Image of Palm Court Hotel

Palm Court Hotel

11 of 12 hotels in Qawra

3 out of 5 from 163 reviews
Qawra, Malta

163 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    15
  • Very Good
    31
  • Good
    49
  • Average
    33
  • Poor
    35

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Carol Richards
Awful
11 years 7 months ago
We arrived early hours and was left hanging around as the receptionist could not cope with the level of arrivals, no drinks was prepared, we were all very tired and just wanted to get to our rooms.

When we got our room (through discussing corridors with ripped carpet and very stained) the room smelt terrible and the bathroom was dirty with pubic hair left in the shower.
We returned to the reception a demanded a better room as did many.

The food was a complete joke. I warn you not to go there we never will and I would rather go without if that was the last place on earth. Oh nearly forgot the indoor pool water was so green you could not see the bottom. Chance it if you will.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Edward Bussey
11 years 8 months ago
The all inclusive offer is the worst I have ever had, lunch in particular we were only offered a choice of three meals (sometimes only two) No salads No desserts No tea only coffee. Presentation poor most unappetising
No entertainment.
Cleanliness Dirty stained carpets in the corridors, smelly. Rooms cleaned daily to a basic standard towels changed daily if left in bath but we had to have a mattress and pillow changed as they smelt.
We got the impression that very few of the staff were concerned about the guests some were surly and customer care is obviously not a priority at this hotel.
The location of the hotel is reasonable but dont believe for one minute that it is 150 metre from a beach, from the sea front yes but you have to go further to find a rocky beach But snorkelling and swimming is good here. If you want a sandy beach you need to take a bus to Melliah Bay about 20 minutes and 1euro 16 cents each cheaper for children.
Pool was not cleaned till guests complained, when we arrived it was green in colour which we thought was normal till it was cleaned and turned blue. (God knows what we were bathing in previously)
I could write more about how bad this hotel is but I don't wish to bore you, if you want confirmation check out other reviews such as those on trip advisor, but don't be conned by those people who say you get what you pay for they may have had cheap deals I paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

C Edington
11 years 9 months ago
The half board status was a waste of time-after trying the 1st breakfast(which you were only allowed a cofee to drink with-any other drink incl. tea had to purchaesd from the bar) I wasnt hopeful about dinner time! We tryed it anyway-was worse than breakfast-& Im not a fussy eater!
The hotel cleanliness was a joke-the corridor smelt of damp & cigarette smoke, the balconys were just big enough to sit on (sideways!), the shower was dirty b4 u got in it and the mattress was well...enough said.
One bright spot was the location-but please do your self a favour and stay elswhere.
The hotel staff were clueless-& even though Malta is a fluent English speaking country-it seemed like we were speaking martian! They seemed unbelievable naive to the state their hotel was in...
Entertainment 0.
Wouldnt stay here if u paid me-& I mean that!
One final reminder-which I was unaware of & a v clever ploy by the hotel-the name of this hotel has been changed from Palm Court to Qawra Inn recently..So be warned!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: malta bargains

Frog
11 years 11 months ago
Nothing wrong with it - as I paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Self

Recommended
Sandra Lynch
12 years 8 months ago
we stayed at the palm court hotel aka 'faulty towers'
must admit we arrived at 2 o'clock in the morning so all we really got was the smell which was diabolical. saying that the male receptonist was not very helpful because we were such a big party my friend and i were not on the list of guests so had a very hairy moment
thinking we may not get a bed for the night.after we were finally allocated a room we ran the gauntlet of the smelly corridors.the room its self was not too bad,mind you shower was no more than a trickle but managed to cope as long as you finished cold which was no hardship.maid came in every day so had clean sheets and towels.the food was not up to much saying that the maltese bread and jam were lovley.the dinners were more or less the same every day,so if you go to this hotel stock up on the toast and jam. the hotel staff i found to be extremly nice especially
the receponist during the day and the bar man.the location of the hotel was only 2 mins away from every thing you may want.the entertainment in the hotel its self was not very good kareoke 1 night ok for the kids and just music playing most nights.i would stay at this hotel again as what we paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta bargins

Recommended
Mike
12 years 8 months ago
Well my recollections and photos form the stay at Palm Court (http://flickr.com/photos/mike_tickle/sets/72157607139739315/) are a world apart form the official photos at http://www.maltabargains.com/vtour/index.htm
Having read a lot of bad things about PC I was relieved to walk in to a clean reception. After getting the keys it all started to go down hill. Our room was hot and damp and the in room safe was out of action. The air conditioning did not work nor did the fan. Breakfast was worse than school dinner cooking, stuck int he basement with slippy floors and again no working air con.
We managed to get rooms swapped for one with air con and a fan which was a releif.
I was not expecting much but this fell short of those low expectations. The accomodation was not up to the standards of bunk room I have stayed in here in the UK.
To top it all off most of the staff are unhelpful, and some are just plain rude. The pool area was smelly and the dinks system is odd. You go to reception to pay for your drink (where there is normally a long queue of people complaining) and then the queue at the bar to get the drink.
Yes it was cheap (but no where near as cheap as the web page suggested) but it was not a place I would go to again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

P Smith
12 years 9 months ago
Our bedroom was very basic but reasonably clean. The linen was clean but sheets/pillowcases were grey. The first towel I had was thin,grey with a small hole.However, the towels were changed if we left the used ones in the shower. The bedlinen changed once during the week.The bathroom was a joke, if you sat on the toilet yor knees touched the pedestall of the sink, thank goodness I am only 4ft.11"The food, particularly the evening meal was reasonable with a choice. What made it so unpleasant in the dining room was that the air conditioning was turned off.I wondered if they do that so that people are in and out in record time!!All in all, the Palm Court hotel needs a major refurbishment.The only saving grace was that the air conditioning in our room, worked.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Thomas
12 years 9 months ago
Right, to start off OH MY HOLY JESUS.

I stayed at the Palm Court Hotel for a week and a half and i only saw a maid twice.

The hotel cleanliness? Well seriously, what cleanliness?! There was black mildew all over the walls, The bed mattresses had no sheets on them, the pillows were absolutely black with filth and wafer thin, the toilet had a leftover surprise in it and on the outside of the seat it was green with mildew. The shower didn't work and when they eventually fixed it the water was never hot, The sink was yellow with lime scale.

After hoping it didn't get any worse, it did...with the food, it was absolutely disgusting and the ''restaurant'' was in fact, worse than a prison canteen. We only ate there once. IT WAS THAT HORRIFIC.
My wife was sick after her dinner of hot dogs and chips, very romantic!

The actual location, wasn't too bad..but still revolting.

The hotel staff were so disrespectful and rude, one of the maids for example asked us for money to pay for some food for her kids, this is NOT acceptable!

I would not recommend this hotel, unless you like living in filth and grime.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

moo
12 years 9 months ago
back to the big pink palace!!! our third stay.

yes, you do get what you pay for and to be honest the hotel does have its faults, but we want to go as cheaply as possible so we have more money to spend on ourselves when we get there, and also the low prices mean we can go a couple of times a year.

We have always found our rooms to be basic, very basic but let me tell you the magic words.... AIR CONDITIONED!!!!!!!! and the week we were there you needed it! and a tv in the room just with sky news, bbc news and channel 4. The rooms were cleaned every day. Never ran out of loo roll. Towels are crap, i take 2 old bath towels every year becuse I like to wrap myself up in a big bath sheet after a shower. Towels changed every day. Beds made every day.

We didn't eat there only because we are really fussy eaters so the food wasn't for us, but if you like anything the choice is ok, my family been and they ate every night with no complaints.

Entertainment not bad, but we don't like to hang around the hotel anyway we prefer to get out and about.

Until something happens to us there and we have a reason not to go we will go back every time. Perhaps we have been lucky or perhaps we have low expectations so we aren't dissapointed.

If your part of the enjoyment for your holiday is luxury and nice surroundings then don't go, but if you want a basic room with a bed and place to hang your clothes then go, and enjoy malta.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta bargains

Recommended
Steve Gregory
12 years 9 months ago
We have stayed at palm court 7 times since 2001 - The flights have been first class - transportation to and from the hotel first class - Yes the hotel needs some attention but you do get what you pay for our 1 week holiday cost us
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta bargins

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.