Image of Summer Palace Hotel

Summer Palace Hotel

25 of 30 hotels in Kardamena

3 out of 5 from 22 reviews
5 stars
Kardamaina, Kardamena 85302, Greece

22 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Kim
8 years 11 months ago
We had a wonderful time at Summer palace.
The hotel was beautiful, attentive staff, carrying our luggage up and down all the stairs. Fantastic view from restaurant, pool and rooms.
The food was great, lots to choose of. Always an alternative to meat, chicken or fish if you wouldn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: apollo

Recommended
Luke Kendrick
10 years 9 months ago
We arrived early morning and was impressed with everything, Plenty of pools, food was good i thought this would be a great holiday.

We had a few problems with some of the drinks- somtimes the fizzy drinks just tasted vile, or salty or watered down. We believe this may be the reason that all 17 of us got ill!.

I cant complain about the food, it wasnt that bad at all, the staff were good too but there were the odd moody ones. Entertainment one word -poor. no more said.

Unfortuantly my holiday was cut short, I cut my foot on a pool light and had 2 deep cuts needing stiches. I cut my foot on a pool light that was already broken and showd me that the hotel didnt maintain the pools as i would expect.

The hotel paid for the doctor and taxi fares at least. The worst part was the cut was on the back of my foot so i couldnt wear a shoe! and no swimming and no alcohol as i was on pain killers.

In general, im was glad to come home. I would revisit the place though as the first 4-5 days were fantastic.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Scott
10 years 11 months ago
Great "Greek 5 star hotel" amazing staff (apart from one moaning bar man) Lovely food my parents were staying at Norida and we paid the 5 euros per day to share some meals etc... with them and only ate in their main restaurant once as it was poor quality with far to many Germans pushing in the que our restaurant was chilled out and relaxing.

Location didn't bother us as there was many buses to town and taxis were cheap.

Entertainment as far as animation staff was a bit rubbish but we enjoyed it never the less and the club and pub were great!! Pedalo's were free and so were canoes.

Water sports were ridiculously extortionate 20 euros per person on the banana boat!!!

This I cannot understand and when I queried this with the water sports boss man he claimed there was a fuel crisis and shortage in Greece. (hahaha)

All in all would definitely return one day but for a longer visit.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: freedom direct

Recommended
11 years 7 months ago
After reading previous reports we went to this hotel with an open mind and were pleasantly surprised.

Arrived 5.30am in the morning and were greeted by pleasant staff who helped with cases to room (which was only up a small hill).

Room was spacious and clean and had a pool directly outside door as well as a larger one down one flight of steps with plenty of sunbeds.

Food was fine, plenty of choice and nothing that was out at lunch was repeated at night. Staff were friendly, especially with the kids. When we were there the entertainment was low key and held in hotel rather than ampitheatre however Mini disco was a big hit with the kids, and the animation girl who did it was great.

Hotel was located quite far out of Kardamena however this caused us no problem as we were looking for a relaxing holiday and could easily get the bus in to town for next to nothing.

Would definitely consider going back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: findmeaccom.com

Recommended
11 years 10 months ago
Just returned from a week at this hotel which was booked at the 11th hour due to cancellation of Kos Aqua Beach. Fleetway travel very helpful.

The hotel is rated as a 5* but I would say it is more a 4*. First impression was that the hotel was very clear and the staff friendly. We arrived early hours of the morning and were directed to our room which was situated at the top of the hill. A bit difficult to find but once there was very pleased with it.

Spacious room with kingsize bed plenty of cupboard space and we also had the benefit of an extra bedroom although there was only the 2 of us. Fridge was stocked with water, soft drinks, couple of beers and wine on arrival. We found this adequate and it was restocked every other day although we didn't use it much.

The hotel is about 8 or 9 years old and it is now beginning to show its age with doors and such on the rooms needing refurbishment other than that the rooms were clean and well kept daily. Food was ample and adequate with enough choice and the staff in the dining room were very attentive. The breakfast was basic and a wider selection of fruit would have helped. The hotel is situated some way out of town. It took us 1 hour to walk there.

Also due to the way the hotel is built on a hill it is not suitable for people with walking difficulties. Quite a few steps although there was a lift down to the beach. Several swimming pools are situated around the site of the hotel and beach towels were provided. A 10E deposit was taken for these and returned at the end of the holiday.

Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas on the beach with a bar serving drinks and snacks. Canoes and pedalos were also available free of charge and extra charges made for all other motor sports.

I probably wouldn't return to this hotel again due to its location although there was a free courtesy bus that ran into town in the morning and afternoon/evening. If you just want a chill out holiday then this hotel is fine but would suggest it is more geared up for couples rather than families. Entertainment was very limited but that didn't bother us.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Fleetway

Poole
11 years 11 months ago
Hotel was Kept clean although washing the floors in reception at 4.30 in the afternoon may be considered hazadous.

Accomodation was spacious with sea views. Air conditioning was one small unit in the main room. Nothing in the second bedroom.

Minibar was stock every 2 days but 1.5litres of bottled water was not enough for 3 people for 2 days.We had to buy extra water in the supermarket.

Hotel general maintenance was starting to show its age. Poorly fitting doors.

Food was well cooked but lacked imagination similar food each day. Food hygine was good dishes were being replaced regularly even if not empty.

Hotel is on the side of a Hill so may not suit elderly or unfit people. We were unlucky and got a room at the top of the hill and the paths were paved with shiny ceramic tiles. These were dangerous to walk down so had to walk in the road.

Staff were very friendly and helpfull.

The entertainment was sadly lacking There were a few games arranged on the beach during the day. The evening show was in an area by the indoor swimming pool which could only hold 50/60 people. The entertainment was in German and aimed at their humour. We only went to the show once and walked out after 10 mins. It was very base. There was no drive from the entertainment staff to get you go to the show.

Overall this was not a 4Star Plus hotel. If you want sit in the Sun By the pool or beach all day and drink in the Bar at night then it is OK. If you expect Entertainment then you may be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Mrs M Mould
11 years 11 months ago
We had a fantastic holiday. The hotel is really clean. They seem to be constantly cleaning up. We loved the food, but we love all kinds of food, fish, meat salads, sauces. I think this is hotel is more suited to adults and if you have children the Norida or the Family Village would suit you better.

I love the beach it shelves very quickly so young children would need to be watched, but snorkling is great and lots of fish come to feed if you take a piece of bread in with you. We have stayed at the Norida before but there were more children there which is why we chose the Summer Palace.

The only problem with the hotel is some of the people who visit it and leave rubbish about and have no regard for others but you get them everywhere you go.I would definately go back again. Can anyone tell me where in the UK (if they minused off the flight cost) they can go all inclusive, with sunshine for the price we paid, I doubt it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar leisure

Recommended
Simon Foster
12 years ago
The hotel had just opened for the season and we were some of the first people to arrive, the staff could not do enough for you, very polite and courteous.
The hotel staff were walking around all day mopping and cleaning, our room as cleaned and made every day of our stay.
We did not visit the entertainment so should not comment.
This is not suitable for wheelchairs or people who can't manahe steps so go and book some where else.
We used the facilities in the sister hotel in Kos town for free and the Norida beach hotel too.
Our experience has been excellent.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar leisure

Recommended
Rachel Roberts
12 years 10 months ago
We visited the Summer Palace Hotel in July this year and have never been so disappionted in a hotel.

The Hotel and Bedrooms were very clean. The Large Salt Water Pool was dirty with black greesy residue around the side, the vents in the bottom of the pool had slats missing out of them, and one day very soon their is going to be a serious accident or loss of life when somebody gets there foot stuck in it, we would not let our children in it, the same goes for the indoor pool, which had the same problem with broken slats, missing mosaic tiles, and the lights from inside the pool regually floating around on their electrical wires.

The food was just o.k but was visited by lots of flies so was very off putting, Our son spent the last 5 days of the holiday with sickness and the runs and the first 2 days back home as well, which either was contracted from the dirty pool or the snacks which were Ham and Cheese Sandwiches these were left out in the heat on a tray from morning until night the only other snack available was Hot dogs.

When were arrived at the hotel you could get any alcaholic drink from any of the bars, this was with drawn on day 5, and only beer (which must not be alcholic drinks in Kos !!) and soft drinks where available at pool bar and beach bar, If you wanted anything else you had to go to the main bar in the hotel reception.

The entertainment was very poor with the animation team trying to sell you raffle and bingo tickets every night, there is not any room in this hotel for evening entertainment everybody squashed into a small hot room under the reception area. The Hotel Reception Staff are very rude and very unhelpful.

When we booked our holiday we were told that we could use the facilities of The Norida Beach, on arrival we were told that we had to Pay 5E per person per day to use the hotel. The Italian Resturant was o.k the first 2 times we booked in (you do this the day before) but the menu is the same lunch and evening and after day 5 men could have a beer but ladies its soft drinks only, waiter made pass at me and when it was made clear to him that I had no interest the service was rubbish after that anyway, we ate out in a couple of nice resturants in Kardamena, but were forced to stay in when our son became very ill.

The Rep was absolutley rubbish and never followed up any complaints in fact after she promised to look into the various complaints we never saw her again at all !!. We saw her at the welcome meeting so she could try and sell the trips !.

The Chinese Resturant at the Norida Beach is very nice we ate a good meal in there after we found a Norida Beach wrist band in one of the pools, again book the day before. The night club Da Boom was enjoyed by our son until he became very ill.

The cable car down to the beach broke down on a regular basis so beware if you are on the beach and it breaks !! even when working there are still a lot of steps down to water. If you should have a complaint and ask to see the manager he was never available and the reception staff suddenly were unable to speak English.

We have stayed in 5 Star Hotels in Greece, Turkey and Spain before and have never been unhappy, we wanted to come home. We did not hear one good word about this hotel from any other visitor. DONT GO ! Its a 2 star at best.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sun Star Leisure

Emily
12 years 10 months ago
A nightmare. Never book with sunstar again. No help at all.

Everyone was a liar, the rep, the staff.

We called sunstar in the uk from kos everything they told us was a lie. We had saved for this holiday all year and it was a joke!

When we got back (70)hours late! And contacted sunstar they said we wear the only ones who had complained (a liar) we contacted every one who was out there with us as we took there details and found they had the same letter as us.

The hotel is no 5* more 2 star (dont go).
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum