Image of Bella Vista Hotel

Bella Vista Hotel

10 of 12 hotels in Qawra

3 out of 5 from 23 reviews
4 stars
Il- Qawra, QAWRA, SAN PAWL IL-BAHAR SPB 1908, Malta

23 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    2
  • Very Good
    8
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Chris
Bella Vista Malta
10 months ago
Had a really good time at the hotel.

I felt apprehensive before I went because of complaints. but the staff treated me really well. it was my first holiday in ten years. the only issue I had was with the room they allocated me. I had asked for a balcony. they had it sorted within minutes. I had a top floor balcony with a beautiful view of Malta's countryside.

I was out all day travelling the island which they helped me with also. room cleaned every day, hot water. English and Mediterranean menu, they even made me a packed lunch every day. good location. the hotel was full by the way had a really friendly atmosphere, the weather was good. I didn't want to leave for the money it's exceptional value.

I would definitely go back. Some people have to complain. not me I loved it. beautiful island beautiful people.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cheeky trip

Recommended
Mrs Cooper
very clean
4 years 1 month ago
The biggest plus is the cleanliness of rooms. Food choice very limited but very good. Evening entertainment good. Now for bad news. We requested two quiet rooms. The first room had a diesel generator right outsite and fumes were awful. Second room had constantly dripping tap in hand basin and shower didnt work. We stayed 10 days and they never got around to fixing any problems. The manager is as good as useless and very rude. It has turned us off of visiting Malta again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: low cost holidays

Hotel tip: Avoid at all costs

Excellent value for money
4 years 6 months ago
From the very mixed reviews we read on this hotel, we had, to say the least a few concerns. 24 hours after arrival, we asked for a meeting with the manager, and sat down with him to discuss our problems, none!!

I think most people’s problems with the hotel come from a basic lack of research, or knowledge as to how hotel stars are awarded in different countries. The Bella Vista IS a 4 star hotel under the Maltese Tourism Authority’s rating system; where it to be located in the UK, it would, under our rating system, be a 3 star. Now that I’ve said all that, on to the hotel: the staff were all extremely efficient and helpful; the room we had (425) was a fair size, with lots of storage space. The beds were a tad low for my liking, but others may feel differently. Housekeeping was efficient and thorough, no complaints there. The pool is small, and the pool area is nicely shaded in 35 degree heat, but the sun deck on the roof allows unrestricted access to sunshine at all times.

Food is always something that divides opinion sharply, and even in our 2 weeks, we heard varying opinions from excellent to poor, and all shades in between. From our point of view, we’ve had better, and we’ve had worse. Breakfast was the usual mix of hot and cold selection, with proper sausages every day, and bacon every other day, along with beans, eggs in various incarnations, and again fried bread, all available alongside bread, butter, jam, cheese, cold meats (usually 2), tea, coffee & 4 fruit juices from a machine. Lunch was a varying salad selection, pasta, 2 hot meat selections, veg & potatoes, while dinner had a soup (different every day), quite a large salad/cold meat selection, a pasta dish, a fish dish, 2 hot meat dishes, vegetables, and 2 potato dishes (in 2 weeks we saw chips twice, but we didn’t eat in at every meal). On top of all this, the snack bar had some lovely offerings, such as toasted sandwiches, salads, burgers, chips and cakes. All served from 10 until 3, with cakes available until 4.

The evening entertainment was simple, mainly 70’s songs and a few older numbers, with karaoke twice a week “please note that there was no bingo“a great big plus for us, but the opposite for others. I felt sorry for all the entertainers while we were there, as the first stages of the World Cup were on, and there were screens everywhere, so their audiences were less than would normally have been the case, I’m sure; that said, it did mean you didn’t have to miss a game, with different matches on different screens when there were clashes.

As I said to the manager, this is a hotel that clearly knows its core market, and delivers to that market very well indeed, as its high number of repeat visitor’s shows. It may not suit everyone, but in all honesty, you will be hard pushed to find better value for money in northern Malta. Personally, I have no complaints, and would happily return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunshine.co.uk

Hotel tip: Ask for a country view.

Recommended
Lisa Geldhof
Excellent value for money
4 years 11 months ago
Not long returned from a week at this hotel. It is a great place and excellent value for money. It really whizzes me off when Brits whinge and over the years I have had to suffer some really pathetic stupid gripes from people who just need to get a life. You complaining idiots do more to ruin the foreign perception of the British than drunken England football fans could ever do.

Hotel is fine, food is varied and perfectly edible, always a soup each evening with a choice of 2 meats and a fish dish with different vegetables. There was not always a meat I liked but thats not the Hotels fault.

We often chose a snack from the cafe bar at dinner times rather than the restaurant ( we went all inclusive ) and the home made chips were simply lovely.

Stay here and have a nice holiday. But if you are a serial complainer why not stay home and save yourself some money and stop the normal people out there suffering your depressive and aggravating comments. Stay in the UK, probably pay more that a holiday in Malta, and be about 5 degrees colder......then complain. At least you wont be aggravating me. Some residents were staying here for several months of the year and come back year after year.....what does that tell you ???

Thank you Bella Vista, thats two good holidays I have now had with you.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Sunsave

Recommended
Brian & Jean
Hotel isn't good enough to be 4 star
6 years 9 months ago
Ok where to start? This hotel holds a 4 star Malta Tourist Board Certificate. We had been warned that Malta gradings were to say the least optimistic, so we went expecting 3 star and were not disappointed.

Housekeeping - staff worked hard and all areas appeared clean. In our room towels were changed daily and bedding twice a week.

Food - nothing to set the world alight. Well prepared and presented but boring with the same dishes appearing several times a week.

Location - Qawra. 15 mins walk into Bibbiga once you know the back way. I heard a couple of locals refer to this area as the Beirut of Malta and it is a bit run down.

Staff - housekeeping excellent, reception excellent, waiting staff some could do with professional customer care training.

The hotel itself is in need of a bit of work (broken electrical fittings, peeling paint outside) and they have also gone down the Eco lighting path the wrong way by concentrating on LED replacement bulbs which do not shed enough light. Reception is like the black hole of Calcutta away from the windows - halogen lighting would have been better.

Entertainment - 7 nights (we did not partake).

So what lets it down from being a 4 star?:

No tea/coffee facilities in rooms, charges for mini fridge, charges for wi-fi, restaurant not big enough as queues every night, not a big enough selection of food, decor and furniture dated, dark and cramped in public areas.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Joe Beet
Wouldn't go again
7 years ago
Bella Vista Qawra. Not a 4 star in any way, 2 star if that. Location and photo's in various magazines from travel agents misleading. They also want a 50 euro deposit on arrival this was not mentioned in any of the paperwork on booking.

Very poor food and little choice not 4 star standard had a lot better food from the takeaways on the street.

Outdoor pool small and only get sun light until about 1.00 o'clock. Very poor lighting in guest areas. As we only went on half board we found the drinks in the hotel expensive I think 1.20 euro for a small cup of instant coffee a bit much. The bar was always under manned so getting a drink was slow.

All in all not much to recommend it, wouldn’t go to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Jennifer
Do not go here
7 years 2 months ago
We had booked all inclusive for this hotel, only to be told we were very limited to what we could have when we arrived, snacks at night you had to pay for, as well as some drinks.

The hotel was very dirty and dated, about 40yrs behind the times. The bedding wasn't changed the whole week that we were staying in the so called 4 star hotel, more like a one star. The sheets had holes in, the mattress was a cheap one and was hard and uncomfortable.

The food was very bland and boring. We woke up every morning after 3am to barking dogs. We called it fawlty towers, everybody at the hotel had a complaint. Definitely would not recommend this hotel,
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Worst hotel and not a 4*
7 years 8 months ago
In over 25 years of travelling around the Med this place is without doubt the worst supposed '4 star' hotel we have ever been too.

It’s situated on a busy road and looks like a throw back from the 60s. On one side your view is an open overgrown field, on the other the 'pool view' is a 20 foot wall to keep you inside. We actually nicknamed this Hotel 'Colditz',but the joke stopped there as we paid around £400 by Thomas Cook who told us this was a 4 star property. NEVER.

The food was awful, often luke warm and we actually lived on toast and soup for 14 days. Yes it was that bad. The staff tried but more often than not they couldn’t wait to clean your table whilst you were still sat at the table!

The entertainment was naff and almost non-existent, and the Hotel is situated at least a 20 min walk away from rocky beaches, yuck!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Manners
Smoking, smelly room
7 years 11 months ago
There was no welcome at hotel. We dragged our suitcases through swing doors and up a staircase to reception. The receptionist was surly and unhelpful.

One of only 2 lifts was broken. The room was dirty, smelt of nicotine, the walls were dirty and there was ash everywhere and mould on all bathroom walls. We refused the room as I suffer from asthma. The house keeper panicked when we asked to go to another hotel and she found us a 'clean room'. I suggested that all their rooms should have been clean. At least the second room had newly dry cleaned curtains and bedcovers.

Only recommended for smokers.

Watch out Malta is not fully in EU re smoking regs.!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Val & Rob
8 years 6 months ago
The hotel is actually based on the outskirts of Qawra..a good 15-20 minutes walk from any of the shops or from any other civilisation! It is also not in any way anywhere remotely near a 4* hotel..or even the 3* that Thomas Cook rate it at.

Admittedly, we did not pay alot for this holiday, but even so, I was still majorly disappointed. We were stunned when we got to the hotel, on a busy main road and so far away from the sea that it is a 3 day donkey trek and first impressions were that it was shabby.
There were 10 other couples dropped off with us..and you could see the same expression of horror on all faces. There are no lifts or ramps for ease of access and people struggled to get heay cases up the flight of stairs from the entrance foyer to the actual reception desk. Upon checkin in, we were told that no rooms would be available until after 2pm and that we would all have to wait. We arrived at 11.30am and were all tired and in need of at least a drink. I decided to go to the loo and was mortified to walk in and discover that there was used female sanitary wear just thrown on the floor in the corner next to an overflowing bin..and I dont just mean one item..I mean several items as well as used toilet paper.

After this, we tried to contact the rep and request an immediate transfer to another hotel. Nowt could be sorted that day and eventually we were allocated our room shortly after 2pm.

We were on the 2nd floor..and there are 2 lifts to take you..but the corridors are poorly lit and we discovered that our room was pretty basic. Ok, I can cope with twin beds as we just pushed them together..but they were childrens beds..the sort you have extra in your family room. The air con did not work and we found that it was 21E to hire the safe, 5E to get a remote control for a very old telly with a very poor picture and 11E if we wanted to keep anything chilled in the fridge. The fridge even had a lock on it! There were no tea or coffee facilities in the room. The shower curtain was ripped.

The food was very limited..I really struggled to find anything at all to eat..which is not like me. There was a choice of meat, fish, boiled potato and then a distinct lack of vegetables..you could have soup and bread and there was a salad bar..but the choice was lettuce, tomato, cucumber, beetroot and cold meats or hard boiled egg. The desert selection was jelly, cake or cheese and crackers..one cheese, one type of crackers. There was also quarted oranges every night. I had been there 3 days before i noticed that all the best deserts were kept back at the coffee bar to be SOLD to customers. You were not even allowed a glass of water with your meal unless you bought a bottle at an extortionate price. breakfast choice was also limited...beans, sausage or fried egg..toast, a choice of 2 cereals..and the only fruit was cored apples quartered that were brown. This is the first hotel I have ever been to where no fruit or veg was readily available.

The staff-well the best girl was the receptionist Nadya..but the majority couldnt give a toss. I guess they were so used to people complaining and trying to leave. The maid came every day except Sunday and cleaned to room well. The towels were changed regularly..but they were tatty anyway and smelt of TCP!

I think in general, this hotel has alot of hidden charges and wants to extract as much money as possible out of you for as little effort as possible. It was so bad we ate out alot and we even went over to Gozo and stayed the night there as a means of escape. there were other people who came home after only 1 week and accept losing the rest of their money rather than stay for 2. Every day, there was a queue of people complaining. We just decided to go out every day.

if you are able bodied, go out the hotel, turn right and follow the road until you get to a tunnel..follow that and it brings you out the back. Turn left, then right and walk straight on down "Tourist Street" and you will find the bus station and a load of restaurants and bars and tat shops. It is about 15-20 mins. The hotel will book you a taxi but the guy will charge 10e..but it is only just over a mile...so dont pay it!

The hotel has a small pool in a courtyard which is under utilised..but that means there are always sun beds available! There is also a rooftop terrace with a jacuzzi, a pool table and a bar..and it has 3 vintage cars on show. There are a couple of computers for internet access..2euro charge and a small shop to buy chocolate and tat etc..

Basically, you get what you pay for, so I didnt expect luxury..and we put up with almost anything rather than bleat about it..but even so, I was very disappointed and feel this hotel lets down the reputation of Thomas Cook. The rep Michaela did a marvellous job, as did some of the staff..but the place needs a serious amount of money spent on it, the staff need to be happy in thier work and standards need to be drastically improved. I would not stay there again and I would not recommend it to anyone.



Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum