Image of Sunrise Island Garden Resort

Sunrise Island Garden Resort

73 of 104 hotels in Sharm El Sheikh

3 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    4
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Next to the runway!
6 years 10 months ago
Rooms were dirty. We were moved to refurbished rooms that were not much better but after a long day travelling could not be bothered arguing.

Food always tepid, not surprised so many people were suffering from stomach cramps and sickness - Thomas Cook rep put it down to handling the Egyptian money. Plates and glasses washed up in cold water and not dried so some water was left in the bottom of the glasses at the pool bar. Could not find a clean cup, all had stains and lipstick on at the pool bar to have coffee in.

Right next to the runway, planes taking off all day and night. Next door to a sewage treatment plant, stench will make you retch.

All in all would not return if the holiday was given free.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Dixon
Left early - awful hotel!
6 years 11 months ago
We went for 5 weeks, our first long stay holiday to Sunrise Garden Resort and what a mistake that was.

Room was shabby and dirty, bathroom shower was thick with black mould. Was shown a further 4 rooms all the same state and eventually settled as was evident at this point things were not going to improve.

Were not told the proximity of airport, we could watch planes taking off and landing all day from poolside. As well as listening to them all night.

The food was themed every day but basically the same menu, ok if you like chicken and rice.

The staff were very friendly and helpful but I feel the cleaners need training as using the same raggy towel to clean every room is not acceptable. We actually only stayed for just over 2 weeks then paid to fly home as we could not take it anymore.

Will never go back to this hell hole again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Tracey
Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
7 years 4 months ago
Have just gotten back from this hotel and would never holiday in Egypt again because of it! We were over looking the runway of the airport and could smell the fuel off the airplanes as well as hear them landing and taking off every half hour! 15 minutes transfer time to hotel but that's because they drive up a one way road turn round then come back down!

Food.. Well if you like chicken and rice you'll be fine! Same food every day but with a different name. Totally impossible to get a cold drink round pool bar. Always warm!

Not enough staff to keep the queues down after standing 20 minutes for a drink 1 of our party fainted with the heat.

No complaints about rooms, cleaned every day and pool area lovely but would not recommend this hotel to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Ray & Tracey
7 years 4 months ago
the staff apart from the reception were all very good the reception could be removed and let the two girls whom do the guest relations take over and they would do a much better job. reception staff were only interested if you were a young female.
the rest of the place was on the whole very good although the sister hotel is much nicer you would go a long way to find better staff than at the Gardens hotel.
the rooms are in need of upgrading and the balcony doors all seem to be broke but plenty of security whom are doing a good job.
food we thought was very good and plenty of choice although the snacks were not very good we tried them once and that was enough.
on a scale I would give this hotel a 3 star rating and five star for the staff apart from the reception whom I would get rid of and save the money.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hays

Recommended
Aypother
7 years 4 months ago
e arrived at hotel at six o clock we were offered a cold drink and towel the reception area was kept very clean our room was clean and basic with the biggest double bed ive ever seen towels and bedding changed every day cleaner very pleasant

the pool area was kept very clean the pool staff work hard all day even move parassols for you we got wrong for doing it ourseves shaban is lovely towels were put on sunbeds in same place for the full two weeks we were there as for the pool bar staff they were amazing what can i say mohamed eid zakariaa always had smiles on their faces and a pleasant word even they worked twelve hours a day

the food was average always found something to eat breakfast was best meal of day you are allowed to go to the italians and barbacue twice while there well worth a visit

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
7 years 5 months ago
Breakfast was Buffet style. Cereals, Toast (if the toaster worked)Cold meats, some hot stuff, Mashed & Roast potatoes.
Lunch was Buffet style. Soup, Stews, Pasta (Spicey even for the children)Salads, cold meats etc..
Dinner was Themed buffet, the same stuff each day just named differently.
Pool Food. was Burger & Chips or toasties. Ice cream in the afternoon.
All the food was edible for Adults & Children.
Puddings, Cakes & Fruit.
Drinks. Not cold anywhere in the complex, no matter what you ordered. Drinking Water that is offered free in the complex, is left in the sun to warm up, so you get warm water to drink. You can buy cold water though at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Mackay
9 years 2 months ago
hotel very tired and badly needs a lick of paint and a good tidy up .maid service as well as bar staff very good .food catered mainly for russian /german kids choice was chips every day pool area kept tidy at all times .hotel is opp the runway so depends on what room can be noisy drinks only one word horrible and no choice to buy a brand make [take your own from the duty free as you fly out everyone does ]lager in small half pint glass and half of that is foam .deff not a 3 star hotel at all .entertainment choice 10am belly dance 1030am water polo 11am water gym same after 3 pm and at night nill .if you go and take ill go to chemist and for 4 pound they will fix u our stuff does not wwork over there so dont bother
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: on rthe beach . com

Chris And Lesley
9 years 6 months ago
our board was AI, you had plenty to choose from and there was a lot of variety. the great thing was that most of the food was covered up with a lid and kept warm / hot most of the time. the rooms got cleaned and beds made everyday, the hotel was on the beach , but outside of it there was very little to do, although that wasnt a problem as it was too hot to do anything other than be in the pool.the staff couldnt do enough for you, although geting drinks to pool 3 was a bit slow.entertainment around pool 2 is ok if you like noise and thae usual all day, we dont, and were lucky enough to be staying right next to pool 3, which was quiet all day.we would come back but when it is cooler.dont be fooled by the guide temps it was 90F at night.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: med hotels

Recommended
mic
10 years 3 months ago
We visited sunrise island garden on our honeymoon and it was just what we needed after 18 months of hectic wedding planning. We chose to relax and basically do nothing although if you wanted to there was stuff to do. The beach was a short distance away at sister hotel but we enjoyed the pool area where there was constant entertainment if you wanted to join in.
The meals were very good for all inclusive and the staf were very friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
We have been to this hotel twice, we are planning to go back to Sharm but have decided to go to a different hotel this time just for a change. The second time we visit Sharm we booked for a different hotel. It was so bad we asked to be moved the following day to this hotel. When we arrived at the hotel they were so helpful and because we had been there before and they had remembered they treated us great. The food wa eatable even though some times it was repeated through out the fortnight, the night tim entertanment could have been better.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: medhotels

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the links below:

We are the West Country's leading Independent Travel Agent based in Plymouth. Specialists for Honeymoons and special occasion holidays.