Image of Mitsis Lindos Memories Hotel

Mitsis Lindos Memories Hotel

4 of 17 hotels in Lindos

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
5 stars
Pros Pefkous, Lindos 85107, Greec

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Andrew
Not worthy of the 5* rating it boasts - very disappointing!
5 years 6 months ago
Understandably, if you got married at this hotel, then you would be looking at things from a different perspective, however, as recent guests we don’t share the views of the majority and cannot understand how the hotel got its 5 star rating or its 2012 Luxury award from Trip Advisor.

The hotel is spotless - the cleaners do an absolutely first class job and the extra towel change after the evening showers was very welcome. Cannot fault their tireless efforts - superb (preventing the smell of pee from the wild cats which inhabit the grounds, must keep them on their toes!)

The setting is a peaceful location and the suite we stayed in was private with a full sea view and we enjoyed watching some glorious sun rise/sunsets from the balcony.

Bar one very rude individual, the hard working team of staff were all very friendly, smiley faced and helpful.

Greek Night, well organised and fun. A lot more effort was put into the food choice and preparation which was very enjoyable and tasty.

Unfortunately there are bad points too - the main one being that the hotel holds regular weddings events and in such a small venue (70 rooms in all) there was no way you could escape the fact that there was a wedding taking place. Of our 12 night stay, there were 5 weddings in total. 1 on the day we arrived - playing loud music until around midnight. 1 the following night which when we complained, were told they had been asked to turn the music down 3 times, another 1 four nights later, a Greek local wedding for 230 guests - a huge noisy affair which went on until nearly 2am with the pool area and taverna being closed from 2pm. 5 nights later another one took place, which to be fair was a much quieter affair, and finally the fifth on the day we left.

Our suite was situated at the front about a hundred yards or so away from the Taverna where the wedding receptions were held and we experienced quite a few sleepless nights due to the celebrations and dancing etc. Having chosen Lindos Memories based on the reviews of people who had been there, prior to our arrival we felt confident we had chosen a quiet peaceful holiday location and were extremely upset to witness the hotel management encourage this extra source of income to the detriment of the guests who are literally expected to put up and shut up. Despite complaining, we declined the offer of another suite further away from the front 5 days after we arrived, basically because neither the view nor the room compared satisfactorily to the one we were in.
The alternative overlooked a tall electricity pylon sticking out to the left, rock face straight ahead and a side view glimpse of the sea whilst being overlooked on both sides by neighbouring balconies - it was totally unacceptable to expect us to endure an unsuitable alternative room when the hotel had created the situation in the first place and under the guise that they were trying to help us but we wouldn’t let them!

The evening entertainment (on the nights there were no weddings) was a lone entertainer who religiously set up his speakers and equipment to perform outside the restaurant ...which just happened to be below our balcony, playing the same CD, The Look of Love - Diana Krall, at the same time each night followed by strumming along to recorded backing music, not even playing his guitar for much of the time, singing the same old songs badly, until finally it went quiet at around 10.30pm-10.45pm. Ugh!

Compared to similar holidays we've had in other parts of the world, including a third world country, Kenya, the food on offer was definitely disappointing for the majority of the time. The restaurant manager is lovely as are all of his staff and always tried very hard to please asking for feedback on why we had not eaten our meals and offering an alternative but at the end of the day we were hard pressed to find anything that was appetising or to our liking (we were on holiday and didn’t expect to have to put up with lukewarm bland dishes of food - either that or nothing as no alternative restaurant available.

In the evenings, the only alternative was to go into Lindos and eat). For B&B guests, supplement for an evening meal was an additional €25pp however on HB, if you swapped your dinner for lunch in the Taverna (closes at 6pm), you were only given a supplement of €12.50 pp towards your meal. Work that one out! Food at Taverna very poor and expensive.

We requested an iron and were told that they were all being used. We asked again the next day and were told the laundry could iron our clothes at a price! We asked to be put on a waiting list for one and waited 6 days before the holiday rep intervened. Having kept our clothes in the suitcases for several days (because of the promise of being moved to a different room) we were told at the end of the holiday that the hotel does not keep irons and that the staff bring them in for guest use??? If that’s not a health and safety issue I don’t know what is! Appalling, a 5* wedding venue that apparently doesn’t offer the basic facility of an iron!

Walk into reception and the waft of very strong air freshener greets you, it STINKS! So strong, like a anti-tobacco type you can buy for car interiors. Hardly necessary unless it IS to cover up the smell of tobacco and cat pee.

From what we gathered, the mini shop next to the restaurant isn’t linked to the hotel directly although it is controlled over prices. The staff are friendly and helpful but its definitely worth a trip into Lindos to stock up with drinks and water, crisps etc so much cheaper and much more choice.

If you check out the Memories official website the accommodation details and photos deceiving - do they have a law about advertising misrepresentation in Greece? Flat screen TV? CD Player? Air conditioning (units, not vented air con) blah di blah....

Speaking to a couple who return there year after year, they confirmed the hotel had gone down and they'd seen a change of 3 different Hotel Managers and 3 different Restaurant Managers since they first started holidaying there but it obviously suited them. Whilst there used to be champagne and smoked salmon at breakfast it had now disappeared and the choices were now more limited. (The morning after the huge wedding there WAS champagne available for the guests, more than likely left over bottles and offered as a pacifier).

Moan over! Most importantly, we feel duty bound to warn prospective guests who would prefer to make an informed choice BEFORE they book their holiday rather than getting there and having to find out the hard way, that weddings happen on a very regular basis. Had we been notified of this fact prior to booking or when making our enquiry, we would definitely have gone elsewhere and will be pursuing this matter further.

Dictionary definitions of Luxury - Lavishness, Comfort, Sumptuousness, Opulence, Magnificence, Extravagance, Indulgence.... Lindos Memories is none of these.

We won’t be going back or recommending it to anyone - The Aqua Grand next door looks a much better option. In our opinion, the only 5* feature about Lindos Memories was the very extortionate prices - it didn’t live up to our expectations in any way.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Appleby Family
7 years 8 months ago
stayed at lindos memories in june 2010. stunning location pools immaculate.staff great.not a lot for children to do.would return to morrow
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: co op travel

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
oh my goodness what can i say? WOW!! we have just come back from our wedding and honeymoon at lindos memories.
we married on the beach on 15th may 08, it was out of this world.!!
from the second we arrived we were treated like royalty. Apostoles and his staff are second to none, the friendliness is like none other that iv ever experienced.They all made us feel so special, we were on first name terms with everyone and it was obvious that they adored thier jobs, nothing was too much trouble.

our wedding planners,lindosweddings recommended the hotel as they are the main wedding planners for memories, when karen described it though i had no idea it would be so amazing!
the room was fabulous, we had a double deluxe room with the best view iv ever seen. we could smell the sea!

and on our wedding evening the manager (apostoles) and the restaurant manager (george)kindly set us a table next to the sea, they decorated it with candles and we ate with the waves lapping at our feetand greek music in the background. this was free of charge, apostoles did it from the kindness of his heart.
then when we went back to the room it was decorated with petals and candles.

the fact that the hotel, is right on its own private beach is such a bonus. although the pool is so beautiful that we stayed there mostly.
the only music you hear on poolside (or anywhere for that matter) is lovely relaxing greek melodies, and its quiet enough that you can just switch off and really relax.
the hotel is mainly made up of couples, but had a few small families there also.
the whole ambience is so quiet and rlaxed, but not at all stuffy, it is very down to earth whilst still being luxurious.
you MUST try the chocolate souffle in the restaurant and the frappe from george in the bar. and most definately a chefs salad from the beach restaurant.

ooh and the sunbeds are lovely too, and beach towells are supplied.

i actually cried when we left our room. i took a last look at the view and welled up, i really didnt want to leave this happy, friendly paradise. we will definately go back, ..... maybe for our anniversary, and sunbathe on the spot we married on...bliss!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
9 years 9 months ago
oh my goodness what can i say? WOW!! we have just come back from our wedding and honeymoon at lindos memories.
we married on the beach on 15th may 08, it was out of this world.!!
from the second we arrived we were treated like royalty. Apostoles and his staff are second to none, the friendliness is like none other that iv ever experienced.They all made us feel so special, we were on first name terms with everyone and it was obvious that they adored thier jobs, nothing was too much trouble.

our wedding planners,lindosweddings recommended the hotel as they are the main wedding planners for memories, when karen described it though i had no idea it would be so amazing!
the room was fabulous, we had a double deluxe room with the best view iv ever seen. we could smell the sea!

and on our wedding evening the manager (apostoles) and the restaurant manager (george)kindly set us a table next to the sea, they decorated it with candles and we ate with the waves lapping at our feetand greek music in the background. this was free of charge, apostoles did it from the kindness of his heart.
then when we went back to the room it was decorated with petals and candles.

the fact that the hotel, is right on its own private beach is such a bonus. although the pool is so beautiful that we stayed there mostly.
the only music you hear on poolside (or anywhere for that matter) is lovely relaxing greek melodies, and its quiet enough that you can just switch off and really relax.
the hotel is mainly made up of couples, but had a few small families there also.
the whole ambience is so quiet and rlaxed, but not at all stuffy, it is very down to earth whilst still being luxurious.
you MUST try the chocolate souffle in the restaurant and the frappe from george in the bar. and most definately a chefs salad from the beach restaurant.

ooh and the sunbeds are lovely too, and beach towells are supplied.

i actually cried when we left our room. i took a last look at the view and welled up, i really didnt want to leave this happy, friendly paradise. we will definately go back, ..... maybe for our anniversary, and sunbathe on the spot we married on...bliss!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Marjorie Canning
10 years 7 months ago
Have just returned following our fourth visit to Memories and it just gets better. We are remembered in reception, by the manager and the waiting staff.

Whenever we have been there the rooms look as if they have just been redecorated and are squeeky clean.

The beach is clean, as is the sea. we love it and would highly recommend this hotel providing you do not want noise, entertainment other than Greek Night and piano accompaniement to your dinner.

There is a small keep fit room which always has a supply of clean towels, a games room in the basement and that is all. It is perfect for chilling out from the stresses of life.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Hotels4U

Recommended
Sandra
12 years 5 months ago
Wonderful!!!!
My husband and I have stayed in this hotel twice now and decided to get married there in Sep 2005 (we have been back since).

I understand why people comment on the entertainment as there is only a Greek night once a week and Costa
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: planet holidays

Recommended
Steve
12 years 6 months ago
In August 2005 we spent our holidays at the Lindos Memories. Here our feedback:

- Very quite location far from any crowded town
- Beautiful sea
- Nice and equipped beach (free sunbeds)
- Kind staff working at the hotel
- Cleanness of the rooms
- Not a too big hotel, all is close and reachable

It is a nice structure, deserves the 4 stars
classification.
Breakfast is nice but it is not outstanding and is a bit repetitive.

We would suggest to get bed and breakfast board and to get dinners at the nice Lindos where it is possible to try several different good restaurants.

Lindos could be reached in a few minutes by bus or using taxis (5/7 euros each way).

We would be very happy to come back again.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: -

Recommended
Sam
13 years 4 months ago
Absolutely fabulous!

My friend and I were originally booked into the Rodos Village but due to monumentous errors from the travel company we were put in this hotel the first night. We were given the chance to go back to our original booking but we were too impressed with this quiet little hotel.

The hotel and rooms were impressively clean, the food was fantastic (although we only had the 5 course menu one night!!), the location was idyllic and quiet, the staff were great and there was no entertainment to drive us to distraction.

I would definitely go back, although the rooms are 5* price to go to directly.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Can't remember

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
No 1 Specialist Travel Agency in Lindos with a fantastic selection of apartments, hotels, traditional houses and luxury villas with pools
Holiday Truths Forum