Image of Aegean Village Hotel

Aegean Village Hotel

7 of 30 hotels in Kardamena

4 out of 5 from 18 reviews
Kardamaina, Kardamena 85302, Greece

18 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Brian & Jean
Total refurbishment was great
7 years 1 month ago
We returned to the Aegean Village this year knowing the hotel had had a refurb since our last visit, but where not prepared for what we found.

We opened the door to our room to find not just a refurb but a complete makeover, gone was the Greek village style furniture and in with the International modern look, but not just the furniture, new windows and doors, new tiles to the floor, and a complete new bathroom, But not only our room, but as we walked around the hotel we didn’t find one area which had not seen some form of refurbishment.

Housekeeping we could not fault, everywhere was clean and inviting. The staff are well chosen, with a mix of many old friends and new, all smartly turned out and professional at their respective jobs.

Food is still a mix of Greek and international with ample choice, well prepared and presented

Location is 1.5k to the centre of the village with stupendous views across the Aegean sea to Nissaros.

This establishment doesn’t have a star rating as it is an apart-hotel [grade A], tour operators offer it as 4 to 5 on their own rating scale. Having been to many hotels around Greece I would have to say it is on par with most of the 4+ and 5 star hotels we have used.

Being Regular travellers to Greece we can highly recommend this hotel, and look forward to further visits in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Larina Shaw
9 years ago
We return every year around mid Sept. to meet up with friends we made there.The family owners are so welcoming and see to all our needs.The staff are very friendly too.We go to have a relaxing time and that is what we get.I can't really comment on entertainment as apart from the Greek Evening I prefer to sit outside on the terrace where the waiters are extemely attentive.
If you want a quiet holiday ,good food and delicious homemade bread brown,white all shapes and sizes and comfortable rooms and surroundings
Go to Aegean Village you won't be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Brian & Jean
9 years 4 months ago
This was our third visit to this hotel in recent years,although the complex is now around 15 years old it has been well maintained over the years.
cleanliness cannot be faulted, the the housekeeping staff do an excellent job

food as we expected is not traditional Greek but some of the flavours were there and all was well prepared and presented, on the down side very little variation is to be seen at breakfast time but never the less plenty of choice, dinner menus are on a repeat schedule weekly so if you go for more than one week be prepared

Location, depends on your view of a holiday, the downside is the distance to Kahdamina village 2km approx [6eu by cab] But if you want a quiet resort with tremendous views then it cant be beaten

Staff on the whole are excellent, this year not all members of staff are Greek but of those most were excellent at their jobs, warm and welcoming, we were not impressed with the restaurant manager this year, gone were the warm smiles and welcome we are use to but the lads and lassies working the restaurant can be fun when they have time

entertainment i give a 4 although its not my cup of tea, the animation team [still finding their feet] worked hard to involve guest with the day time activities without being pushy, and arranged basic evening entertainment [ a fuller program will no doubt start when the season is in full swing]

[members will find a few of my snap shots in the photo album]

"addendum, i have received a post today from the hotel to say that having read my report they will be introducing a 2 week menu rotation shortly"
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
David & Jacqui
10 years 2 months ago
This hotel is great.It's situated about 1/2 mile from the town but it's a nice walk along the beach front although it's not particularly built up on the this road so areas of wilderness. If you are feeling lazy
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Going Places

Recommended
Jack Blakemore
10 years 4 months ago
How anyone could find this hotel not to their liking is beyond me. Food choice is excellent although not that many hot meat dishes on show. Staff were brilliant and the restaurant manager was always there to see that no-one had a used plate left for more than 10 seconds on their table. Drinks prices very reasonable for such a quality establishment. I am not rich but I still found prices very acceptable.

Rooms cleaned every day - even twice on our final day when we paid for an extension of room hours up until 6pm as our flight home was not until midnight.

Animation team work tirelessly, I fully agree. I certainly could not stay so pleasant for 10 hours a day as they do.

Pool area spotless with plenty of shower points. Beach just across the road is not that sandy but the hotel's sunbeds are there at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
Food good but not very much selection of hot dishes.

Only hotel we,ve stayed in where a breast off a small chicken is cut in half and served to you on the carvery. No toast,and tea is served in cups by waiter coming round with pots.no cold drinks available till pool bar opens at 10-30.evening meals start at 6-45 no hot water for shower till 6-30,same in morning, no hot water till after 8-00am although breakfast starts at 7-30.

Drinks are expensive as beer is served in 400ml glasses not half litres. No air-con used in hotel but air-con in rooms is excellent.hotel spotless but rooms could do with upgrading.

Staff brilliant,animation team work tirelessly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: internet deal

Recommended
Brian & Jean
11 years 4 months ago
Just returned from our second visit to this property
not much to add to my review of last year, except it was nice to see so many of last years staff re-employed for this season, and the majority of staff are Greek,

can throughly recommend this hotel to those who like good food and a place to chill

not recommended to those with walking difficulties
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleet way Travel

Recommended
SHARROCK
11 years 4 months ago
Just returned from an excellent holiday. The complex was very clean and well maintained. It had only been opened for a new season for a few weeks so it was only half full but the animation team worked really hard to keep you entertained.

Rooms were clean and well furnished. Food was of a very high standard with plenty of choice. For the cooked breakfast fans only English sausage was missing. Good choice of puddings with the evening meal. Staff were very helpful, excellent reception.

On the downside, the beach is small and sandy but the water is very rocky, definitely need some form of footwear. TV in rooms has no English language channels, and to be really picky the cloths hangers in the wardrobe were far too high for the wife to reach (bring a few hangers also).

If you come out of the complex and turn right don't bank on getting anything to eat or drink. After half an hour in the mid-day sun we staggered into an beach bar and ordered 4 drinks. When we tried to pay for them they told us it was part of the hotel across the road and poured the drinks down the sink.

If you turn left and walk for about 25 min you come to Kardamena, there is nothing really on the way so it's worth getting a taxi.

Reception will order one for you and it arrives in a few minutes, 6 euros. The town is brilliant. Front row facing the beach/prom is all restaurants and comfy seat bars. Behind them is bar street, about 50 clubs and lively bars. Behind that are Karaoke bars, music bars and family bars. Right at the end of this is a bar called The Two Jonnies who have an excellent Elvis impersonator. Inter spaced with all these bars are the usual shops.

Immediately across the road from the taxi rank is a large supermarket where you can get cigarettes, they are the same price everywhere, even the airport, 130 euros a thousand.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIRECT HOLIDAYS

Recommended
Kev & Michelle
12 years ago
Kardamena is a lovely resort for people of all ages.

The hotel is in an ideal location if you don't mind the 15/20 minute walk or paying
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
12 years 1 month ago
Truly stunning location, by far the best hotel on the island. We used the mini bus on about 3 occasions. The view from our rooms will stay in my memory forever.

Food was very good, although drink prices did vary depending on where the evening entertainment was being held!

Although entertainment staff were some of the best we had ever met, they really should invest in some professional entertainers for maybe one more night in the week, although the Greek night got us up dancing!

Definitely intend returning in the near future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum