Image of Alfagar & Alfagar II Apartments

Alfagar & Alfagar II Apartments

42 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 44 reviews
2 stars
Balaia Albufeira, Albufeira, Faro, 8200, Portugal

44 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    11
  • Very Good
    22
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Emma
Great time!
7 years 7 months ago
We went here in October, our party was two adults and 3 teenagers. The accommodation was lovely, very spacious. The 3 teens stayed in their own apartment but it was nice because me and my husband got put in the apartment next to theirs.

Clean easy to use kitchen, though our TV didn't work at first but we told the reception and they fixed it immediately. There were some good English free view channels to watch.

Seeing as it was October the evenings were ‘chilly’, the bed sheets were very thin but luckily there was a radiator.

The pools were clean and very nice but freezing, although the weather was quite hot there the pools should have been heated slightly for that time of year so we mainly went into the indoor pool.
Staff very friendly.
The supermarket was quite expensive but literally opposite the complex there was a cheap supermarket which was very handy.

We went out for dinner once in the complex in the only restaurant open, the snack bar. The other ones were closed for the winter.

It was very expensive and wasn't all that but the place itself was nice. There was plenty of entertainment:
- A parrot show- A bit naff for kids
- Carlos Lara singing, very nice man who was a good singer sang mixture of English songs and Portuguese which was lovely.
-Two girls- Two rather large emotionless girls singing boring songs, wasn't impressed with them,
-Becci's karaoke show, extreme fun, 3 teenagers loved it so much Becci was English and had English songs to sing very enjoyable.

My 3 teenage daughters went out to the bar every night on their own for entertainment, they found everyone there was friendly and they became 'regulars' to the bar, everyone knew them, they were sad to leave. Made some very nice friends, Portuguese and Dutch.
Local shops 15-20 minute walk away.

VERY cheap resturant called TEASERS, we had 3 course meal for 8 euros including drink, was delicious went there 4 times and had full English breakfast for 2EUROS each!


Lovely, I would defiantly come here again, Tennis court on sight with racket and ball hiring. The Beach was VERY close, downside was that there were Quite a few dogs around.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Grant
Really lovely all round
7 years 9 months ago
We stayed in the Alfagar II, the new hotel which is in front of the Alfagar and it was really really lovely. We were on the 4th floor (top) and the views were beautiful. I have to say I am really difficult to please and will find anything to moan about, but I have to say, I was really surprised.

Our room was immaculate and all kitchen equipment and utensils were brand new. Rooms are modern and the decor contemporary and very very clean. I was a bit concerned about the bedding and towels not being changed daily, but it really didn't matter, everything was so clean.

Beds were comfy, and the sofa bed was really comfy too. We also had some UK TV channels on the TV, which makes a change. The only negative would be that the dustmen come at night (every night), between midnight and 3am, so ear plugs were purchased. Really enjoyed my stay here and would defiantly come back.
My daughter loved the onsite water slides and was never bored! Also the buffet food, which I normally hate was actually really nice, and had some really nice meals.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
J Wheatley
7 years 10 months ago
Just returned from the Alfagar aparthotel, terrific corner room with pool and sea view. The balcony was huge at least 20ft long. Nothing to do in resort but taxis to Alberfuera cheap enough and a local but stops right outside the hotel to go to Villamoura. The food was pretty basic but enough to eat - at the end of the day you don't go on holiday just to eat. The hotel staff were pleasant enough. The only faults we could find were the fact that sheets only changed three times a week and bathroom towels every other day.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Rachel Patterson
Great for young families! Lovely scenery
8 years 4 months ago
These apartments where lovely, I travelled with my son who was one at the time, my mother, father, 3 sisters and brother. They were spacious and had all the equipment required. There was its own private pool and it was always kept clean. The air conditioning worked well, but wasn’t needed too much as the temperature in December was lovely, especially for my 1 year old son and wasn’t too warm.

There are 2 bedrooms in the apartment and a double beds fit easily into it, also there was storage and a television which I wasn’t expecting, lovely bedding, very clean and no complaints.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Ted Phillips
8 years 6 months ago
The room was brilliant plenty of room and very clean
The gardens and surrounding areas were maintained to a high standard and were a pleasure to walk through.
We only ate at the hotel afew times (lunch) and found the food at the hotel as good as anywhere at the resort and not rip off prices
The location suited us as it was away from the bustle of the strip which was just 20mins walk away.
The hotel staff were very pleasant and always happy to help and offer information. Taxi to Albiefuera was 6to7 Euros to Villamoura 16 Euros (1way).
Never went to the entertainment usual karaoke, singers etc advertised.
Weather was fantastic (in the 90's) loads of sun, as we went in the last week in October we couldnt have wished for better weather, would have no qualms going to this hotel again great holiday!
A good cheap place to eat is Teasers 1pt beer =1 Euro on the right just before yiou get to the start of the strip.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: N/A

Recommended
David Johnson
8 years 7 months ago
the alfagar aparthotel beutiful place to stay well equiped well maintained complex great setting clean choice of resturant /bar food great freindly staff most of the entertainment was ok beccis karaoke was brilliant . 10 /10 for us we have been back 6 times now and it gets better every time the new pool is fantastic
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Taffs
8 years 8 months ago
We have recently returned home from a great holiday at the Alfagar appartments. Don't listen to any bad reviews! The complex was spotless as was the appartment. Mini market on site which we found okay with prices. Had a 14 year old daughter with us who made lots of friends around the pool and in the bar area around the pool tables at night. Ideal for teenagers. Very friendly and family orientated complex. About a 15 minute walk to a queiter area before"the strip" with a good selection of bars etc. Could get a pint for 1 euro and a three course meal with a drink for 8 euro. We would definately go back to the complex, found it excellent value for money.



The reps from Thomas Cook and First Choice were both helpful as we needed advice due to a health problem. they took care of everything and gave excellent advice.

Please try these appartments, you won't be disappointed.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
8 years 10 months ago
have just returned home from this great hotel , we have all had a great , relaxing time with fantastic weather.
the hotel is generally clean and there are plenty of cleaners on show ensuring clean and tidy surroundings.
we spent most time at the larger pool at the bottom of the complex and had lots of fun here we were also able to relax as it did not get too overcrowded . there is a pool bar here serving drinks and snacks which are of an acceptable price and of a decent standard. the room that we stayed in was to a good standard , no air conditioning but a fan was supplied making it just bearable on a night. the kitchen and bathroom had clearly been upgraded recently and were finished to a high standard , although the supplied hairdryer did keep turning itself off , frustrating my wife and daughter.the balcony was rather small but had a small table and chairs as well as a towel / clothes drying rail.there was plenty of space for clothes to be kept in the appartment and a iron and board was provided.the evening entertainment was dissapointing but with the strip a twenty minute walk or five minute / four euro taxi ride away , who wants to stay in the hotel .the beach below the hotel was great although the walk back up the steps was tiring in the hot hot weather.
would definately return to this hotel .
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: c.l.c / easyjet

Recommended
Two Dissapointed Pensioners
9 years 1 month ago
No air con weather was bad which meant we were freezing. We had to put matress against as it was so drafty. bathroom was old and dirty couldnt wash properly as it was cold. Complained and asked to be moved to be told that it wasnt possible. Spoke to Thomas Cook rep, who thankfully got us out of a supposively 4 star complex. I would rate this 2 star minus, didnt even have a phone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Cambuslang Travel

Paul G
9 years 8 months ago
Just returned from Alfagar and thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. The complex is very good and very clean. Their was some building works going on close by our apartment but to be honest we hardly noticed it. I agree with a lot of the comments made on here about the supermarket being overpriced and the quality of the evening entertainment was cheesy but sometimes amusing.
Most nights we walked down into Albufeura to the well known 'Strip' which is full of bars, restuarants and shops. (something for everybody) The walk takes about 20 minutes, so I guess its just over a mile away. Taxi's to their cost about 5 euros.
Would we go there again most definately the climate in the Algarve is fantastic and the Portuguese people very polite, my children loved the Alfagar complex, and excellent beaches, and the kids club run by Thomas Cook in the day was excellent.
Hope this helps anyone thinking of going there !
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum