Image of Venus Aparthotel

Venus Aparthotel

12 of 12 hotels in Qawra

2 out of 5 from 37 reviews
3 stars
Bekkum Street, Qawra SPB 1851, Malta

37 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    11
  • Poor
    10

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Adam
14 years ago
For the money we paid I thought it was brilliant.

My room was clean the beds were tidy and there was plenty of room for my kids.

The location was exellent, central for all the family needs. At the end of the day if I had wanted a 5 star hotel I would have had to shell out 5 star money.

I will definately be taking my family back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta bargins

Recommended
Martin And Jo
14 years 3 months ago
Well as all previous reviews state, this is no 5 star hotel but for the money you pay, it is a great holiday.

The rooms were clean and the beds made daily. Bedding changed once during a weeks stay.

The staff were all friendly and always polite and helpful. Drawbacks?? well the food is not up to much, the evening meal being more edible than breakfast but for the price we paid it still saved us a great deal on eating out for 5 people, going on our last years holiday to cyprus where we needed a second mortgage to eat out every day for us all. The food was served in the busier sister hotel across the road from the Venus, the Palm Court.

The Venus is quieter than the Palm Court which Iappreciated.

The air conditioning in the Venus is almost non existent and the fan is quite noisy but with the temperatre touching into the 40 c, you appreciate every little you can get. Would i go back again? you betcha i would, a superb cheap holiday and as long as you want to have a holiday and not spend one in your hotel room, it is well worth it.

They call the Venus, Fawlty Towers but this is quite affectionate I think.

A disappointing drawback is that the clientele is as you would expect and I was ashamed to see many people sneaking food out of the dining room, rolls and cheese and with greater dissapointment I even watched an older couple get several small glasses of the orange juice for breakfast and pour it into 2 small drinks bottles, spilling most of it on the table in the process. How cheap can you get? it's not like a bottle of drink costs the earth and for heavens sake, the drink was revolting syrup that no sane person would want to pilfer in the first place.

Entertainment of sorts was laid on in the Palm Court every evening but unless your into Bingo and quizzes, forget it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: British Jet

Recommended
Christine
14 years 10 months ago
We booked late and went with an open mind, but my goodness we were in for a shock. One word, disgusting.

The room was smelly and damp, bathroom was dirty and the window held in with newspaper. The matress' and pillows, were stained. We saw the rep on the 2nd day and told her about the state of the room, she said it would be sorted out. Nothing happened. We were on the 4th floor, the lift broke, and was out of action for over a day.

The food was inedible, cold, and the containers it was served from were dirty.

We have stayed in places all across Europe and this has to be the worse by far. After 4 days we were ready to come home early, but we were then offered superior accomodation in another hotel and jumped at the chance.

I know its cheap, and yes you may get what you pay for, but basic hygiene costs nothing and this "hotel" is truely disgusting. Apparantly it has been on "holidays from hell" in its previous name of Reubens Court. Be warned!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Avril
14 years 11 months ago
We stayed here last year, and arrived with some trepidatin having read the reviews AFTER we had booked, but we decided to keep an open mond and decide for ourselves when we got there.

For the price we paid, we had no complaints, we didn't go to sit around the hotel after all, and cheaper accommodation means more spends on sightseeing around the beautiful Island.

We used the sister hotel Palm Court for some meals and entertainment, again with no complaints, so much so that we have just rebooked this year, again in October, this time staying at Palm Court.

We got what we paid for, and getting a 10 day half board holiday wioth all flights and transfers for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Recommended
Wright
15 years ago
Booked the holiday before reading the reviews. Having read the reviews before departure I was very worried and arrived in fighting mode. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The staff were excellent, very, very friendly, even the cleaners said hello and had a smile when passing you in the corridors.

The apartment is quite old with some cracked tiles in the bathroom and broken shower fitting (couldn't use taps andhad to lay shower in bath to run bath)

The sheets were clean, the towels clean, etc. The maids came in daily to empty bins and make beds.

The pool outside had clean water and the maids gave the pool area a quick hose down every morning (floor still looked grubby though and could do with a good steam clean)

The food didnt look appetising but didnt taste too bad. The breakfasts were ok but the evening meal wasn't very well presented (reminded me of prison food - not that I would know!!) chicken and chips on offer every night which was a bonus for my teenagers. The rest of it was sloppy mash, pasta which was fine if you were first in, but mushy after standing for an hour or so, rice or couscous, and curry, stews etc. Tomatoes, cucumbers and lettuce was also on offer every evening. (the tomatoes were delicious. I know realise how much taste we lose with our supermarket food)

However, despite all this, when discussing hotel with our room neighbours, they had a different opinion. I think they had tv that didnt work, slow and limited hot water from tap, bedside lights and telephone that didnt work, stained floors, bath etc. So maybe its dependant on luck.

One last point, beware the introductory meeting with holiday rep at beginning of stay, on leaving the meeting they direct you into the hands of waiting time shark reps, who tried to sell an 87 year old man a time share whilst we were there!! The time share reps are on practically every corner.

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Michelle And Paul
15 years 1 month ago
We spent a week at the Venus and found it to be very acceptable for the price we paid.

No problems with food, bedroom and security.

Weather hot during the day but room cool at night. Lots of good bars and eating places within a few minutes walk.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: malta bargains

Recommended
David
15 years 1 month ago
This hotel was obviously given a 3* rating when it was brand new. Since then it has fallen into a state of disrepair and is, by any standards a very poor, ramshackle, lacklustre hotel. In short it is pretty crappy.

BUT.... Unlike some people on this site seem to want to imply, staying there will not ruin your holiday. Fair enough, if you are the kind of person who wants to go on holiday and spend 7 or 14 days in your apartment complex, relaxing by the pool then this place will be a huge dissapointment, but if you just want a place to go to bed at night and to maybe eat a bit of breakfast at then you are going to get what you pay for and get what you expect.

I found the room OK. Basic, but OK. You are supposed to buy extra towels but if you ask the maids for a handful they will happily give you them. The beds got made and all in all it wasn't a bad place to sleep.

The pool area is, like I said, in a state of disrepair but it isn't bloody hell on Earth like some people make out. There is plaster cracking off the walls, it is small and not at all aesthetically pleasing but laying there isn't going to kill you. It's basic, but what do you expect for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Rozz
15 years 2 months ago
This was probably the worst hotel I have ever had the pleasure to stay in, and that includes backpacking in Asia.

The food was disgusting. You could see the kitchen which didnt look very clean this was located beside the swimming pool which also was filthy, someone had written "clean me" in the scum around the edge.

The room was run down and smelt rotten however much we aired it off. We were lucky that we did not see any cockroaches in our room unlike others. The only blessing was the sheets looked relatively clean and pressed !

The staff admitted that the hotel was run down, but said "what do you expect - its cheap". It was cheap but there is no excuse for filth.

We had our main holiday so we looked at this as just a break, but along with other guests we had a laugh about it ! What else can you do?
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Bargain Holidays

Lance
15 years 2 months ago
Had a open view of the whole holiday as only paid
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargain

Recommended
Redman
15 years 2 months ago
Our Advice Is:

Don't Stay At The Venus Aparthotel!

If You Have No Choice Then Our Advice Is To Lock Everything Away In Your Case Before Going Out Every Day.

If Not Then It Will Get Stolen!!!

We Had Items Of Make Up Stolen From A Zipped Up Make Up Bag After The Maids Had Been In One Day. When We Reported It To The Reception Desk They Were Not Surprised And Said That They Would Pass On The Message To The Manager.

When We Asked The Next Morning At Reception What Had Been Done About It, The Female Receptionist Said "What Do You Want Me To Do About It, It's Not Down To Me"!! We Told Her That We Wanted Her To Report It To Management!

As We Left The Hotel A Cleaning Supervisor Came Running Out After Us And Said That It Could Only Have Been One Girl And That She Would Speak To Her When She Arrived For Work. We Did Not Hear Anymore Before Coming Home The Next Day! When We Asked The Male Receptionist On Our Way Home For The Managers Email Address His Attitude Immediately Became Hostile!!

Do they not realise that by not following up on all of the thefts by the maids that they are making stealing acceptable to them? If they thought they might lose their jobs then they wouldn't do it!

As For The Food, We Arrived Just Before Dinner Finished On The First Day So Went To Get Some. It Didn't Look Very Appetizing But We Tried It Anyway. It Was Ok But We Ate Out For The Rest Of The Week, Only Going Down For Tea And Toast In The Morning.

We Had To Fix Our TV To Get It To Work And Then It Would Flicker For The First 10 Minutes. The Sheets Were Dirty And The Covers Ripped. The Bathroom Was Disgusting! The Towels Were Too Small And Twice We Were Left Without Any And Had To Go And Get Them Ourselves!

We Didn't Even Try The Pool As There Were Hardly Any Sun Loungers (The Whole Pool Area Being Very Small) And Knew That It Wouldn't Be Worth The Hassle Of Trying To Get/Keep Them Each Day!

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Bargains

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.