Image of Montechoro Hotel

Montechoro Hotel

55 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 21 reviews
4 stars
Rua Alexandre O'Neill, 8200-343 Albufeira, Portugal

21 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    14
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Ellie
10 years 7 months ago
The hotel Montechoro is excellent value for money. We have been visiting this hotel for many years (before the 'Strip' was in existence). It was once a majestic hotel standing in its own lovely grounds at the top of the hill with not one, but two pools. The price this hotel is pitched at today reflects the changes that have taken place around it, but it is still superb value for money. Hire a car (plenty of parking at the hotel) and explore the surrounding area, Gale beach is just miles of glorious sand and shimmering sunshine on blue water (and not so many people on the beach). Loads of really good restaurants within a few miles but out of the hustle and bustle of Albufeira, try Guia and the coast road restaurants. Lots to see and do, a really good base for a super holiday, we will visit again and again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Orchid Travel

Recommended
10 years 8 months ago
The hotel was lovely and clean. The maid cleaned our room every day and it was always spotless, as were the communal areas of the hotel. The room itself was a good size, and plenty big enough for the four single beds it held. There was a spacious bathroom with two sinks, a bath with shower over, toilet and bidet. Yes, it's true that some of the hotel is a little dated, but so long as it's clean I don't think that affects your stay.

Don't believe any of the signs about not being able to reserve sunbeds. In our experience, if you weren't there putting your towels down on sunbeds before about 8.30am you couldn't get one. The pool attendant opens the door at 8am and there's a queue to get a bed. We did see him turf some towels off the sunbeds next to ours which had been reserved, but not used by 12 noon however. good on him...!!

The pool itself is nice and clean - perhaps a little small - and there's a children's pool too, which is about a foot deep and a little colder than the main pool.

There's not much to do for the kids, which was the biggest fault we found. The reps come to the small pool at 10.45ish each day, and do the same two games every day - throwing spoons into the small pool and the kids collect as many as they can, and the second game involves those foam jigsaws where they throw the pieces in the pool for the kids to retrieve to make up the puzzles. Our kids were getting a little tired of the same two games after a fortnight. At one point there were six kids reps by the kids pool supervising three kids doing the games. I think a better organised activities programme would be easily manageable with the staff they employ.

There's water polo or water basketball for adults/big kids twice a day in the main pool, and occasionally water aerobics, but that just equates to doign the cha-cha slide in the water whilst the rep stands on the side blowing her whistle.

The evening entertainment was pretty poor and we only stayed in once to watch that. My kids were hoping for the mini disco classics, but other than cha cha slide which is virtually on a loop, that was it - else it was karaoke.

The breakfasts were a little disappointing. It was very busy if you were dining after 9am. They had hot dog sausages one day, and then bacon two days, and back to sausages again. Fried eggs every second day. Cold meats and cheese slices, pastries, melon, orange segments and pineapple rings, porridge and cereals.

We didn't eat in the hotel during the day or on an evening, so can't comment on that.

Overall, it's a good hotel, but could be improved with more entertainment for the kids, and maybe a little playground or something.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Adrian France
10 years 8 months ago
Although the hotel was very clean,I would like to know how many years ago it was given a 4 star rating.The hotel is tatty to say the least,breakfast is like feeding time at the zoo with very few tables being cleared and if you dont find anything you like on your first visit dont go again as the menu does not change.The swimming pool is very small for the number of rooms and if you do go in beware of the filtration system that is fitted to the bottom of the pool rather than the sides,as well as myself getting a badly bruised toe we saw plenty of other people hobling around after kicking one of the mushrooms on the bottom
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Media Travel

10 years 9 months ago
Stayed here as a family, 2 adult children (both aged in our 20s) and our mother. Due to uncertainty over our relationships we were originally allocated a double plus single bedded room, however we requested a change to a triple room (i.e. 3 single beds). We were informed by the receptionist that they would do all they could but it might not be available until the following morning, and our cases were taken up to our room in one of the 3 lifts by the concierge on his trolley. However once up in the room allocated, we received a phone call within the hour informing us that a triple room had been made available so we were able to move straightaway and get settled. We were in room 626, this overlooked the pools and had a grand view down the Strip and towards the sea. Lovely big room, adequately furnished and with plenty enough wardrobe/drawer space for 3 adults, also a dressing table with large wall-mounted mirror, 2 easy chairs, TV, adjustable air-conditioning & balcony with 3 plastic chairs and table. We hired a safe key from reception -
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: unpackaged.com

Recommended
Izzee17
11 years 7 months ago
We stayed bed and breakfast.

This is 3rd time we have stayed in this hotel.
Breakfast is good, if you can be bothered getting uop for it.

Hotel staff are excellent and rooms are large and very well kept.

Cant comment on entertainment as we were never around at nights.

Only fault this time is we were at front of hotel opposite Erins Isle the Irish quarter. It was a bit noisey at nights till about 1am. Previous times I have had poolside room.Good idea to check you have pool view as much quieter.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Isobella99
11 years 10 months ago
This is second year we have gone to this hotel.Hotel is beautiful and clean rooms are spacious,staff are excellent.

After reading the other reports I can only assume you cant please all the people all the time.The location is excellent we never use the free bus we walk or get taxis or the little train everywhere we go.

There is work going on at swimming pool but its kept to a minimum and there is no noise and always has one section available .This is probably finished by now as they have removed the grass area and tiled it with more sun beds.We have never stayed in at night to entertainment so cant comment.

I am only home 3 weeks from this hotel and will be returning in 8weeks so it must have some attractions!!!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Branagan
11 years 11 months ago
Hotel corridors were dark and dull. Carpets could do with a cleaning.

Food was bland and not enough choice.

Location was ok a bit far from the beach butthere was a free bus service to overcome this.

Hotel staff were great could not do enough for us.
entertainment was very poor.

Work was being carried out on the swimming pool and work started at 8am and finished at 4.30.

No I would not go back to this hotel again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: direct holidays

12 years 7 months ago
We were looking for a nice relaxing break and this hotel provided it.
Excellent bus service to beach and Old Town and close to the taxi rank at other times.

All areas including rooms were very clean and although the rooms were a little dates they were in excellent condition and well kept. The balconies were very big.

The breakfasts were good with plenty of choice between cereal, breads, hot & cold.

The location at the top of the strip is excellent.
Overall very happy with this hotel and would go back.

It also seems a bit of a myth about the 'other pool' people have referred to, I asked and was referred to the pool across the road where you pay to use it - but as the rep said you really can use any pool in any hotel without any bother!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
12 years 8 months ago
If you're going to the Hotel Montechoro then basically you've done very well.

The location is ideal for the strip, but is well away from the rowdy bit.

The staff are excellent and helpful.

The rooms are spacious and very clean.

The pools vary. The one on the grounds of the main hotel is a bit crowded and noisy, however the other one (ask at reception how to get there) is peaceful, usually empty, and much better.

The hotel's major fault is the breakfasts. They were disgusting. The fry up stuff was lukewarm if you were lucky, and tasted vile, and the cereals resembled cardboard. The croissants were the only thing worth eating. We ended up paying for breakfasts at nearby Erin's Isle.

All in all though, this is a minor quibble in what is a very good hotel. The air conditioning was effective in our apartments, and the maid service prompt and unobtrusive. I would recommend you hire a fridge though (and seek out the other pool). All five of our party came away with a very good impression of Hotel Montechoro and would go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Holiday Experts (teletext)

Recommended
12 years 10 months ago
We stayed in this hotel bed and breakfast.The breakfast was excellent with something for everyone.The rooms were huge and very clean.Bathrooms were spotless and plenty clean towels.Staff were always willing to help.The location was perfect and we will return
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum