Image of Ocean Bay Hotel

Ocean Bay Hotel

45 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
3 stars
The hotel consists of 90 comfortable air-conditioned guest rooms, providing a high standard of accommodation with private bathrooms, phones and satellite TV. Relax around the large swimming pool and sun deck area during your day.

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Jules
10 years 10 months ago
Ocean bay is budget but fantastic value for money.

The rooms are basic but clean, I shared with a friend and had 3 beds for 2 people and a very large room.

There was a good choice of food from around the pool to the hotel bar and the Egyptian night buffet was great.

Location meant a short walk into town but this was not a problem and the Egyptians here are so friendly, lovely people that you don't get harrassed like I have been in Cairo.

Staff were lovely, very friendly and the dive school which I did my Open water cert at were brilliant, a good laugh.

Entertainment was a little lacking but then again we spent most nights in Naama bay were there is so much to choose from. I'm planning my next visit in 7 weeks time so guess this speaks volumes...
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: explorers

Recommended
Paul Barnes
11 years 6 months ago
The Ocean Bay hotel itself was well situated, just away from the main streets but close enough to walk each evening.
The breakfast was Ok if you like continental type meals, I preferred the extra half hour in bed?
The rooms were basic but clean, and lets face it, we dont go away for the sleeping arrangements!
All the staff were very helpfull and friendly with a great deal of effort going into the towel arrangements!
Entertainment was fine with a choice of drinking / eating areas.
The dive school was well situated right by the pool at the back of the complex.
All in all a good base for all things.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Explorers

Recommended
Becca And Liam
12 years 3 months ago
This is only our second holiday together as a couple and we were over the moon with sharm and the ocean bay hotel !!!!

The staff were brilliant, friendly (often a bit pervy, but totally harmless) and very helpful, also with a good grasp of the English language.

The cleaner was very polite and thorough, with an amazing ability to make anything out of towels, from crocodiles to little men sunbathing !!! And he even left us a thankyou note when we were leaving so please tip him on your departure as hes a lovley man !!

There is an excursion office outside the hotel if you need any advice, with English reps in it.
We did not experience any of the weird policies as mentioned by another man on this site !!

The pool was lovely but again very deep even in the shallow parts, but the whole pool area was very pretty. But a bit of advice, dont walk on the tiles without flip flops on, you can really burn your feet !!

Also the Irish bar on the hotel complex was really good with karaoke and other entertainment, also Mohammed behind the bar treats everyone like his best friend, hes really nice, waiting on you hand and foot !!

The food is amazingly cheap, with meals at local restaurants so cheap you will fall off your chair, with a meal at pizza hut with 4 drinks costing as little as
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Explorers

Recommended
Nadya
12 years 3 months ago
Being from Egyptian heritage i have visted Egypt and Sharm on numerous occassions with my family i decided it was time for me to go with friends as i did in july of this year...after the attacks on sharm me and my sister decided to take the opportunity and support sharm by visiting again only 1 week after we had come back...we found an amazing deal for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Explorers

Ibbs
12 years 4 months ago
The hotel was nice, well secure, and the room was large if a bit spartan, howevcer the air con was fantastic!

The hotel staff were the only problem, well on the positive side you have great characters like Mo and his red polo shirted colleagues who are cheerful and friendly, sometimes a bit too friendly, but it was all good, the cleaners are a cheerful friendly nice sort and its nice to come back to a spotless room with towels arranged into animal and heart shapes! Great touch that puts a smile on your face!

The pool is HOT during the summer and I'd rather go to Kanabesh beach - a hotel beach this hotels provides tickets for. The pool is built for divers so is very deep, but its clean and theres a good bar!

The souvenir shop has most things and even have a variety of gem stones which you can choose and have made to measure rings pendents etc made from, and the shop staff especially the young placid and extremely friendly chap called ahmed !

He also will paint artabic or hieroglyph calligraphy for you - anything you want - on papyrus!

The ONLY PROBLEMS was the absurd policy that your NOT allowed to bring your own bottle of water even into your room (but I just did so anyway, as one of the security guards was as good as gold and smiled turning a blind eye to crisps and drink).

And the OTHER PROBLEM is the absurd policy of not being allowed to bring a guest into your room, not even for a visit during the day! This is pathetic!! The recpetionists were a bit pompous and smarmy and total jobs worths and these niggly bits let the whole place down!

Imagine a female you've met the night before coming to your room during the Day and your room phone ringing with the receptionist telling you to ask the guest to wait in the lobby - when there is NOT ONE piece of info or rule anywhere which states NO GUESTS!

This ruined my holiday as a single man I wasn't able to really enjoy myself!

On the pluds side the Irish bar was fairly good, the food was great, and on Tuesday they had an Egyptian night and the entertainments were brillinat! - especially the whirling dervish - amazing!

Every evening they'll have a Mongolian Barbecue which has great choice and is delicious - cooked on a huge barbecue thing by Wahil, a lovely chap!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Explorers

Recommended
12 years 5 months ago
Paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Explorers

Recommended
Annette And Barry
12 years 6 months ago
The Ocean Bay was a lovely hotel. Very clean and the staff were very friendly.

Reps very available most of the days and very helpful. They made some phone calls for me to find out which bar had the football on.....

There is some building around the hotel but we did not find it any problem.

The taxi rank was noisier as they toot at everybody hoping you may want a taxi and the diving people were a little noisy, going out early.

Lovely breakfast, buffet style and they also did meals later in the day which were good.

Pool side bar and food was also great. Towels were supplied for the pool also.

There is an Irish bar attached to the hotel which had entertainment, football and did food which again is very good
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: explorer

Recommended
Dan D
12 years 8 months ago
Basic hotel, but great value for money.

Rooms were fine, pool nice.

Right near the town, but this does not affect your stay what so-ever.

Definitely recommend this hotel.

I preferred the three minute walk into town to sample the many restaurants than be stuck in an all-inclusive
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: d/k

Recommended
Jacky Gould
12 years 9 months ago
This is a good basic hotel. Only does B&B and there is only one restaurant but the food is very good and reasonably priced. There is no pool bar but it looks like they are building one.

The location is excellent - only about 5 mins walk into main resort. There is a bit of noise from the Diving school compressors if you happen to be in a room above where they are situated , we asked to be moved and we were with no hassle but it may be a different story in the summer when they are full!

The hotel staff were all extremely helpful and the rooms were cleaned thouroughly (they were knocking on the door at 8.30am wanting to come in and clean the rooms!)

There is no entertainment and the bar in reception is very basic but there is a good bar next door - The Beiruit Bar who also do very good food.

We only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Explorers.com

Recommended
12 years 9 months ago
The Ocean Bay was basic but perfectly satisfactory.

I
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: imperial travel

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.