Image of Helios Beach Hotel

Helios Beach Hotel

19 of 30 hotels in Kardamena

3 out of 5 from 19 reviews
Kardamena, Kos, Kos Island, Grecia 85300, Greece
This modern hotel offers a range of excellent facilities and entertainment for the whole family. Rated a Gold Choice, it is located in a prime position a short distance from Kardamena Village, which boasts 3kms of beach with watersports available.

19 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
11 years 9 months ago
My husband and I and our 3 children[aged 5,8 and 9] spent a week at the hotel Louis Helios and went all inclusive.

We had twin rooms that were adjoining which was great to have the kids in their own room but still be able to keep an eye on them.

In total honesty,we had a brilliant holiday there. The hotel was keep very clean,food was varied and something for everyones pallet.

The menu rotates every 15 days so there is always something different,although there is always pasta ,chips and salad available at every meal time. The kids loved the endless supply of on tap ice cream!!

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and the entertainment team were always around day and night providing polo,keep fit,kids disco,bingo ,shows,kareoke,tennis and snooker matches ,amongst other things.

There is literally a 5 minute walk to the beach which is very clean with sun loungers,umberellas and water sports. Our kids were happy to play in the pools all day everyday though!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mr & Mrs Smith
12 years 6 months ago
We stayed in a 4 bedroom ground floor apt., very spacious and clean, although we did have visiting ants.

Hotel food was ok, although repetative, luckily I loved salad, there were some beautiful vegetable dishes,the rest of the party loved spaghetti bolognaise(served every day), but we did expect a higher standard for a a 4* and have had better at 3*, no childrens menu as stated in the brochure. Food covered in flies, not nice, not sure if the air. con. was on all the time as it could be very hot when eating your meal. Ice-cream scoop and the tub of water it sat in was constantly in use, but never taken away and replaced by staff, ok if everybody remembers to wash their hands before eating, same goes for the handling the loafs of bread.

Only snacks outside of meal times available were dried sandwiches consisting of tuna/cucumber, carrot/tomato/cucumber & ham/cheese + cake available for one hour in the afternoon.

Hotel is located a 20 min walk from Kardamena, main road too dangerous due to fast moving traffic and no path to walk on, the other route was along the coastal road, which also had no path, so you were constantly on the look out for traffic and tellling the children to be careful, safer to travel by taxi 5 euro.

Animation team worked really hard to entertain the clients, children enjoyed the activities, although these were a little repetative, aqua fit was great fun.

Pool was a little cloudy, could have done with a clean, and thankfully we were advised to set our alarm for 6.30am to reserve a sunbed, if not we would have had no where to sit during the day. The only bonus of this was to see the beautiful sun rise. Luckily near the end of our stay 30 more sunbeds did arrive.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and worked flat-out to provide a service to all.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Mr & Mrs Hunt
12 years 6 months ago
The hotel and our room itself was very clean and comfortable.

The food was lovely although could be repetitive especially at lunch times but I suppose it is very hard to put out a varied menu on a buffet basis to please everybody.

The hotel was slightly further than the edge of Kardamena, it was a good 15-20 minute walk along a dusty beachside road which was frequented by cars, also fast motorbikes, scooters,quad bikes and beach buggies so you had to be very careful with your children not to get run over.

The hotel staff worked very hard especially the bar and waiting staff and also the cleaners (our cleaner did an ace job in room 817)

The entertainment was a bit of a let down especially as two of the animation team left before we arrived so the poor DJ and the sports entertainer had to join the animation team with no talent or they had no time to rehearse their shows and they were so embarrassed and awkward but that said I will give them full marks for guts. The kids in the hotel seem to like their animator - Charlotte. My 15 year old was bored - there was nothing for him to do.

This hotel was small so everyone got to know each other so it was a lovely and friendly atmosphere and we all looked out for each other.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Mr.+Mrs.Cooper
12 years 6 months ago
When we arrived our rooms were not ready one and half hours later.

We had to buy our own water, fridge in room was not full with either beer, water, lemonade.

The food was very poor. Not what I am used to for A/I. No carvery, omelets, pancakes etc. No cover on the bread, no milk near the tea urn, no teaspoons. (It did happened after I complained, but for one day only). At breakfast you spend time looking for cups, or sauces, spoon. Flies in the dinning room and the bake beans, hairs in the food. I told them, that staff should have hair tied back.

Entertainment was so bad, that words fail me(even the manager could not disagree) The children loved it, but nothing for the adults.

We paid a lot of money and did not get value at all. I have written a letter to First Choice.

Dress code was expected but never carried through, so therefore some dressed for dinner, others didn't bother. no-one said a word.

Drinks were watered down, only one bar staff on at any one time. No snacks, only sandwiches and biscuits,

This should had been a three star hotel and not A/I.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Alex Casandros
12 years 6 months ago
This is the most disgusting hotel I have ever stayed in! As an 18-30s clubbing holiday we wern't expecting luxury but this hotel was abysmal.

When we arrived our room had been double booked and we had to wait 5 tired and hungry before being sorted with a less than adequate room - no hot water, leaking bath and shower, broken TV, rat droppings and wood-worm infested furniture. No air-con was unbearable and noisy at night!!

The food was less than satisfactory and highly repetitive. Flies swarmed every meat dish and I even found dead flies in my already half eaten salads.

The all inclusive "alcohol" wouldn't get you tipsy if you drunk 5 litres it is so watered down and tasteless and the bar staff have no idea how to mix a cocktail.

The pool area was equally as repulsive with broken tiles and often broken glass - extremely dangerous and saw a girl cut her foot one day. Pool itself was murky and not cleaned regularly enough.

The "animation crew" worked hard and were friendly but actually sucked at what they did unfortunately. General hotel staff were friendly but took a day and a half to fill simple requests.

Beach was ok, a bit to pebbly but we had a nice day.

All in all this hotel was one nightmare after another and I felt that most people in the hotel did not enjoy their stay as the queue at the front desk was caused by complaining guests 24/7!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Beaver Travel

Samantha Collins
12 years 6 months ago
TAMPONS ARE BANNED IN THIS HOTEL! THIS IS THE MOST RIDICULOUS OF THINGS I'VE EVER HEARD! What a disgrace! It was actually a violation of feminine rights. I battled for 2 days with the hotel manager about this and got nowhere and was on the verge of leaving the hotel! This completely ruined my holiday, and as there was no where to dispose of my tampons I had to use my own carrier bag and dispose of these in the public bins - not a pleasant experience.

If you're gonna stay here (highly against my recommendations!), women take the pill well in advance - you don't want your period!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
John
12 years 7 months ago
We met some very nice people and plan to keep in contact, we spoke to a around 11 families about their opinion of the hotel and hope we give a fair and balanced opinion

2 Adults and 1 Child

The brief: A good quality, family and child friendly hotel, with real children
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Budget

Miss Hartman
12 years 7 months ago
My three girlfriends & I were really disappointed by this hotel. It's certainly not a 4 star hotel or 'A' class, more like 2 or 3 stars.

The lobby is nice and posh but the rooms were really far away and near sewers that smelt a lot of the time.

In the evenings we walked to the town because it was so long to wait for a bus or a taxis, but the walk was really long, like half an hour or longer in high heels and the road was scary becos they all drive so fast there!!

We all liked the food because there was lots of choice but it got boring after a few days and often the same food was reused day after day which we thort was yucky.

During the days we got bored by the pool because it was full of babys and adults and the entertainment was rubbish!

This hotel was ok just to stay in but too expensive for what we paid.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Laura Szmitz
12 years 8 months ago
Visited the Helios Beach as a family party ages 1,3,19,28,30,36,58 and 61. We found it great that everyone of us had a fantastic holiday, there was something to keep us all happy. The entertainment team work very hard but are not too pushy if you dont want to take part, although evening entertainment does rely on audience participation.

The staff within the hotel restaurant, bar and reception could not have been more helpful. With the hotel being quite small there is a real friendly atmosphere.

Even to the extent that on my sons 1st birthday the hotel supplied a cake and Momo and the rest of the entertainment team (Christina, Amy and Serb)really made it a memorable occasion.

The hotel food was slightly restricting on choice but found something enjoyable almost every meal time, especially the puddings. With ice cream available all day there were no complaints from the kids.

Had one slight problem with our room one day when we were becoming infested with ants, we reported this to reception and our room was cleaned thoroughly that very day...no more ants. Pool and public areas were also very clean and well kept.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Paul Mickens
12 years 8 months ago
I stayed in the Louis Helios, with 2 other boys and 3 other girls and found that our stay was less that satisfactory.

The rooms were smaller than advertised, and had a distinct smell of onions emanating from them.

The food was ok at times, but i know of at least three occasions where a resident found a fly in their meal, and even then, it was not replaced with a new dish. The variety of food is also very limited, with the salad bar only containing the bare essentials needed to compose a salad. On three out of the seven nights we stayed, the salad bar had run out before we had even arrived for dinner.

The location and the staff are actually satisfactory, but there were many times when we found there was not a lot to do during the daytime.

The swimming pool, for example was constantly closing in order to be cleaned and repaired.

The drinks served at the bar are also less than adequate, because a lot contain watered-down alcohol and there is an extremely limited selection to choose from. Any other specific requests for types of alcohol come with a hefty charge that is scarcely justifiable.

In short, me and my friends thought we were getting a good deal from the Louis Helios, but infact we were left dissatisfied and feeling heavily shortchanged.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum