Kez
11 years 2 months ago
I have just stayed at this hotel and was there for two weeks with my boyfriend.

The hotel itself was good, not excellent, but good, clean and the staff are so friendly. I did not go there expecting a beautifully decorated marble four star hotel because reviews have told you otherwise but the beds are comfy and cleaned everyday and yes you get fantastic towel art which is nice to see when you walk into your room,

Yes the hotel needs a refurb but at the end of the day you can usually get a bargain price for this hotel and to be honest as long as its nice and safe and clean, you get over the old buildings.

The location of the hotel is by far the best in Naama Bay! The steps are a bit of a killer in the heat but a little exercise does no harm, then you are in the middle of Naama Bay it is great!

The food, we thought was bad, breakfast was the only edible thing, as they make fresh omlettes and pancakes which are lovely, but dinner was not great, but that is not necessarily this hotels food, we had a buffet at a restaurant one day and it was similar, I think its just Egyptian food. But it is so cheap to eat out in naama bay anyways so we just treated ourselves most nights.

Mohammed and Mimo are two lovely guys, there to look after you. The staff are all so friendly and often join in and talk to you.

The private jetty is just amazing. You can relax on the jetty, it is so quiet and peaceful and you are surrounded by the gorgeous blue sea and overlooking the bay. There is also a coral reef and so many fishes all around you, dont forget your underwater camera! The views are really amazing, the jetty and water is nicer than being at naama bay beach because there is so many more fish to see when you snorkell!

The views and location of the hotel, really do make up for the rest of the hotels faults. The all inclusive isnt a very good one, so I would just go B+B and eat out at the many restaurants at naama bay.I was just gutted because it was full when we went and they hadnt allocated us a sea view and we couldnt move to one because they were all full!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic for hotel, flights with BA!

Recommended
Claire Parker
11 years 4 months ago
It was a lovely hotel but the food wasnt up to scratch.

The all inclusive isnt all inclusive as there were no snacks during the day and ice cream for the little one had to be bought.

Staff fantastic even Muddi the manager. Am the top bar man made a lot of the bairn and called him boss which made his holiday!

Location has 113 steps down in to naama bay but that didnt matter.

Pool fantastic very clean and dont take beach towels they are supplied freshly laundered daily.

Not much to do during day if you not into watersports very quiet in town till about 4-6pm but that carries on till 6am.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels/hays

Recommended
11 years 6 months ago
We booked the hotel and flight separately (hotel with Ocotpus travel) on a bed and breakfast basis. Rooms varied in style some with and without balconies so always check the room before accepting. The shop in the hotle was very reasonable and drinks in the hotel were cheaper than some pubs in Naama Bay.

The strength of this hotel is its position overlooking Naama Bay and 107 steps and you are in the heart of Naama Bay, but in the hotel there is no noise of disturbance from Naama Bay.

Nothing is too much trouble and the snorkling at the hotel beach is spectacular, like sitting in a fish pond!! The diving centre will take you out snorkling if you are inexperience and there is no charge for this service. Hotel staff are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble.

The hotel is a bit tatty around the edges but its position and helpfulness make up for this shortfall.

During my previous visit to Sharm I stayed at the LTI Grand Azur which is of a high standard, except breakfast was the same, but is miles away from Naama Bay. Without a doubt I would stay in the Halomy again but the same couldnt' be said about the LTI due to its position

It cost us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
Heather
11 years 6 months ago
My boyfriend and i (Lee, AKA Why? in Egyptian) stayed at the Halomy Hotel in Sharm - it was fantastic! The rooms were very clean and had air conditioning, a fridge and on request a sea view.

The staff were very friendly - a big thank you to Mohammed (massage) and Mohammed (sleepy!) we had a fantastic time and we really enjoyed meeting you.

The location of the Hotel was fantastic lots of stairs though so not for the faint hearted. Within easy walking distance of the boats and the town which was great for all the trips we did.

Tip - If you stay at the Halomy go down the steps to the town and turn right and the first shop on the corner which organises trips, there is a chap called Jimmy and he is brilliant and very reasonable.

For trips to Cairo by air for the day, go with Cateract International (in the main strip) they are really good and the cheapest around at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holidayholiday

Recommended
Shaun Langford
11 years 7 months ago
Excellent hotel and ideal location on the cliff top.

All the staff were very friendly and very helpful. the evening meals were very good indeed but sadly the breakfast was not brilliant and slightly repetitive. Besides this one negative an excellent holiday was had.
gardens are kept very clean and pool is very clean.

Very reasonable prices at the hotel for food drinks & shopping.

A special mention to my brother Mohammed from the massage. Try the massage you wont regret it. What a gentleman this man is. He even brought my passports to the airport when I forgot them on my return !

We spent many an evening in the bedouin tent with him having a fantastic time dancing until the early hours. We miss you dearly mohamed and all the great times we had together love Shaun Cheryl Tyler & Liam xxx also a big mention to our other friends Abu & Samaka of the diving centre who also made our holiday fantastic.

The private beach is fantastic for snorkelling. Also there are some rocks and ledges that are good for jumping and diving off.

Would definately go back to this hotel and had an unforgettable holiday.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Oddysey

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.