Image of Matoula Hotel & Apartments

Matoula Hotel & Apartments

1 of 7 hotels in Acharavi

5 out of 5 from 22 reviews
3 stars
Acharavi, Αχαράβη, 49100, Greece

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    13
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ian Stafford
Excellent
7 years 11 months ago
Matoula is situated off the main road of Acharavie, which is a very busy main road. This is where the main life is. Matoula is about 2 minutes from here, towards the beach.

The apartment area is much bigger than I expected from the brochure and internet photos. There is a fairly large area to the front of the bar with tables/seats/umbrellas. This is where we did our late drinking as the bar closed at midnight despite it being full or empty. That’s the first time I've come across this in Greece. Normally if you are spending money then the bar stays open. Not here! Spiros the bar man is very strict at closing time. Mind you he did say he works from 7.00am to midnight. And he does have a family. Bar facilities are what you'd expect. Drop Spiros a few tips or buy him a regular drink and you'll find that your round never comes to more than 10E whatever you have. My whisky kept getting topped up for no charge.

We had a 2 bedroom apartment. It was probably the best we have had in Greece. Sufficient size kitchen with 2 electric rings, fridge, oven type thing. 2 good size bedrooms, 1 of which had a TV in with Italian music channel, which was good for the kids. Maid service was excellent. Rooms kept spotless. Patio area was large with well-kept gardens.

The apartment blocks were well spaced out so you didn't feel like you were on top of everyone else. Pool area was fairly large with a large-ish grassed area with beds on. Plenty of sunbeds to go round. There really was no need to get up to put towels on the bed. Pool didn't start to get busy until around 10.00 - 10.30ish. Pool is a good size too, plenty of room for everyone. It is fairly deep though in the shallow end.

Food is served from the bar all day. Small English breakfast is 3E - more than enough: 1 egg, 1 bacon, 2 sausages, beans, 2 slices toast & butter and jam, glass of orange juicer and a tea or coffee. It really was big enough. It serves basic food but suitable.

The apartments are about 2 mins from the sea. The beach here is very stony so take some rock shoes. If you go to the right on the beach it does get sandier. It’s probably the worse beach I've been on in Greece and I've been going since 1984!

Overall I'd give these apartments a low 'Excellent' rating. And I'd go back again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
S@B And J@P
8 years ago
Have just returned from our 4th visit to the Matoula studios.Spotlessly clean, maid service every day except Sundays. Linen changed twice a week.Location perfect inbetween the town and the beach. 3 or 4 minutes to the town where you will find several tavernas and a well stocked supermarket, and 3 or4 minutes to the beach
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended
Jane & Kevin
8 years ago
Excellent accommodation at the Matoula and will definitely stay there again. The maids did a fantastic job and were friendly (as were all the staff). Couldn't fault a thing about the place.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Gordon + Tracey
10 years ago
If I had to recommend a place to go it's Matoula. The rooms are spotless, the food is dynamite and you're right between the main street and the beach, perfect just where you want to be.

If you go to Matoula don't sit in your room and eat, get down to the bar whare Spiros will serve you the best beer on the island and serve you some of the best food Corfu has to offer.

See you next year Spiros


gordon+tracey jason+debby
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Nancy
10 years 8 months ago
There was 6 of us three in a room and it was the best holiday i have ever been on! The staff were so polite and happy to help ! Spiros was so funny and helped all of us have an enjoyable holiday.We didnt want to leave ! GREEK NIGHT was realy fun we had a great laugh we made loads of friends and its a great night out and worth the money ! We persuaded lots of people to join in and it became an amazing evening.The weather was great and so were the locals and the other peole in the hotel.Weve been going for the past 12 years ! And will carry on forever .Its an amazing place and you should definitely visit it we recomend it .We go twice a year sometimes!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: easyjet

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
When we arrived at the Matoula appts we were surprised at how clean and spacious our studio was.

The kitchen was well equipped enough for the basic stuff although we ate all the time. The snacks at the Matoula were very good

The whole complex was spotless and the staff were extremely helpful and polite. We went in the first week of the season so it was nice and quiet.

The Greek Night at the complex was brilliant and I we will definitely be returning to the Matoula again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Higgins
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed at the Matoula studios and apts in Acharavi for 2 weeks. From the very moment that we arrived to the the end of the hols was perfect, the food the the bar area was ace we never had any thing that wasn't good.

The pepole was so nice and welcoming.

We are defo going back will be booking in the next few weeks.

Spiros is great too makes evey one feel at home and that you have a nice holiday
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Jordan Watt
11 years 10 months ago
I stayed at the Matoula apartments with my mam and dad it was one of my best holidays.

Lots to do and plenty of friends.

We hired a car and got to see more of the island.

Spiros the pool bar manager was great and I will miss him and Larry the hotels dog very much.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sarah
12 years ago
What can I say, excellant!! Maid service every day apart from Sunday and linen change twice a week. We stayed on a self catering basis and hardly ate in the pool bar at night but during the day you couldnt fault the food and excellent service from all the staff, especially Spiros what a great guy always ready to crack a joke and make you laugh and excelent with the kids! he definatley made the holiday for me! Location great only 5 minutes to the beach and about the same to the main strip. will hopefully be returning next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ann And Andy Bide
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed at the Matula for one week at the beginning of August this year. We stayed the year before last at the complex next door, but as we could not get in, stayed at the Matula. Am I glad we did? Oh yes.

The room (111) was extremely clean and tidy. The cleaning staff were brilliant. Nothing was too much trouble.

The location of the complex was also very good. 2 minutes from the very safe beach, and 5 minutes walk from the village. Not much night life if you want an 18 to 30 type holiday don
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum