Image of Captains Commodore & Admiral Complex Aparthotel

Captains Commodore & Admiral Complex Aparthotel

12 of 13 hotels in Argassi

3 out of 5 from 29 reviews
3 stars
Argassi 29100, Greece
Situated on a fairly steep hill with great views of Argassi, the bay and Zante Town, this is a friendly complex in an excellent location with a good range of facilities. Most of these facilities are shared and located at the neighbouring Captain's Hotel.

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    11
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    1

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Edwards
8 years 8 months ago
Tiny room with all beds squashed together, and tiny shower! Food was very good. Beautiful views. Cats everywhere!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Co-op

Nightshade
8 years 9 months ago
This hotel is not as bad as other reviewers make out. It was cleaned every day (when we were out the room) but it was a bit sporadic. Sometimes they actually made our beds sometimes they didn't. It is small and basic but that is reflected in the price. It had everything you needed and the kitchen area was ok and everything worked. Location was good as it's not far from bars/shops/rentals.
My only warning is that a lot of Polish do go there and they like to stay up late. Hence bring ear plugs if you want to sleep!
Did not use the AC as it wasn't necessary but it would cost extra.
Ideal if you just want a cheap place to sleep for the night.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Friend

Recommended
Faz,trish,webby,sue,eddy,vanda,mathew,tommy,ann.
8 years 10 months ago
do not go all inclusive at this hotel,we read the reveiws and thought people were moaning about nothing,but its true the food is dissgracefull,everything seemed to taste as though it had been pickled.

also it was more or less the same food every day breakfast,lunch,dinner.
if you have children there is nothing for them no burgers,hotdogs,chicken nuggets etc,even the snack bar burgers were basicly meat in a roll.

the bread was sweet and the butter awfull,so you couldnt make a sandwich etc,the only thing edible in he morning was fried eggs and beens.

at lunch/dinner the only thing edible was chips the rest was either bland or pickled.

we ended up eating out every day and night.

the entertainment was (polish) there was an english singer on twice in two weeks,even the childrens entertainment (which was a kiddies drawing session) was done by a polish rep,who couldnt speek english.

the pool table needed a token (one euro fifty) it had two balls missing plus no white ball,and the only cue had no tip on it,the bar football also had to be paid for,"so not really all inclusive was it" also the bars outside were cheaper for pool/bar football etc.

the captains had no entertainment at all you had to walk down to the admiral for your polish entertainment, if you wanted to stay in the captains for a drink there would probably be more staff than customers it was empty of a night time.
the staff on the snack bar didnt like serving you snacks for some reason they were grumpy and generally looked unhappy,we basicly ended up on a self catering holiday,we coudnt wait to get away from the hotel.

we have never complained about a hotel before but this place was a disgrace there were 9 of us ranging in age from ten to 67.if you are thinking of booking DONT if you have already booked bring extra money for eating and drinking out..
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: sunstart

Alan & Liz
9 years 9 months ago
The Captain's Commodore complex leaves a lot to be desired. We had to ask for a change of room as the first one was filthy and overrun with ants even in the beds. The staff were the most unfriendly bunch we have ever come across, the only decent guy was the English barman and even he was saving for a ticket to get out.
We went half board and the food was ok if you like potatoes, cabbage, stew, potatoes, cabbage, stew sometimes pie or flan made with, you guessed it potatoes and cabbage definately catering for the
Eastern Europeans who fill this hotel. Not once in our two week stay did we get a clean table at breakfast or dinner, even when the dining areas were quiet no staff cleared tables they all just sat at the bar, you were always met with filthy, stained tablecloths from the previous diners, so we would bundle up the left over potatoes and cabbage in the tablecloth and leave it on the floor, prefering to use the bare table which was slightly cleaner. Breakfast was the usual continental fare, or you could opt for some of the previous evenings potatoes and cabbage.
Don't get me wrong, we are not snobs or prudes and have been visiting Greece for nearly 30 years and are well used to basic Greece, but this place is beyond basic and is downright dog rough.
I can honestly say, this was the first time ever we were actually looking forward to the end of our stay, a week would have even been too long.
However on the plus side Zante is a beautiful wee island and it is really rewarding if you hire a vehicle for a few days of your stay, there are plenty of boat trips to be had as well.
Argassi itself is fairly quiet, a lot of places have shut down and the locals blame the influx of Eastern Europeans who spend nothing during their stay, one local business woman told us they come by bus and ferry which means they come loaded with their own booze and food, probably suitcases full of potatoes and cabbage which does nothing for the local economy.
So overrall our holiday was just ok and was blighted by the poorest standard of accomodation and staff you could ever encounter, oh by the way, did I mention the potatoes and cabbage.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Olympic

S Rodgers
10 years 8 months ago
nice place but not alot to do entertainment was rubbish some very nice staff some not so nice some very thick.romms are freezing cooker very slow swimming pool freezing for my first time their i was not impressed thanks for my first horrible holiday abroad .their were alot of nice people on holiday who said they would not go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomis cook

Jess
10 years 10 months ago
Myself and 4 female friends, stayed at the Commodore from 2-9 August 2007. We loved it here.

The hotel was clean, and the maids came into the room every day to change sheets, give us clean towels and empty the bins. On a couple of occassions we asked for extra towels and the staff had no problems doing this.

The pool was quite small, but big enough, and was never too crowded. Always managed to get ourselves a sunbed each, whatever time in the day we went to the pool.

We didn't eat in the hotel, as we were self catering.

The location was brilliant, the hill wasn't as steep as expected but it would cause problems for elderly and disabled people.

The staff were lovely (especially Cody and Mr Bean) - all very friendly and happily provided us with extra towels and clean sheets if we asked for them. Hayley the Rep was really lovely too.

There was no entertainment in the Commodore, but there was regular entertainment in the Admiral hotel.

Me and my friends would definitely return to the Commodore hotel!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Amy
10 years 10 months ago
I think the hotel commodore was brilliant, it was very clean the maids came every day and as we went half board we ate our dinner at the captains. The food is delicious and they do chips, chicken english stuff so that everyone has something they like. We didn't eat anywhere else because the food was so lovely. It is located at the top of a small hill not difficult getting up it at all so no problems there. Not much entertainment but who cares the whole of argassi is entertianment enough! anyway cody will get you a drink n play some tunes hehe. Ive been twice now and so definately going back again hopefully next year!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Beckett
10 years 11 months ago
we had a studio which was fairly basic but clean.The hotel was clean with fantastic views.location ok but not suitable for those with walking difficulties.The pool was not very clean and areas around the sunbeds were not swept and washed properly to my liking.we used the admiral next door which was really nice.At night the fire exit door was being used by people and doors were banged til 5am was very noisy and annoying.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: sunset

Alsop
11 years ago
The Captain's Hotel is situated on a hill but is accessible through the grounds of the Commodore, one of its sister hotels. We were self catering - the room was quite small and the kitchen area tiny. However, we didn't pay very much for the holiday at all so I think we were given one of the smaller rooms. I had a look in other rooms and they were much more spacious. However, the accommodation was perfectly acceptable. The pool area is clean with plenty of sunbeds, no one reserved beds - there was usually a large pile which weren't needed. Although we were self catering, we ate in the hotel once; eight euros for an adult - the food was excellent - plenty of choice and hot. Guests can use facilities at the sister hotels - Commodore and Captain's.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Gelder
11 years 9 months ago
Just returned from the Commodore.

Rooms are very very clean we had no creepy crawleys whatsoever.

Maids were lovely. Pool very clean my son spent hours and hours and hours in there!!!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum