Image of Balaia Plaza Hotel

Balaia Plaza Hotel

71 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 24 reviews
4 stars
Santa Eulalia Apartado 978, 8200-913 Albufeira, Portugal
These popular apartments boast superior accommodation, an attractive pool area and a good range of facilities, making it an ideal family choice. There are plenty of daytime activities including team games, and the beautiful sandy beach of Santa Eulalia.

24 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    1
  • Very Good
    9
  • Good
    12
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Olivia Sheppard
9 years ago
It was our 3rd visit to the balaia plaza.The first time was a family visit and the second and third time we went with friends and had a great time.There are plenty of sun beds up intil lunchtime were then it starts to get busy however, the pool never seemed over crowded and also there was plenty of room for kids to have inflateables. Reception and bar staff were very friendly and always happy to help. Rooms were always tidy and clean and spacious.There are plenty of bars around and restrants with nice food.Reception always willing to book you a taxi if needed. There is also a curtisy bus which takes you to water parks and the stop for this is right outside the hotel. The only doubt about this holiday it was a 20 minute walk to town.Apart from that it is a super holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: alpha rooms

Recommended
Rachael
9 years ago
This was our second year of staying here and thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Rooms and balconies were good, clean and towels were changed daily other than one day a week when cleaners day off. Bar staff helpful and friendly. Spent alot of time around the pool where we enjoyed playing various games with our inflatables. We always got enough sunbeds, but usually full by lunchtime. Not a problem for us, but it is a 20 minute walk to the town centre.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Alpha Rooms

Recommended
Vernon Party
10 years 11 months ago
I have just returned from a week at the balaia plaza and i must say i did'nt want to come home. We were a party of 7 with a wide age range of 73, 69, 33, 31, 16, 9, 8 and we all enjoyed the holiday the same. The appartment was very large and clean, it had everything you should need including microwave, fridge/freezer, tv, cutlery, ect. The beds are comfy, The balcony with table & chairs was nice for breakfast and an evening night cap, and the air con was a god send.There is a on site supermarket that is very convinient if not a little expensive. The evening entertainment was basic but fun, the pool and pool bar were both very nice and not to far to walk. The first choice rep was great and was always ready to help with excursions, advice or problems you may encounter. the only down side was that the algarve is very hilly so the walk to the beach or into the town is a bit of a trek, but this did not take away anything from a great holiday.

I would deffinatly go back to the Balaia Plaza agian.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Carly Kevin Adam And Lisa
11 years ago
We booked a one bedroom apartment which was huge! It was very nice and comfortable however, it had a toaster that did not work, a broken dining room chair, a damaged toilet seat, dirty ceramic hob and a grubby floor. All these things were reported to the Reps the morning after arrival but nothing was rectified.

Despite the above, we were very happy in the apartment. The location was great as we did not mind the 15-20 minute walk to the shops/restaurants each day and we thought that the beach (across the road) was gorgeous. Our 14 year old son and his friend spent a lot of time in the hotel pool and the hotel internet was much appreciated too! It was a very quiet area during the night.

We did not find that the hotel receptionists were very welcoming and we found the staff in the hotel shop were very un-friendly, but we found another supermarket on the strip that was half the price so visited there most days.

We ate out in the evenings so we cannot comment about the hotel restaurant and the entertainment although some people that we met there said that some of the entertainment was very good (I heard differently before arriving so we never plucked up the courage to get back early enough in the evenings to find out)

There are two new hotels being built (one to the side and one in front of the Balaia Plaza but I am pleased to say that we had no noise and and when completed I would not hesitate to come back to stay in one of them!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Kirstie Locke
11 years 1 month ago
I loved the hotel, the entertainment was great & all of the staff were helpful and pleasant.

The pool indoor and out were kept clean and tidy but there weren't enough deck chairs which was annoying some days!

I'm looking to go back again this year as I enjoyed so much last year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

Recommended
Donald, Melissa,gary And Abbie
11 years 3 months ago
The Hotel was a great base for our family, it was clean, spacious and the staff were very helpful.

It is a good 20-30min walk to the strip but we had no problems getting a taxi to and from the town.

Pool is a good size and my kids loved spending every free minute there.

Entertainment was not great but worthy of a laugh at least and the kids loved the space in the bar to run around.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Hayes Family
12 years ago
We booked this holiday last minute and 4* allocated on arrival having had our normal family holiday in June (escaping the bad August weather at home).

Definitely the worst hotel I have stayed in for many reasons. On the positive the room was huge and the kitchen well equipped. We had a 2nd floor room with a view of the sea.

The Supermarket on site was ok with a reasonable amount of choice and the beach across the road is lovely.

On arrival we had to ring reception twice to get the cleaner to come and clean the dirty room (the floor hadn't been cleaned) It also had dust on surfaces and if you banged the sofas with your hand loads of sand and muck flew up. There was also a pile of pillows on the bed as they had run out of pillowcases (and sheets for the spare beds - they arrived around 5pm) The maid said "it's ok for me"! The next day she arrived at lunch time when we were feeding the children so we asked her to come back a bit later - she didn't bother. The maid service is basically dump the towels in the bathroom and make the adult beds (not the sofa bed or cot).

We didn't try the hotel entertainment as out of the six nights it was on one night was "background music" and two nights were Karaoke. It also seemed to start late as we could hear the music in our room as we slept (2nd floor opposite side of the hotel from bar!).

Nice beach wasn't far but with a 18 month and 3 year old the trip down the cliff path (partly stepped) wasn't that enjoyable - ok if you're without kids and fit. We preferred it to the pool though.

There are not enough sunbeds and very few parasols for the sunbeds that are available. Also the sunbeds are flat and don't adjust so they are not very good if you want to read or watch the kids in the pool. The pools were on the chilly side which was surprising as it was August and very hot (36). I've never spent so little time on holiday in the pool.

We got fed up with the lack of taxis in the evening. They are cheap if you can get one but don't bother trying after 6:30pm. It's a good half hour walk to the strip along a busy road for something to eat. We hired a car in the end as we'd had enough. Its quite busy with cars everywhere. We tried making it to the old town but couldn't get a parking space. I suspect the old town would have been better than the strip but as we were only there for a week the strip was fine (didn't have a bad meal once).

The Zoomarine and Aqua park we went to were really good and reasonably priced. The kids loved the dolphin show at Zoomarine.

Can't think of a single reason to recommend the Balia Plaza. A poor hotel in a poor location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Gilbert
12 years 1 month ago
We arrived at the apartments at 10oclock and was told that we would be in our room between 2 and 5 oclock.

The first room we was shown was in a bad state of repair and the second had a very wide jagged crack in the bathroom which when you consider we have a four year old child who could quite easily cut himself we were moved.

There were also cracks around walls (bit worrying). Anyway we were moved by the insistance of our rep who was extremely helpful and very understanding. The 3rd apartment was lovely, very clean, very spacious with a sea view. The restaurant food was overpriced and not very nice.

The pool bar was very basic. Swimming pool lovely, sunbeds never had a problem getting one, no entertainment for children.

Hotel staff were diabolical totally unhelpful, but thankfully Gemma the rep was superb and was always around when needed. Taxi's were extinct between hours of 6 and 11 in the evening, but not too long a walk to nearest shops and restaurants.

Overall the holiday was good. But sadly would not return to the Balaia Plaza. Although First Choice are a good Holiday company to travel with.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Joe And George
12 years 4 months ago
Post removed, as posting from Algarve. - Admin
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Mark
12 years 4 months ago
The rooms are extremely of an extremely good size and standard, with well equiped kitchens.

Although we went self catering, we did use the restaurant on several occasions purely for convenience. I would advise that you explore locally for better places to eat, especially if you are particularly hungry.

Cannot fault the hotel staff, all extremely friendly and helpful.

Entertainment !!! Dont bother.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum