Image of Lindos Mare Hotel

Lindos Mare Hotel

3 of 17 hotels in Lindos

4 out of 5 from 15 reviews
4 stars
Lindos, 85107, Greece
The recently refurbished Lindos Mare is an attractive, unusually designed hotel built on many different levels into a steep hillside offering stunning views over Vlicha bay. Guests will enjoy the stylish accommodation, excellent service.

15 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 9 months ago
fantasic views ,rooms vey modern and high standard.spotlessly clean, the freindly staff are amazing and very attentive. huge swimming pool and smaller second pool near private beach . food was great and very varied .very quiet location with nearest hotel across the bay. would recommend car but Lindos centre short taxi ride away . one of the best hotels we have stayed in . only thing was the drinks in the hotel were very expensive but to be expected in a hotel of this high spec. great hotel and great staff ,would change nothing and will return again soon .
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first chioce

Recommended
Claire & Brett Holden
8 years 9 months ago
We got married at St. Pauls Chapel on 14/05/09 and stayed at the Lindos Mare for the duration of our trip. I can honestly say that we have never stayed at a hotel were the staff made us feel so special, the restaurant staff made a effort to speak to us at every meal that we went to, they remembered the language that we spoke (there was also German and French people staying in the hotel), and the morning after the wedding brought us a champagne breakfast in bed. The rooms were cleaned every day and we got fresh towels and linen. The views are absolutely stunning, and from what i gather every room has a sea view. The main pool area is supberb and the small pool is nice and quiet and the beach is very private.
When we arrived back at the room after our wedding we had a fruit bowl, a bucket of champagne and petals scattered around which we didnt expect at all as we didnt get married or have the reception there. All in all i would recommend this hotel to absolutely everybody (apart from anybody with walking difficulties as there are a lot of steps), we cannot wait to return to the hotel next year for our 1st wedding anniversary.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Lee Sanderson
9 years 6 months ago
My partner and i were married at St Pauls Chapel Lindos 0n 14/08/08 and stayed at this hotel. Overall it is a very good hotel, excellent staff, good food and nice location. The wedding reception on the veranda was a treat with all our 19 guest in total amazement with the location, views etc. A trulely memorable day. Efi and Ellen (wedding co-ordinators) were lovely and pulled out all the stops. Michaelis (restaurant manager) was a great guy who allowed himself and his staff to engage with customers and get involved with the entertainment, which was very good. If you are thinking of going to this hotel you will not be dissapointed however dont stay if you are on a budget. Drinks are extremely expensive such as
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
This was our first holiday since our honeymoon 20 years ago without the kids in tow. The hotel is set into the cliff and looks out over the bay with extremely attractive views. From the moment you enter the lobby you are extremely well looked after.

We had a room which was quite large and spacious on the garden level overlooking the bay and the accommodation was superb including aircon, TV fridge etc though i have to admit why there is an electric roller blind over the internal bathroom window mystified me. The standards of cleanliness were second to none and they laundry service excellent.

The pool area is maintained to a suitably high standard of cleanliness with plenty of sun loungers although a lot of towels seemed to be on holiday when we were there because they sat on the sun beds all day without a body on top of them.

Food in the restaurant is excellent and varied the staff are extremely courteous, i recommend the Greek nights every Tuesday they alternate weeks between traditional and seafood if you are half board there is an 11-12 euro supplement.

Entertainment varies from good (Beatles, supremes tribute band ,Greek nights to poor drifters tribute band wish they had drifted off and all levels in between)if you decide to visit the island without tour guides hire a car from the hotel they are reasonably priced.

As has already been said in other reviews the 2 bars are well managed by Stavros at the pool bar and Nico's upstairs in the veghina bar. If you wish to visit lindos you can either get a bus from the main road or book a taxi it costs 7 euro to get one to collect you but only 5 for the return journey.

Don't walk in as walking on the main road uphill with temperatures of 48 centigrade make you realise you are insane.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Libra

Recommended
Chris And Tom Simmons
10 years 9 months ago
Lindos Mare (pronounced Marry) was kept very clean, with maids doing your room daily. Fresh towels and sheets every other day. They can be there early so if you want a lie in put out "do not disturb sign".

Food excellent, even veggies catered for to a degree. Dining room can get hot and noisy so pick times to go in. Michael, the maitre de, excellent. Remembers your name and seems to work 24 hours a day. He even sang me happy birthday in five languages. All the staff very helpful and friendly.

Entertainment was a Greek night and twice weekly "artistes" of varying degrees of competance. Otherwise two bars, the pool bar managed by Stavros and upper bar by Nicos, both very friendly and chatty.

Lindos, a short taxi ride away is packed during the day with trippers. At night the shops stay open until about 10. Plenty of bars and restaurants and everybody friendly and welcoming. In the two weeks we were there saw no troubles of any kind. Lots of wedding parties though, seems to be a bride conveyor belt! Never chatted to so many people on holiday before!

Pool is situated near the bar and the constant music can get you down so pick beds further away. Usually beds available but can get busy at times. Beach is nearby but is very scruffy and unkempt. Beds available at a charge. Bit of a hike to get there and back but bar and restaurant nearby.

Hotel drinks are more expensive than beach side and in Lindos and you can run up quite a bill in an evening. You are also charged extra if you want to join in the Greek evening which is a bit of a cheek. Cannot overstate how friendly staff are, especially Pia who seems to work everywhere, she is very helpful.

Would go back to this hotel but feel there is much more of Greece and other islands to explore.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Philip & Lesley
11 years 7 months ago
My husband and I returned on July 26th from two weeks in Rhodes spent at the Lindos Mare hotel.

This is an exceptional hotel which certainly lives up to its four-star rating. The hotel is built into the side of a cliff reaching down to the beach. Reception is on the top floor and everything else below this. Consequently there are many steps around the hotel but there are lifts and a funicular railway to take you to the top. There are seventy-four steps to the beach and no other way down but they are quite gradual and shaded by trees all the way.

The views from all parts of the hotel over Vlicha Bay are breathtaking to say the least. The pool area also has this view and keeps the sun until it sets. The pool is very big and surrounded by decking where the sunbeds are but the bed-grabbers were up very early with their towels so the only time we could use the sunbeds was late afternoon. This suited us because we hired a car and were out and about most of the time. We even saw some towels on the beds at 1.00 a.m. ready for the next day!

The hotel is extremely clean and comfortable. We had a junior suite which was on the ground floor. This meant we had a patio area which led on to an immaculately-kept lawn and gardens and a marvellous view over the bay. The air-conditioning was very effective and easy to control and not loud enough to keep us awake. The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.

We celebrated a wedding anniversary while we were there and returned to our room on that day to find rose petals scattered over the bed, a bottle of champagne on ice, a basket of fruit and a card from the management. The meals were the best we
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Manos

Recommended
Louise Whyte
11 years 8 months ago
We had looked at the hotel many times before we booked it, as we were a bit concerned about it being child friendly and the location, what a amazing surprise this hotel turned out to be.

When you walk in the door you now that it is going to be special. First of all the staff, so friendly and very welcoming. nothing is to much trouble for these people, we have stayed in 5 star hotels before and not had a fraction of the service that we recieved at the lindos mare.

We had booked a junior suite, but we upgraded again to the full suite, it was 40euros per night, but the viewa were to die for , the balcony huge , and the extra room was great if you have kids.

We were on half board, breakfast was very good, dinner was all good but we do get a little fed up of the buffet, so we used to upgraded to the a l carte, which was fabby. under the stars, excellent food amazing service.we also used to change or dinner for the lunch voucher which is great value and i would recommend it highly, michelas the marti d was born to to the job, and ames to please.

Location was great 7 euros in a taxi to Lindos, 5 euros back. Lindos is out of this world and many great resturants, dont go until after 7, till all the daytrippers go.

The hotel entertaintment was fine. Low key.
If I had one small moan it would be about the amout of weddings they have.

I would definately go to this hotel again in fact we are booking as I type this, many people return
its a five star hotel hiden in a four star. Go!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: manos

Recommended
12 years 4 months ago
What can I say about this hotel, Fantastic.

Just returned from our 2 week stay and already wishing we were back there.

We loved everything about this hotel the food is really good with lots of choice, something to suit every taste.

Our room was a nice size and cleaned every day and the view from our balcony was amazing.

All of the staff were very helpful at all times and really couldn't do enough for us.

The hotel is a short taxi ride from Lindos centre or a 20 min walk if you are brave enough as there are no foot paths along the way.

The beach is at the foot of the hotel which can be reached by using the lifts.

I used the spa a few times and again everything was excellent apart from the wedding make up it was quite expensive at 100 euros and I did have to take the eye make up off when I returned to my room as it was bright green, not really my colour!

The pool was quite chilly but still managed a swim and there were always sun loungers available.

The entertainment was on every other night and was quite enjoyable.

One thing between about 5 /7.30pm our water was quite cold when having a shower. But apart from that we had a great time and are looking forward to our return.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Julie Davey
12 years 8 months ago
Hotel Lindos Mare - out of this world!

Our room was always clean to the highest standard.

The food there was a choice of main meal or buffet sytle or both if you had enough room. There was something for everyone. Lovely views from restuarant.

The staff were so friendly after a couple of days they call you by first name and nothing ..nothing is too much trouble for them.

We would definitely go back to this hotel the staff made you feel so welcome.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Donna Woollard
12 years 8 months ago
We stayed at this hotel for my husband's 50th birthday and what a good choice it was.

We had a fantastic sea view from our room. There is a lift down to the beach as it is quite a walk. When you first arrive you can get lost as there are several staircases and lifts to the rooms. Look for the swallow nests dotted around the hotel.

The dining room manager seemed to remember all our names and greeted us every evening, The food was fine, lots of choices and a good wine list.

Both bars looked out over the beautiful bay and there was a fenicular carriage from the reception area to the next floor down which was fun.

There is a comprehensive spa, I had a facial which was great.

We did not notice alot of entertainment, just one Greek night, perhaps we were too early in the season at the beginning of June. However a short taxi to Lindos made up for that with all of it's shops, bars and rooftop restaurants, wonderful at night.

My husband tried to avoid the staff during the day on his birthday but he got caught with a cake and a rendition of "Happy Birthday".

We were given a taxi to and from the airport with Olympic.
I am unable to fault this hotel, we just wished that we had stayed longer than one week.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
No 1 Specialist Travel Agency in Lindos with a fantastic selection of apartments, hotels, traditional houses and luxury villas with pools
Holiday Truths Forum