Image of Falesia Hotel

Falesia Hotel

26 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 17 reviews
4 stars
Pinhal do Concelho, Praia da Falesia, Areias de Sao Joao, 8200-911 Albufeira, Portugal

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    5
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
David Shield
8 years 2 months ago
Having just returned from this hotel we have decided to share our views to asist anyone thinking of staying there in the future.
We paid a supplement for what was described as a suite. What we actually got was a tired room which needed refurbishment, with extra space to accomodate a sofa and coffee table. For the supplement you get the safe, a half bottle of wine on arrival, a kettle (standard in UK budget hotels) and 1.5 litres of water a day. You are then expected to pay for the fridge at 3.50 euros per day, this should be included in a 4 star hotel particularly in asuite.
I have read on other sites that the food was exquisite, that is not the adjective we would use. Breakfast is passable but only 2 choices of cereal and despite the fact there a several orange groves nearby no fresh orange juice!!
Dinner highlighted how awful the food was. All soups whatever their description were tasteless. If we had been served the main courses in a UK pub restaurant chain we would have sent them back. Nearly all the food was cold or at best lukewarm and the vegetables were frozen. Every dinner time the chefs strut around the serving area we might suggest that they go back to the kitchen to concentrate on cooking!! Avoid the wine list very over priced you will get the same wines locally for a third of the price. 3 euros for 0.5 litres of water a touch expensive with supermarket price being 34 cents. If you are tempted to go do not book a suite and eat out!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Karen Haynes
9 years 10 months ago
This hotel is set in beautiful gardens and only a short walk via the golf course and lift or shuttle bus to the lovely beach. We have stayed here twice and love it. The rooms are quite spacious with lovely views over a golf course or the entrance of the hotel . The staff are very friendly and the hotel is so clean. A great holiday both stays.The food is excellent with lots of choice.The hotel staff could not do enough, they even wrote what bus number to catch when we went into Vilamoura.We will be going back again in the near future.So quiet and peaceful we didn't want to leave.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
10 years 3 months ago
The room was very spacious but we did pay extra for a superior room.

There was a small bottle of red wine and fruit awaiting on arrival and you get a large bottle of water every day.

The only bad thing is that the air con wasn't switched on on the master control. We were baking hot and the air con was just blowing out warm air! We complained to the rep and to reception but nothing was done, not even any feed back.

I think the customers comfort should come before trying to save money.

The hotel is kept very clean and is only 2 years old so in good condition.

The restaurant surroundings and decoration is wonderful and you have different levels areas. The food didn't quite match though. While not awful was quite repetitive and chips were on the menu every night.

There was show cooking but it always seemed to be beef every night just cooked in a different sauce or way. It would have been good to see some fish cooked on show. It would also have been nice to have omlettes show cooked for breakfast instead of fried eggs every morning!

The hotel grounds and location are very pleasant. It is a nice quiet area not near any noisy bars or anything. The beach is about a 25 min walk away but you can go through the sheraton and get their lift or steps to the beach which is much quicker!

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Entertainment wasn't bad. You get the odd act coming over from the UK but mostly it's the Thomson team doing the shows.

You have various events during the day like lawn darts, pool and a quiz at 4.00pm.

Happy hour is between 5.00 and 6.00pm when drinks are half price.

We found a restaurant with a bar just a short walk away from the hotel where drinks were a lot cheaper.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Gillian Phillips
10 years 3 months ago
Just returned from a very enjoyable 2 week stay at the Falesia,we could not fault the cleanliness of the hotel, our rooms cleaned everyday by friendly staff,the buffet style food, with different themed evenings were of excellent quality and choice (we put on a bit of weight!). All the hotel staff were efficient and friendly. The travel advisors (not reps!)Clare,Lynsey and Scott were friendly,helpful and do a great job. A special mention has to go to the entertainment/production team of Joff,Laura,Rachael and Jamie, who worked day and night, these guys are individually talented and professional, together they deliver incredible evening shows. The only downside to the falesia was location and cost of hiring the fridge and safe,the most expensive thompson gold yet!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Anthony Mewburn
10 years 5 months ago
We stayed at the Falesia hotel for two weeks departing on 28th Feb and returning on 13th March. This is our second visit at this time of year and the hotel is as good if not better than last year. The staff are excellent and nothing is too much trouble and the food in the resturant is excellent if not a bit repetitive over two weeks.

Some of the entertainment provided by the hosts and Reps was to some extent like being back at school and not really suitable for a grown up audience. The visiting entertainment was of a much better standard and indeed the Elvis singer was superb as were the comediens from the UK. The hosts and one of the reps Kirsty were great but unfortunately the other Rep was a bit aggressive and earned the name of Rotwieler by a number of the guests, including us.

Overall the Hotel is great but I feel will be in need of some refurbishment in the next year to bring it back to its original glory.

The only real disappointment was the fact that we, having booked about four months in advance, found we had paid a lot more money than people who had booked only a few weeks before departure. We will remember this infuture when booking with Thomson
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mrs Curtis
10 years 10 months ago
Excellent hotel, we had a superior room which was very nice, clean and spacious.
Entertainment was exceptionally good the reps were very professional. every night varied.
The food was very good and the ambeince of the restuarant was calming and relaxing.
Plenty of sunbeds and room around the pool and daytime activities were there if you wanted them but not in your face.
We will definitely be returning here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Sue
10 years 11 months ago
First time at this hotel and the location wasn't as bad as we were expecting. We are not beach people but we did use the hotel shuttle bus for our one and only trip down there.

The hotel also runs a shuttle bus into Albufeira at a cost of 5 Euros each return and to Vilamoura at a cost of 10 euros each.

The bus picks you up at 10 am from the hotel and returns for you at each destination at 4pm. We used both these and found it a great service. Days and times are posted on reception.

Our main gripes about this hotel would have to be paying to use the fridge unless you let the hotel stock it as a mini bar for you then it was free.

The price of drinks in the hotel was very high, hence if you walk around you will find most of the guests in the local bars(Brothers bar being a favourite and a little place called Tanias just across the road and a little lower down).

The evening entertainment was extremely poor to say the least. In fact one night there was a Supremes tribute band on but at 10:15pm we were told they were not coming. The resident duo were dire.

However the same can't be said for the Thomson team Eddie,Hannah,Cilla and Rob these four youngsters were fantastic and the most talented and professional we have seen in any hotel.

The food was quite good but very repetitive, the staff always polite and helpful.

All in all we enjoyed our time at this hotel and would go back but we would hire a car next time.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 1 month ago
Lovely hotel set in beautiful gardens, superb food, and entertainment of a variable quality.

Typical Thomson Gold activity programme. Only Thomson UK guests. Nice pool, shallow at all edges and deep in the middle. You can sunbathe near the pool or under the trees in the gardens. Good pool bar.

Very friendly staff, excellent standard of cleanliness throughout.

The downside is the location. It is separated from the cliff top by the Sheraton Pine Cliffs resort. It is nearly a mile to go out to the road and through the lovely grounds of the Sheraton to get to the steps to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
We have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at the Falesia Hotel. Everything about the hotel was brilliant. We had a superior room which was very spacious and had nice little touches - complimentary bath robe and slippers, bottled water, fruit, free safety deposit safe and surprisingly tea and coffee making facilities.

The staff were very polite, friendly and courteous and seemed to really want their guests to have a good time. The Thomson reps were excellent and very talented. They sang and danced like profesionals in the shows in the evening. The resident duo, were also very good.

The food could not be faulted, with a wide variety of quality dishes. The dining room felt like a real restaurant, unlike some that can feel a bit like eating in a cafeteria.

A plus point for staying at this hotel is that there are no children. I would say that during our stay the average age group in the hotel was 60+. We are considerably younger than this, but this did not spoil our enjoyment, it just made for a very relaxing holiday.

The hotel is set in a very quiet location, it is quite a walk to the beach - maybe 20 mins if you cut through the Sheraton Hotel grounds next door, this did not bother us though as we were wanted a get away from it holiday.

In my opinion there was no real downside to this hotel, other than perhaps some of the drinks were quite expensive. 1.5 euros for a small bottle of water. The beer was reasonably priced at
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
Just come back from a great weeks stay at this hotel. A bit dissapointed with our room could do with a makeover and no fridge but as we do'nt spend too much time there everything else about the hotel made up for it.

The food was excellent plenty of choice and hot.

The location is a bit out of the way but we had a lovely walk into Villamoura with a couple of pit stops on the way. Got a taxi back which only cost around 8 euros which is good for 4 people.

Hotel staff and reps all very good at their jobs.

Would recommend this hotel for a quiet relaxing holiday, and would like to return in the future.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum