Image of Windmill Studios & Apartments

Windmill Studios & Apartments

6 of 13 hotels in Argassi

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Argassi 29100, Greece
Located in a secluded area, just 220 metres from a narrow sand and shingle beach, these studios are set in attractive grounds and are ideal for anyone preferring a peaceful location, with easy access to the sea and resort amenities.

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    5
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Mick
Best holiday ever!
7 years 11 months ago
We travelled as two families, one with two girls aged 21 and 18 and the other with a 17 year old girl. We were allocated three adjoining apartments at the studios so the girls had their own room.

The studios and apartments are a family run concern in an ideal position, up a small hill within walking distance of the resort centre, so no need to use taxis. The studios were very good. The cooking facilities were basic, but to be fair who goes on holiday to cook? The apartments were comfortable, cleaned daily and were ideal for what we needed, which was a place to sleep. Air con was available for an extra charge but is a must.

The pool bar was excellent, the food good quality and reasonably priced, Helen and Julian the bar staff are stars (Julian is fully aware of his star status). We ended up eating breakfast and lunch there every day. The Greek night was fun and excellent value for money. The swimming pool was brilliant and there were always enough sunbeds. The reception staff were extremely helpful and the owners were usually on-site.


All in all we agreed this was the best holiday we have had as a group and will definitely be going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Vince Barden
8 years 9 months ago
just a few words about our holiday coming back to zante for the second time after being to tsilivi 3 years ago i was a bit apprehensive because i had a fantastic time before but i had nothing to fear. the hotel was very clean, the rooms were basic but you have a kettle and a fridge which is all you really need to keep your beers and drinks cold and to have tea or coffee, it had two rings for cooking but i was not going to sit in the room all day, so when people moan about the cooking facilities get a life and get out and about. the room was cleaned every day no problems there, the balcony was strange so far as it did not have a separation but if anything what we nad other guests experienced that it was more relaxed and you spoke to your neighbours was you wasn"t in your little castle. the pool was great really clean and staff were friendly especially sue the receptionist, and would definitely come back had a great time
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Thomsons
8 years 10 months ago
the hotel and reception were very clean as was our room the kitchen facilities were not very good but only used kettle the greek night was well worth the 12 euros good plate of food and wine the food at the snack bar was really good for breakfast and evening meals got a lovely steak for 6.5 euros the staff were all very friendly would love to go back in the future legends along the road was very nice as well
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Elizabeth Murphy
We feel like family now!
9 years ago
We have been going to the Windmill for the last 20 years we take our Grandsons with us. Unfortunately last year we could not go as I have not been well. It is a family run hotel and you could not get any better family to be around we have watched the children grow up from children to Adult's and Jenny and Denis and the rest of his family including his mum have been great friend's to us we are in touch every year.

I hope to be well enough to go back this year as it broke my heart not to be there last year. As Jenny keep's me up to date with the change's they have made to the hotel.

I would not go anywhere else as you are made so welcome by the Family And Staff that they have had for many year's .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Anne Ross
9 years 9 months ago
We are just back from our first holiday in Windmill. We had a fantastic time and couldn't fault it in any way, location perfect with easy walking to all bars, shops and beach, but far enough away for peace and quiet at night.

The apartment was basic, but was only used for sleeping and relaxing at the end of the day. Maid service excellent room was always fresh and clean when we returned in the evenings.

We would certainly return to Windmill as it fulfilled all of our expectations and more besides.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Gaynor Loveday
9 years 11 months ago
The Windmill Apartments in Argassi.

This is the 5th time we have stayed there and find everyone so welcoming, its home from home. In fact we came home on Thursday 12 June 2008 and booked staight away for the same week in 2009.
The apartments are situated close to all amenities and cleaned regularly.

Thankyou all very much for a fantastic holiday and see you next year!!

Thanks again
Gaynor and Mike Loveday
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Chris & Nicki
10 years ago
Had a fantastic week in early May.

6 of us travelled and were allocated adjacent rooms on the ground floor which was fantastic.

Staff very friendly and always happy.

Studios basic but clean. Only a place to sleep at the end of the day! Don't be expecting to cook yourself, self catering facilities basic but masses of restaurants close by.

Pool area fantastic; sun from morning until dusk.

We really enjoyed it and are returning in October. Brilliant value for money.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Teresa
10 years ago
A nice hotel we had a lovely stay there, just a small walk from some lovely eating places we had a fantastic view of the sea , will def go back , a word of advice dont by any food in the airport 20 euros for 2 coffees and 2 miserable rolls
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: panarama

Recommended
Bill Richardson
11 years 10 months ago
7 Days S/C 29 - 27th July.

This is a husband & wife owned and run hotel at the Eastern end of Argassi set back from the main road with a wooded backdrop. It has an average size pool which was very clean but appeared to have no filtration system, ample sunbeds plus you can hire sunbed mattresses for 1.5e per day. The pool is nicely situated in front of the hotel and enjoys maximum sunshine, there are chalets alongside and a pool bar at the rear.

The hotel and chalets are well decorated and our room was cleaned every day with fresh linen / towels every other day, a good bathroom and shower although the hot water tended to run out at peak time between 5 & 7. The room has a 14in TV with sky news / BBC 24 and an assortment of local channels.

Various entertainment was on at the pool bar, Greek Night, Karaoke/ Quiz / BBQ etc, the usual stuff.

The pool bar also has a very good selection of snacks and meals at very reasonable prices plus a wide range of drinks (try the fresh squeezed orange juice), a large screen TV sits behind the bar.

The staff are very cheery and competent in both the hotel and pool bar and the owners are always on hand should you have a query or complaint.

The main building itself has a pool table and a large rear projection TV situated in a quiet lounge and secure safe boxes should you require one at 17 euros per week.

Now the downside, the hotel has no lift but help seemed to be at hand for getting the cases upstairs, whereas on arrival the luggage is collected from the coach and taken up to the hotel this service seems to disappear when you are leaving.

The pool bar can be noisy until very late and this may be a problem to folk in the chalets who like to retire early, the double glazed patio door does close off a lot of the noise but makes to room intolerably hot.

For those self catering the facilities are sparse, two electric hot rings, no oven, no microwave, no bench space just a draining board, a sandwich maker is provided along with electric kettle and fridge with small freezer compartment, the cutlery and crockery are at the bare minimum.

One very important point and please note :- if you have both rear and front patio door / room door open the door is liable to close on you and as it is a "Yale" type lock you are in effect "locked out" this happened to one of our party and we were told there was no pass or spare key and a locksmith would have to be called, who would pay for this I do not know but fortunately I was able to scale onto the balcony and enter the open patio door although no one enquired as to how I gained access.

Having said this the staff deserve the praise and the owners are fortunate in this respect, given this hotels location etc I would not hesitate to stay here again in this typical Greek billet.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
Caroline
11 years 11 months ago
Arrived in Zante to a broken case, so bad we had to buy a new one out there.The reps response was buy some tape! We had a studio overlooking the pool,no table and chairs and just about the most sparce kitchen ever.

The apartment itself was grubby, dust on the lampshades etc and when I pulled the bed out to make it there was thick fluff dead bugs etc.

We pointed this out to the daily cleaners but they just wet mopped the floors. Also we had to clean out the insides of the drawers before we could put anything away.

Pool bar staff were lovely especially the girl that did breakfast, and what a bargain joghurt fresh fruit and honey for 2.5 euros delicious.

The rep seemed only interested in selling excursions and dont let her con you into pre booked seats we paid 15 euros for nothing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum