Image of Kalimera Kos Hotel

Kalimera Kos Hotel

20 of 30 hotels in Kardamena

3 out of 5 from 9 reviews
Kardamaina, Kardamena 85302, Greece

9 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Cuthill
13 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Kalimera Kos Hotel, Kardemena for 2 weeks - arriving in the middle of the night. First impressions were very favourable, comparing with what we'd seen during the short bus transfer from the airport. The reception area bore this out.

The night receptionist wasn't too helpful - spoke little English, but we did manage to obtain the air conditioning & TV controls.

The room was ok but very little storage space. AC operated satisfactorily. A couple of power-cuts during out stay - appears fairly common. Maid service daily - except Sunday (although toilet bins were empied then also, thankfully).

Daylight inspection of the hotel and pool were very favourable indeed. We've no complaints at all here. Pool area well maintained and surrounded by fairly mature plants/trees. Fairly relaxed. Poolside furniture good - and most days there was enough to go around.

Pool bar was satisfactory - snack offering minimal - toasties & chips plus ice-creams for the kids. Beer there better than in the main bar in the evenings.

Restaurant food was very acceptable although could be repetitive. No complaints.

Staffing was of an acceptable standard throughout. Special mention to the bar staff who were kept busy most of the time.

The hotel is one of a group of three hotels - the Akti and the Kalimera Mare. We were allowed to use the facilities at the Akti. The dinner-food offering was better there but overall we're glad we were staying at the Kalimera Kos - smaller, more relaxed/comfortable.

The beach is fairly course-to-stoney. Sea very clear though and warm. Beach & watersports centre only a short walk from hotel, past Akti.

We didn't take in any of the entertainment offered. We didn't like the theatre setting - felt it'd be a cauldron in there. From what we heard however it wasn't our cup of tea at all - Black Lace type stuff on one occasion.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Kosmar

Recommended
Stewart Roe
13 years 7 months ago
We arrived at 10.00pm and everything was shut except the bar. Hadn't eaten since the plane and all we could get was a small bag of crisps for 1.5 euro's each! We were given a key to our room from a very unhelpful receptionist, who we found out was new, and told our room was turn left and second right. When we opened the door we found 3 x 3inch flying cockroach type insects and 2 big grasshoppers in the rooms. Consequently we had the two kids in our room for the rest of the holiday!

Having said this things did improve. The food was very nice but repetetive. The staff very helpful and attentive. The pool was lovely. The rooms were basic but fairly good.

The entertainment was non existent and was all at the sister hotel down insect alley. That was busy and had long queues for drinks etc.So the choice was have a drink and talk or play cards at the Kalimera or cheap and cheerful entertainment with a thirst at the akti.However the kids thoroughly enjoyed themselves and made many friends which was the main thing.

The place did look at bit rundown and in need of a bit of maintenance. There is a complimentary minbus into Kardemena plus a regular bus service. Cost 6.5 euros for a taxi either way.

Would I go again? No, but I certainly do not regret going. Its a nice cheap holiday and a week is long enough.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar leisure

Julie And Dave Warden
14 years 2 months ago
My husband and I arrived at 5.30 am after having to wait for the Midland flight to arrive. When we checked in the night porter Ali gave us a large cold bottle of water to take to our room. We found it a shock as no bell boys to take our luggage as we normally travel Asia and Africa and they are fighting to take your bags.

We made it to the room had a quick sleep and then travelled round the hotel. The rep meeting at 10.30am the next morning was a bit silly but the hotel and the staff were exceptional. Spiros worked in the hotel bar on his own and he definitely worked up a sweat. Lyke the restaurant manager was a delight he was very friendly and helpful. We like to get to know the people as well as the country that we visit the only downside is the people who do AI in i.e. the Caribbean seem to think it should be the same in Greece, they realized it did not.

We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and would definitely go back again and think it should be rated as 4 star again as the food was wonderful it was just the beer that was a bit of a let down but the rum and ouzo made up for it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar

Recommended
Alan Falshaw
14 years 2 months ago
The hotel was a bit out of the way but not too far.

Nice pool area, didn't use - always swim in the sea anyway.

There is a walk down to the beach, not too far about 5 mins. It is a bit shingly but does not spoil your enjoyment.

The hotel is clean and tidy, not much entertainment wise, go along to the Atki if that is what you want. It
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct

14 years 3 months ago
Visited this hotel first two weeks in September.

Arrived at lunch time and were assisted by friendly and attentive staff.

Our room was clean and tidy and more than adequate for our use.

The hotel was very clean throughout and all the staff were very good.

We considered the food to be very good with a wide choice.

The bar service was better at the Atki but never had a problem getting served and never had to queue more than a couple of minutes. (I thought the queue system was good, if I was fourth at the bar I would be fourth to be served). My only complaint was the small beer glasses.

The hotel is situated some distance away from the town, it was a 40 minute walk along the coast road or 90 cents on the frequent public bus. A taxi back late at night was about 7 Euros.

We did not get very involved with the evening entertainment but what we did see was not to our taste.

The pool and surrounding areas were not very busy with plenty of sun beds.

The beach is a good five minute flat walk and the sand is very coarse, good because is doesn't blow about but you can't make great sandcastles. There were plenty of sun beds and shades.

The biggest problem we found was that it was very hard to leave the resort on your own using public transport, there were plenty of organised day trips but if you wanted to go alone it was almost impossible.

Would we go again? Would we recommend it? This is very subjective, we didn't pay very much, and we wanted to avoid children so went in September. We like hotels on the outskirts of resorts. We enjoyed our holiday and if it was available at the right price would go again but would take an extra book to read, and would hire a car.

If you want a chill out holiday and are not seeking thrills and five star treatment, or a resort that offers numerous bars and clubs, then you could enjoy it here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Jane
14 years 4 months ago
We arrived 330 in the morning and where greated by the charming and very popolar night porter. Our rooms were cleam and comfortable but basic. The patio area was fantastic for chilling after an evening out or at the bar.

All inclusive breakfast starts at 7.30 and goes on until 10. I set my alarm for 9 every morning and always found pleanty leaft to eat by then (though the scrambled eggs had seem better days by then).

The pool was just lovely, very pretty with lots of palm trees and a great veiw of the mountains. The pool bar offered ice cold beers dodgy wine and a selection of soft drinks (the coke even tasted like real coke and the kids loved the kids coctails) The day time snacks were toasted sandwiches, chips, pizza (no veggie) or cakes which my kids loved. There was icecream available free all day too.

Evening meals at the Kos were tasty and had plenty of veggie food for thoses who prefer not to eat meat. The Atki next door had a wider selection in general but less veggie, though if you go to the pizza bar they will make you up a whole veggie pizza to order for yourself (be warned its very big so dont snack out on anything else first).

The majority of entertainment took place at the Atki. The animation team are Italian and very load and squeaky but, by staying at the Kos you can avaid then if its not your cup of tea (several people described the Atki as Butlins on drugs)We went to the Mini Disco mosty nights for the kids though.

Free watersport are limited to to wind most days We never got to go on anything but didnt try that hard.

We loved our holiday and wished we had stayed 2 weeks. we will definatley be going back next year, very relaxing and always managed to get the spot by the pool we wanted.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Travel Bargins

Recommended
Denise Wigley
14 years 4 months ago
We arrived in the afternoon and the hotel was very busy. The staff at the reception were unhelpful, they gave us the keys to 2 rooms. The receptionist pointed us in the direction of our rooms and left us to struggle with our luggage. After a long journey my partner and the children were tired and we had to lug our bags up stairs to find the rooms.

One of the rooms only had one bed in which was not enough, the room was also above the kitchens with a panoramic view of the dustbins. When checking the bathroom we found it to be occupied by cockroaches.

The second room was okay but it was not next to our other room and this had a view of a concrete wall. On complaining we were able to move the next day (again we had to move our luggage)

We had 2 nice rooms next to each other although my room stank of damp, I could not locate the smell.During the night I could hear dripping and the next morning the room was swimming in water. I realised that the air conditioning machine was the culprit.

Off I marched to the ever non smiling receptionist, who told me she would get someone to fix it. By the evening when we went back to shower the water was still flooding out so I went to reception. It was a Friday so nobody could come now until Monday, and I couldn't have another room. Monday came and went still no plumber.

I was promised that a plumber was coming on Tuesday to put a new air condition machine in the room. The plumber did come (well actually he is also the electrician, the pool man and sits in the shop smoking best part of the day) with a hammer and other tools but no new air condition machine.

Back to reception, I asked for another room. I was offered the room upstairs. I went up and checked it and agreed.
Off we go with the bags (again!)

Food was very average.

Pool was definately not cleaned daily despite what they say!

The Atki club had more choice of food etc. but it reminded us of a trip to Butlins!

Entertainment! What entertainment? Take a pack of cards!

We would absolutely not return ever!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Marina
14 years 5 months ago
Stayed here peak time July, mossie and wasps were a real pain, my son got stung.

Pool area was clean so was the rest of the hotel. Your room was very basic and dark, air-con a plus point.

Took repellant for the room to clear flying insects, because I read other reports "thanks".

Food was plain but edible, drinks were poor, lager and pop may have been waterd down. Nighttime one bar staff on, and once there was a greek singer. Nothing else but you can go next door if there is room, they tried hard.

You have to take a taxi or bus to the town we did a few times to get out. We hired quad bikes to see kos this was great you can cover a lot of land in a day. Waterpark was small but we had a good day. Beach was shingley and you could not go out far.

Kos is nice but not this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstar

Kate Lennon
14 years 6 months ago
We arrived at our hotel at 3.30am. On entering our room, we found that the room smelt of stale smoke, the floors hadnt been cleaned, and we found that our bedding was covered in feaces. The staff did change our room for us the following day, although we had to wait until after lunch. The hotel pool was very pretty but is was so busy we ended walking 40mins to a lovely quiet pool. The snack bar was very poor.The toasted sandwiches were left out all day and were dried and curly as you like. Dinner was very limited, we found that what was on the menue for the Akti (sister hotel next door) we would have for our lunch menu the following day. The entertained team were Italian very friendly but very loud and annoying after a while. If you wanted enterainment you had to go to the Akti next door, although this was very limited.
We booked a trip with Sunstar (Lazy day boat trip 3o euros each), we were really looking forward to topping up the tan and visiting some lovely beaches. The morning of our trip "Daniel" our rep, came to inform us that the weather was bad on the other side of the island, and that our trip had to be cancelled. He offered us another trip, again a lazy day boat trip but to our side of the island, we decided that we would make most of it. We were told the coach would pick us up and take us the port a kardamema to where the boat would leave. We got on the coach, it took us on the hour trip to Kos Town, we were packed onto the boat like sardines. Hardly any room to lay down relax and get a few rays!! Our first stop was to a beach thathad thermal springs. The boat stopped and we were all told we had to swim to go and visit this. I am not a strong swimmer and there was no way i would of made this swim. They never offerd a small boat to take those who couldnt swim it to shore, i ended up staying on the boat while my friends swam. The rep then told us we were gping to a really lovely beach and would be stopping for lunch there as well. When we approached this beach, we realised it was infact the beach of our hotel, the very one that Kalemeria/Akti hotel used. We were not happy. We told the rep that this was our hotel that we were going to, she laughed and found the whole thing very ammusing, as did the rest of the tourists on the boat. We decided to get our things and complain. Our complaint was noted but all we were offered was 4 euros refund each. My advise would be to book trips locally in town (much cheaper). The resort is a haven for mosqetos so ny advise would be to come prepared, we were lucky but so many wernt. Kardamena is a lovely resort, great for nightlife. The waterparl in Kos is a little dissapointing, only a very small waterpark with only five slides and two pools.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunstar

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum