Image of Silchoro Hotel

Silchoro Hotel

78 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

3 out of 5 from 17 reviews
Praceta Jaime Cortesao, 8200 Albufeira, Portugal

17 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    4
  • Good
    8
  • Average
    3
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Wherry
8 years 11 months ago
Arrived at hotel 9.30am only to be told rooms weren't ready, waited five hours before they were, as we hadn't had any sleep for 24hrs this was quite iritating, but then we had got a cheap last minute deal so that compensated. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The hotel food was very reasonable. The downside of it was that the beach was a fair walk and they were charging 7 euros each for a sunbed and umbrella which we thought was abit high as we have been to other countries in the eu and 4 was the most we have paid. I have said we wouldn't visit this hotel again only because next time we go to portugal we would like to be in the Old Town as it was more interesting and better beaches.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mrs Porter
9 years 9 months ago
apartments were very clean indeed and roomy.
maid`s came everyday,but a bit tight with the toilet paper! haha. found the hotel staff very friendly,snack bar reasonably priced and food nice.
pool area was very clean,towels on sunbeds from 8.30 in the morning!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Aaron Mc Shane
9 years 9 months ago
As a young couple this hotel offered only two sofas beds as a sleeping arrangement in the so called studio apartment. The apartment itself offered very old fashion decor. Well and truley needed an update. Not to mention the everlasting smell circulating through the bathroom. Being a self catering hotel the cutlery and appliances available where laughable.

The maid service provided was a somewhat breath of fresh air being very polite and frienly (this with only one day off a week). Tthe room was well kep and so was the hotel itself. Not just the maids were friendly all other staff were as polite, helpful and friendly.

Thesnack bar during the day was always busy and provided lovely food at very good prices. But in terms of the restaurant the food itself was okay but not much variety especially if not a meat eater.

The hotel didnt offer much in entertainment. Although every night there was a happy hour of 6-8pm after a couple of drinks the bar would be wiped of stock bar the few warm bottles out the back.

The hotel offered (which was a first) a library and what was known as the bible room. As a family orientated hotel there was absolutely no need for a library and bible room.

The hotel needs a much anticipated revamp. Offering more entertainment orientated to children and a more couple friendly environment. The pool area itslef was decent although lacking numbers in sunbeds but there was a grassy area in which you could sit. The location of the hotel was about 10 minutes walk from the main strip of albfeira.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Mrs Jones
9 years 9 months ago
The hotel was clean and well looked after with a regular maid service. We did have the odd cockcrochet though.
Staff were friendly and kind and very helpful.
Pool was large but very cold!
Bar cafe had a good range but service was very slow, once waited 15 minutes to buy as ice-cream whilst staff were chatting with friends.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Tompsons

Recommended
Michelle
10 years 11 months ago
We found the apartments clean and were nice and large.

The staff, were friendly enough but I have one major problem with this hotel.....we had our safe broken into on the first day of our holiday and we received no help whatsoever from the hotel or the Thomson rep.

We were advised when we arrived to hire a safe but then when we were broken into and all our valuables/money stolen the hotel pointed out a one liner on the bottom of the courtesy bus card that the management were not responsible for money or valuables left in the safe.

If they are not prepared to take responsibility then what are we paying our 15 Euros for? surely we should have been given the key free!!!

There is a restaurant on site but no one from the hotel offered us help with money or food and we had two young children with us.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Wendy Waltenberg
11 years 8 months ago
Hotel was really clean.

The one bedroom apts are really big, lots of cupboard space.

Maids in all the time.

Pool area really nice. There is a kids pool and play area together which was really good.

The location is about 10 mins from bottom of strip. There are a few short cuts just try different routes, it did not bother us as my son is 16 not little but there are taxis which are only 4 euros.

The staff are all really nice, especially Fatima in the bird bar.

I would go back to this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independent

Recommended
Leanne / Andy
11 years 9 months ago
The hotel was very clean. Maid service 6 days a week.
Food from the snack bar was nice with good selection.

The location not very good bit far out from the strip, bit of a hike every night as there was no entertainment on the site apart from karaoke twice a week.

Staff very good. The woman in bird bar tried to keep everyone entertained. Would have been a lot more happy if there was entertainment then we wouldn
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: aspro

Lesley, Lee N Family
11 years 11 months ago
We have just returned from a week at these apts and were very surprised at the size of our 2 bed apt- it was massive, with two bathrooms!

Cleaned 6 out of 7 days by friendly cleaners. staff at reception and in the cafe, and bird bar were very friendly.

The only reason why I wouldn't return is because I want to keep experiencing other places. The walk to the strip was roughly 10 mins away, though it was a dark walk back as not many street lights! No complaints to the food available in the cafe, all very nice.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: mytravel

Rach
13 years 9 months ago
I have visited this hotel three times altogether and
although the entetainment was much better the first time the hotel staff are still as friendly.

They're always there to help and greet you with a smile. I found the maid service to be very good. They come about 5/6 times a week and empty bins, clean floors and change linen etc.

We ate out most of the time but for snacks it was o.k
drinks and food are reasonably priced and their is also a little mini market on site.

The location is brilliant. Only 5/10 mins walk to the strip where there is a good choice of bars and restauraunts.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Aspro

Recommended
Mandy
13 years 10 months ago
This hotel is comfortable, clean, and friendly. The only downside is the location if you have small children the walk to the strip is will have them moaning all the way! and the walk back is quite dark.
There is some building work going on but we didn't find it bothered us.
There didn't seem to be much entertainment going on at the hotel apart from the weekly BBQ which looked OK but we spent our evenings in the many bars on the strip.
The staff were all friendly and the rooms were kept clean.
The only reason for not going back would be the location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum