Image of Perola Do Algarve Apartments

Perola Do Algarve Apartments

58 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
4 stars
Rua do Pacifico 24, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal
Set in a quiet part of the central region of Albufeira, these apartments have excellent accommodation and facilities and create a more peaceful holiday location for all ages.

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    5
  • Very Good
    11
  • Good
    6
  • Average
    5
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Butcher
Go self catering, food is not all that great
6 years 11 months ago
I arrived about 12.45am and was shown to room then told I could get a drink at the bar. The room was nice and clean, cleaner came every 2/3 days.

The pool was OK but there was a problem getting a sun lounger most days even though the hotel wasn't full. The only entertainment was a solo singer on 3 occasions over a 10 night period.

The food was served at set times and was very predictable. The snacks in day were good as they were made to order.

The staff are very good and are always polite and friendly. The location is fine as long as you don't mind a walk of about 20 minutes to either the strip or the old town.

I would go back to the Algarve but not this hotel unless I was self catering.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Karen Sinden
8 years 8 months ago
My family and I have just returned from Albufiera in Portugal staying at the Perola Do Algarve, we found the hotel to be very clean , the cleaner came daily.The staff at the hotel all spoke english and were extremely helpful.We ate out or cooked in the apartment so I cannot comment on the food.Our apartment was really spacious and we had a huge balcony. The pool was pleasant the down side being not enough sunbeds and people reserving beds!We found the location of the hotel in relation to the beach, old town etc ok, it would be a bit of a trek with young children or if you had difficulty walking any great distance.Entertainment at the hotel was average, not great. All in all we found the hotel was good and really enjoyed our holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thompson

Recommended
Dawn , Paul & Tyler
9 years 8 months ago
this hotel has a major problem with sunbeds my husband had to go down at 6.30am to get a sunbed which i always said i would not do but ther arent enough to go round and some people were putting them down at 2.30 you no who you where how embrassing! the hotel has now been down graded to a 3star which is about right the room is spacious we had a one bed the maid was excellent always cleaned to a good standard.if you get room 426 dont expect a balcony its about a foot wide the three of us could not all get out there at one time. the entertainment is rubbish the girl who done it tried. the swimming pool is freezing and not that big.the snack bar was ok normal stuff.we done the zoomarine trip well worth a vist dolphin show excellent but not given enough time to go round. slide and splash also very good but do expect to que. the layout of the hotel is strange when you come into the hotel you are on the third floor which is reception. the 4th floor is the bar then you go to 1st floor for the restrant and pool. didnt use the restrant but always empty! the location not brillant you are a good 25min walk to either the old town or the strip but no one tells you about the hills!so use the train. excellent supermarket next door.all in all not brillant wouldnt go back!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Sarah & Steve
9 years 9 months ago
We had a great holiday at this hotel. We stayed here at the same time last year, and since then there have been some improvements.
The 1 bed apt we stayed in was great. It was clean, spacious, with a quite well equiped kitchen. The only thing I would comment on is the lack of a kettle! there is a coffee machine provided but no filters etc. This didnt worry us too much as we knew this from last years visit.
As we travelled with 2 children (5 and 18 months) our son slept on a very comfy 'put-up' bed in the lounge, which didnt need making up every day, as there was plenty of room so it didnt get in the way. My daughter was in a very good quality travel cot in our room, and also not just a standard t/cot it had a lovely thick mattress in it for extra comfort. Again this was made up every day by the lovely cleaning ladies.
I can't really fault our travel to this hotel - yes as other people have said it could do with a bit of a 'spruce up' but it certainly wasn't anything drastic....and i'm REALLY fussy!!!...oh the only possible thing is there is definately a lack of sunbeds around the pool.
We thought this hotel was great, evening entertainment was good (although some of the shows which kids might like did tend to start very late about 11pm!). The staff were excellent...even as far as we forgot a suitcase at the hotel and didnt realise until we were at the airport ready to come home!! - one phone call to the hotel and they arranged a taxi to come and collect the case and bring it to us at the airport!! AND told us which taxi number to look out for!! - totally brilliant would totally recommend it!!! .... roll on 2009!!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomsons

Recommended
N Icola
10 years 7 months ago
Stayed in this hotel for 1 week in September 2007. Found the hotel to be a typical 3* Hotel you would find abraod, yes certain areas could do with lick of paint but generally was ok. Only concern we had was tap in kitchen literally hanging off its base.This was the 1st time we had taken our 2 year old son abroad and would probably visit here again. Location of hotel was great right central between the 'old town and the strip'. Both areas within walking distance but the 'noddy' bus stop is just up on the main road in front of the supermarket. Supermarket just a few steps from hotel. Cant comment on the entertainment or food because we ate out everyday. Pool was rather small and the area to the right became shaded in the afternoon. Not really enough sunbeds
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom Direct

Recommended
Jessica
10 years 8 months ago
Our holiday was very enjoyable. In total there were 17 people. The hotel was clean and the staffw ere freindly. The pool was a decent size buy there weren't really enough sunbeds for everyone in the hotel. The rep was very friendly and was good at organising trips for us! I would recommend Slide and Splash as there is something for everyone there. ALso I would recommend going to Zoomarine especially if you swim with dolphins. Swimming with the dolphins there is amazing and you receive flip-flopsand a towel. Also there is a chance to buy a DVD and photos. The only down side was that someone that we were with received the wrong DVD!! If you go with Thomson, the beach bbq cruise is an enjoyable day. you have a lovely bbq on the beach and the food is absolutely delicious!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Diydaz
11 years 4 months ago
Stayed at the Perola for the new year and had a great time. Booked through freedomdirect.co.uk paid
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: freedomdirect

Recommended
Den
11 years 10 months ago
Having read many varied reports on this hotel we were slightly worried at what we would find. All our fears were unfounded.

The hotel is at the back of a large supermarket (ideal for self catering)and that aside, no prblems. The outside was being painted and the inside looked as though it had been recently decorated also. We had a studio appartment overlooking the pool.

The apartment was very spacious and clean, towels changed 3 times, utensils and crockery were excellent as was the decor and furniture.

Staff were very helpful and pleasant. Only used the bar once and Tony the entertainer was very good. Met some great people there and without exception, all had nothing but praise for the hotel and had a great time. Would definately recommend the Perola for a good value holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Miss K Mitchell
11 years 10 months ago
Having read the comments on this Hotel the night before arriving there I was worried as to what we might find..it soon became obvious I hadn't needed to!

The Perola Do Algarve is the nicest hotel we've stayed in, superbly situated between new and old Albufeira, it is in an ideal location to explore the whole resort.

The room was very clean and spacious with air con and TV and it was big enough for three girls with three over weight-allowance suitcases!!

Towels were changed regularly and the beds were made up every day. We can't comment on the food as we ate out every night, but the pool side snack bar was great as was the pool and the surrounding sunbathing areas! The staff were great too even when we arrived back from a night out at 3.30am!

We really enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate in returning again and again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Mr, Mrs & Miss Shaw
12 years 7 months ago
Would agree with most of the reviews on here reference the Perola not being a 4 Star Hotel - it is a very good 3 Star!

The room was very spacious & had everything you needed for a comfortable stay. The remote controlled air conditioning unit was needed & the T.V had BBC1 & 2 & CBeebies for our 2.1/2 year old!

Don't forget your kettle if you like your hot drinks as the hotel will give you most things but this.

The hotel staff were very friendly and the pool (although ice cold) was very welcome after a few hours in the sun. We would recommend the pool side snack bar for a choice of hot & cold food, ice creams and of course....beer!!

The only downside to the hotel we felt was the noise. From 10pm until 2am it was very noisy, but after a full day out in the sun and a few sherbets down you it was very easy to drop off to sleep!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum