Image of Dolmen Resort Hotel

Dolmen Resort Hotel

3 of 12 hotels in Qawra

4 out of 5 from 13 reviews
4 stars
Qawra, St.Paul's Bay, SPB 05 Triq Ghawdex, St Paul's Bay, Malta

13 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
14 years ago
hotel clean,location excellent,staff friendly and helpful.entertainment was average,food was the worst we have had and we have stayed in 2star hotels.there are 5 hot trays at evening meals 1 has potatoes,1 has 1 veg 1 has rice and 2 have meat.there is 1 choice of pasta and about 5 or 6 small salad trays.no ice cream,no fresh fruit and we did not see a tomato at breakfast either grilled or tinned it was beans,beans or beans.we ate out after a few nights and we have never done this on holiday before
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: own booking

P Maclean
14 years 2 months ago
We just back from this hotel. We found the staff very helful.

Unlike Spain, the food was always hot, and plentiful. Take as much or as little as you wanted.

We had an inland view, expecting a little noise. However, this was not the case. The hotel was also quite in the night.

The hotel was located right on the sea front, with the main bus terminal behind, great for getting about the island.

Plenty of entertainment provided by the team, on a daily & nightly basis.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Xl.xom

Recommended
Turner
14 years 2 months ago
The suite we stayed in was excellent, 2 bathrooms and plenty of room. Lovely sea views and spotlessly clean. The food was also of a good standard. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Dolmen.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Tracy
14 years 3 months ago
Just got back from Malta. We have not been before and we loved it.

The Dolmen is a fantastic hotel to stop at,the food was great especially the chinese night,we didnt have one bad meal.

The location is spot on fantastic views over the bay. Four pools to sit by, 2 right by the sea. You had easy access if you fancied a dip in the sea which we did most days.

The daytime animation team JP, Mike, Owen and Matt were great there were 4 or 5 things to join in every day adults and kids, but no pressure if you didnt want to.

Our two weeks went to quickly but they were a great two weeks.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody. Hope to go back soon.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Alan Thomas
14 years 3 months ago
As mentioned in 2006 I have returned to this fantastic hotel. My wife and I had a great holiday ( 2 weeks this time ) Saw more of the Island this time using the local transport. Many inprovements since last visit including the beach area opposite the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

Recommended
Alan Thomas
14 years 11 months ago
My wife and I arrived at the Hotel in the early afternoon and were met by friendly reception staff. Our bags were taken to our room on the sixth floor by a friendly porter.

The room was spacious and clean, the view from the balcony was fantastic it included St Pauls Bay and the two islands, all of the hotels outdoor pools and much more.

Located very close to many shops, bars and restaurants.
The bus station is very close,5 minutes walk, and very cheap to go anywhere on the island.

My wife and I are already planing next years holiday here.
The food was very good and lots of it. Both in the main restaurant and the poolside cafe.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Malta Direct

Recommended
R Jackson
15 years 3 months ago
Hotel is in a good position, near the sea and not far from resort centre. It is cleaned regularly and most rooms have decent views. The exception is some of the rear ground floor rooms which have a very high wall, covered in black hessian material a few feet away from the patio door. We were unlucky enough to be allocated one of these rooms on arrival, but the next morning asked to be moved and we were very happy with the replacement.

Hotel food was ok, but limited choice some days.

Entertainment was average.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct travel

Recommended
Glenda And Graham
15 years 5 months ago
Been to Malta on a previous occasion and noticed the New Dolmen Hotel,was determined next time I would stay there,I WAS NOT DISAPPOINTED.

The hotel was very clean,rooms cleaned every day to a high standard towels refreshed every day if needed.The room was spacious but not a lot of storage space(took loads of clothes though)only down fall was,no tea/coffee making facilities,maybe due to there being a 24hour cafe in the hotel,which was excellent.

The food was good and always plentiful(not very warm though,but most places abroad I have found the food only warm)Pool and surrounding areas where spotless,cleaned every day.Pool was very cold,but indoor pool(on the small side)was wonderful.

Staff very sociable(especially the cleaners,always a smile and hello)Entertainment a little disappointing but we did go before the season started we were told.

Excellent location for amenities,short walk to bus terminal where you can virtually get anywhere on the island, bus travel a must,wonderful experience I love them. Would definitely go back to this hotel again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Ray Andrews
15 years 5 months ago
Requested a seaview room, but ended on other side of hotel facing inland, however it gave us plenty to look at when we sat on the small balcony.

Breakfast was the usual buffet style, but the food in the 'waiter' restaurant (can't recall name) was exceptional and very good value. The sandwiches and snacks in the grill room/bar by the pool were very good if a little more expensive than in town.

There was line dancing and c+w evenings in the main function room on 3 or more of the nights we were there, so no issue with entertainment.

The hotel is within 10 minutes stroll of the centre of Bugibba.

The pool areas were very clean, but it was too cold for a swim. Would definitely return to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independant

Recommended
New Dolmen Resort
15 years 7 months ago
Could not fault the location, cleanliness, staff, food or rooms. Excellent service and sea views from all rooms. Would recommend this hotel to anyone. Bus station at back of hotel within walking distance.

Very regular service to all parts of island - maximum charge to anywhere seems to be around 50c. Unless you are of a nervous disposition, a bus ride is an experience not to be missed! If we return to malta, we would definately stay at the Dolmen Resort Hotel again. Disabled guests with wheelchairs will also find access alright.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum

Get the best deals!

from our cruise, ski and holiday partners

You can change your email preferences at any time.

Yes, I want to save money by receiving personalised travel emails with awesome deals from Holiday Truths group companies which are hotholidays.co.uk,getrcuising.co.uk and getskiing.co.uk. By subscribing I agree to the Privacy Policy

No, thank you.