Image of Zakantha Beach Hotel

Zakantha Beach Hotel

10 of 13 hotels in Argassi

4 out of 5 from 8 reviews
4 stars
Argassi, Argassi 29100, Greece

8 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
M Hopkins
9 years 10 months ago
The hotel was well kept our rooms were cleaned daily and towels also. Many of the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good on the back of the hotel as i think they had the best part of the beach. The room we had was to the front of the hotel in respect of general street noise (resturants,bars and cafes) it is fine but with the noise of the traffic it does become very annoying.We would consider going back to this hotel some time in the future but we would be requesting a side or sea view.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Mrs L Hunt
10 years 9 months ago
we have just returned from one weeks stay at this hotel with friends.

The hotel clealiness was pretty good with sheets and towels changed daily.The air con was blowing out warm so we found it cooler to keep the screen doors closed curtians open.Rife with mosqitoes so we suggest you buy room and body sprays as we did.

Sadly the breakfasts were awful there were only two staff serving coffee and tea with the same two clearing away the dirty dishes, so the wait for coffee was guite a while!

The food its self was bad the fryed eggs were like rubber and hard,the scrambled eggs was normaly in one solid lump which is where you had the joy of slicing off a piece and the bacon was barely cooked, and the coissants were burnt, the odd time would not mind but most mornings i think not!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and always greeted us with a smileas did the cleaners.

The pool area is very small and with a bare minimum of sunbeds and this is where as early as 7.30am in the morning guests would put towels out to save a sunbed,even though the pool was not open untill 10.00am and clearly stated not to put towels on the sunbeds to reserve them. No these were not guests from other countries it was mainly the british and sadly who could blame them if you went down on the beach you would have to pay
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Kerr
12 years 9 months ago
Nice well kept hotel - not 4 star though. Staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
12 years 10 months ago
When we arrived our sea view room was not available (paid extra for)and the staff made it clear it could not be chnged. We later found out it was the main Greek holiday season and they got all the sea view rooms. The hotel also changed the breakfasting times for the Greek's convenience. Because they like a lie in, they would still be allowed to breakfast an hour after the closing time. This also applied to the sun loungers around the pool. Complaints by the Greeks promted a notice to be put up stating if you left a towel on a bed before 10am it would be removed, again because they like a lie in. The hotel had over 200 guests but only had 30 sun loungers. The air con (if you can call it that) was only available between 11pm-5am and 3pm-8pm. The bar prices we found were the most expensive in the resort, a small frit juice was 2.5 euro's.
This is not a four star hotel, the web site just shows the hall and lobby off in a good light. The rooms are small and the beds are like concrete. If you were prepared to pay an extra 40 euro,s, you could have the use of an old warm fridge plus there was only one plug point in the room.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas cook

Andy Rae
12 years 11 months ago
Very clean an well situated hotel, family run so there
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: libra

Recommended
Claire Wilkinson
13 years ago
The hotel itself is very clean, lovely views of the sea and very helpful friendly staff.

Breakfast was nice, buffet style, kids loved it, you could fill your plates!

Very relaxing in the day, lovely gardens to relax in overlooking the sea. If the hotel was in a nice resort, we would return.

Housekeeping staff were very efficient, bar staff were great (Monica was great with the kids and had plenty of holiday tips) Reception staff were very helpful and always smiling.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Direct Holidays

Rachel
14 years ago
I absolutely loved this hotel, great location, excellent staff shame about the person I was there with (ex boyfriend)! Monica was great she made everyone feel relaxed and welcome at the bar, I made some great friends there.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Olympic

Recommended
N Pay
15 years 11 months ago
The reception and lower floors were very plush and the rooms were reasonable. However, our 1st room of the week was on the front of the hotel, and after no sleep whatsoever due to the huge amount of traffic running down the main Argassi road all night immediately below our balcony, and, coupled with the fact that it was roasting in the room but the air con wasn't running (only runs between August and some other month I can't remember, or if the temp exceeds a certain temp.!

Brochure stated air con available), we asked to move. They said there was nothing available, and things got so bad we actually kipped in the foyer which was cooler.

The staff wouldn't lend us a fan although reception had one which wasn't being used. We suffered another night and then were moved to a side room still facing Argassi, so the noise was still fairly bad until 3am, but the traffic noise was a little more bearable.

The bin men come around about 3am to empty all the bar skips of their bottles ! Nice !

The pool was ok but a bit busy.

The beach was compact & bijou and not all that appealling, but again, it did. There is a small bar / restauarant by the beach which serves basic meals and was quite functional.

Overall, don't expect too much. Definitely not one if you want a quite holiday.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Can't remember

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum