Image of Disney Explorers Hotel

Disney Explorers Hotel

7 of 11 hotels in Disneyland Paris

4 out of 5 from 20 reviews
2 stars
50 Avenue de la Fosse des Pressoirs, 77700 Magny-le-Hongre, France
Home to Sir Archibald de Bacle, the "legendary explorer", this hotel is a visual and fun filled treat, packed with treasures and surprises from around the world.

20 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Margaret To
Good for families
6 years 1 month ago
This hotel is ideal if you have a family with more than 4 members. We came with our 3 children and this was the only hotel that had rooms that catered for more than 4.

We arrived late - after 11pm - as we had spent two days in Paris city prior to this. I had requested a late check in when booking, but when we arrived, they had given our room away to someone else. This was highly disappointing! However, I cannot fault the manager, as she sorted out alternative accommodation at the nearby Raddison hotel and drove us there herself. We had to spend the first night at the Raddison, and then came back to spend the second night at the Explorers.

Overall, the hotel was nice. The reception area is very bright and interesting for kids.

The pool is lovely - again the kids loved this.

The room was a bit tired looking. I would say in need of a refurbishment.

The breakfast was plentiful - lots of choice.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Elaine
10 years 1 month ago
This hotel is lovely - the public areas are clean and spacious. The swimming pool area is amazing - big enough to swim in, and one whole area of the pool is now a pirate ship water play centre. My DD absolutely loved this, and the play ship in the main atrium.
Our room for 4 was slightly larger than comparable rooms at the Santa Fe or Cheyenne hotels, with bathroom (and lovely powerful shower) and separate toilet. Hairdryer, TV, kettle and hot drinks fixings all included at no extra charge. There is also a safe in the room.

The breakfast buffet is well organised, even with many guests. The food is laid out in the main restaurant, drinks are in a separate area, and you can take your breakfast in the atrium as well as in the main restaurant (much less hectic in the atrium). The fresh fruit at breakfast was yummy - oranges, melon, watermelon, and pineapple.
We had a pizza from Marcos in the atrium on our first evening - only 10 euros, and the pizza was very tasty, and big enough for us 2. Drinks are expensive in the hotel though - soft drinks cans are 3 euros each, either at the bar or in the vending machines.

Check-in was smooth, and was check-out. Staff all friendly and helpful.

Because of the pool and Marcos mainly, the Explorers is now DD's absolute favourite hotel out of the 3 we have visited at DLRP (the others being the Santa Fe and Cheyenne).

With this being an offsite hotel, I found I had to be more aware of the time, as the shuttle buses run every 20 minutes. We missed one by only a couple of minutes on our first morning, and so waiting for the next one seemed to take eternity (and we missed an extra 20 minutes EMH).

This hotel caters for large tour groups, and I have never seen so many school groups in the parks as on this trip - there were loads of them. There were at least 3 such groups at the Explorers while we were there, and unfortunately, our room was between 2 of them. Our first night, we had one room banging about and running in the corridor until after 11.30pm, and the next night, we had the other side banging about and shouting out the windows til roughly the same time. I had to phone reception on our 2nd night about the noise, they were great, they contacted the lead of the group, and shortly afterwards, there was no more noise from the window-shouters.

I know the Explorers is not to blame for my sleepless nights, as I have experienced something similar (although not on the same scale or quite so late) in the Cheyenne. Its a shame in a way that the Explorers has interconnecting door in all its rooms, as noise obviously travels much louder through a door than through a wall.

I did enjoy our stay at the Explorers, and would stay there again (but I wouldn't schedule my stay there for the beginning of June again, as that appears to be school trip season!)

Elaine
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Christine Williams
10 years 7 months ago
Have just returned from a five day Christmas break at Disney Paris. We stayed at the Explorers Hotel and were not happy at all with the place. The building was nice and the room, although small was adequate and clean. My quibble is with the appallingly poor standard of food available in the restaurant. We paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Going Places

Hughes Family
10 years 10 months ago
Hotel was very impressive. We were a little concerned as to what it would be like; given its outside the Disney Resort but after seeing the other hotels in passing this hotel matched those in Disney. Free shuttle bus every 15 mins to the parks and this hotel is the first pick up which means no worrying about not getting on (as you can imagine these buses are very busy)

Rooms were spotlessly clean and very spacious with a free tv with cartoon channels for the children. There was a free safe and air con as well which was great.

We had a continental breakfast included in the price which was really nice;plenty of pastries/cereals/fruit and yogurt to choose from. A cooked breakfast was available for 6 euros but we didnt bother.

There is a couple of restaraunts and bars to chose from within the hotel and an excellent take away pizza bar (10euros each)

Staff were really helpful and friendly; actually the nicest Ive met in all my holiday.

Would definitely consider staying here again and would recomend to others.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cresta/My Travel

Recommended
Smith
11 years ago
We were very apprehensive after reading reviews of Hotel but we were delighted with our stay there. Having previously stayed at Disney Santa Fe I would rate this more highly. The Pool and soft play area were excellent. The Continental Breakfast was super and if you wished something heavier you could pay 6 Euro for a full English. There was a Brioche Doree outlet you could vsit within the Hotel. The rooms were immaculate with towel changes daily, TV, and free safe. The staff were friendly and helpful. The Hotel was full but did not feel it. Bar prices as expected high 6Euro 50 a pint but a 2 for 1 happy hour between 8 and 9 pm. The games room excellent for older Children. First stop for Disney shuttlebus and at park in 5 mins. Will recommend to all friends
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Joanne Gaines
11 years 1 month ago
The Hotel was excellent. Everything you would ever need for your stay at Disney. The staff were very helpful, the hotel and room was very clean. The staff even let us have a look at the hotel buffet to see if we would like to eat it first - which we did and it was excellent! The pool was great although it was very busy and the play area and pirate ship were in a great location which meant we could have a drink whilst the children wasted the last of their energy! I personally dont think there would be much difference in a disney hotel (apart from having the characters in reception) but after disney it was nice to have a break from all that. Shuttlebus was very easy to catch and we never had to wait more than 10 mins for one to turn up! Will definately come back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Sundeal

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
The hotel was better than expected after reading the experiences of past visitors I was expecting to be disappointed but we weren't.

The room was a little tired but it didnt matter as we spent approx 7 hours a day in the room all of which were sleeping hours, the pool by the way was great and we managed to fit in two visits to it.

The continental breakfast was very good and we snuck a few croissants into our back pack for emmergency rations in the park. All staff we encountered were great, no entertainment abviously being disney this was to be found elsewhere.

We will definately be visiting again due to it being the only one with a pool and the only one sleeping up to 8 people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Leger

Recommended
Michelle
11 years 6 months ago
We arrived at this hotel, very deflated as we had dropped other people off at the nice hotels in the Disney Village. We knew it was not going to be very special as we did not pay that much for it.

First evening we did not know you could of gone to the village and eaten, whicj is just outside the parks, we ate in the hotel and was buffet menu 21 euro for adult and 11 euro for kids, it was really poor food, i did not find much i likes and the plates and cutlery were not very clean.

When we arrived at the park the following day things were better. As it is fantastic, at the end of the day it is just a bed to rest your tired feet after a full day in the park.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Jet 2

Gary
11 years 9 months ago
Rooms spacious, well equiped and clean. No entertainment provided. Good facilities for children, including a swimming pool and adventure area for the younger ones with ball pit, slides etc. Staff polite and helpful, cleanliness excellent. Breakfast buffet very good, well stocked with a good number of choices, english breakfast costs extra, but hardly anybody seemed to want it. Evening meals good.

The free bus to the Disney park was fairly frequent, maybe every 20 minutes or so. One advantage of staying at this hotel is that it was the buses first stop, so it would arrive empty. However, often in the morning I saw the bus leave full, so guests at the next hotels on the route must have been left dissappointed and waiting.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Air France

Recommended
Keepupwith
11 years 11 months ago
Previously we have stayed at the Santa Fe so this was our bench mark when comparing the Explorers. Both are two stars so should be on a par.

I think the main think that disappointed us was the difference it made not being a Disney hotel- no Disney touches in the bedrooms, characters in the lobby etc and I have to say we missed that. Essentially the hotel was fine. The rooms were basic but a reasonable size and the communal areas attractive. However, the hotel did feel tired in places, where maintenance could have been better.

Can't fault the staff- they were excellent and we never found them less than helpful.

What we didn't like unfortunately was the pool. Don't get me wrong it is a great facility, but not having a lifeguard means that people use the slides in a totally irresponsible manner. Kids and adults alike were landing on top of each other at the bottom and to be honest it was an accident waiting to happen. We actually booked the hotel for the pool and having been in once would not use it again!!

Bus service to the park was quite frequent although it did go around all four of the hotels, so wasn't as quick as the Disney hotels.

In summary it was OK- we wouldn't use it again,since if we wanted a hotel minus a pool we would go back to the Santa Fe. I would use it again in the winter months when you would be more inclined to use the pool,but only if the hotel changed the system to employ a lifeguard to police the use of the slides, otherwise I would certainly go elsewhere
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Leisure Direction

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum