Image of Sol e Mar Hotel

Sol e Mar Hotel

14 of 105 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 11 reviews
4 stars
a Jose Bernardino de Sousa 14, 8200 - 14 Albufeira, Portugal

11 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    4
  • Very Good
    6
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Lynne Quartly
7 years 9 months ago
We thought the hotel location was perfect, straight onto the beach one side and straight into the old town the other side. The hotel was very clean and our room was lovely with a big seating area as well as the bedroom. Our room was on the top (6th) floor so beautiful views out to sea and along the coast. The entertainment was a guy playing piano and singing but we went out to eat every evening purely because that is what we like to do. The breakfast was good, lots of choice and ample. The hotel staff are lovely, very friendly and helpful. We did have an upset on the morning we were leaving when I guy came into our room off the balcony (6 floors up!) while we were sleeping and took several things from my cabin bag which I'd packed the night before. (We'd been using the safe all week). My friend disturbed him and he quickly left without getting the chance to take anything else. We, and others, had left our balcony door open because of the heat (aircon is not very effective in the room). So the moral of the story is not to leave your balcony door open at night but the security needs to be addressed by the hotel. I'm disappointed that the hotel haven't been in touch with me about the robbery. It is a shame because the hotel is very good otherwise but now I'd be reluctant to recomment it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
J TOTTERDALE
10 years ago
We just got back from staying half board, 6 day break, 2 rooms for 4 adults, we were put next door to each other.

The food was really nice, something for every one, the staff and hotel cleanliness we could not fault.

Entertainment could be more but the man on the piano was quite good.

The hotel location was out of this world, your room over looked the beach, and the sound of the waves were lovely, all in all the hotel was of a great standard, and the staff were lovely, all couldnt do enough for you, would we all go back, YES YES AND YES, WE WILL BE GOING BACK.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: BOOKED ON WEB

Recommended
Carol Norman And Sarah
10 years 2 months ago
this was our first visit to portugal, we chose albefeira as we were led to beleive this was more lively in the winter months. the location of the hotel was good, right on the beach and near the shops and local bars. there is a lift to take you to the ground floor and then only a slight incline to walk up to take you to the town. this lift service closes at 6pm you the have to climb up 30 steep steps to get to the hotel entrance. this is not a hotel or resort for anyone with walking difficulties. the food is basic, but it was cheaper for us to go with airtours on half board than thompson on bed and breakfast there was usually something to tempt you the soups and salads were good, but one evening it was fish, fish, fish, the evening entertainment was just a man on the piano, who played well but could not sing. the resort was dead nothing going on at all. this was the first holiday we had been on we were in bed by 10pm. just to finish we were flown by thomas cook and it was the most cramped plane we have ever flown on, forget what the brochures ,say ,there is a difference in charter flight leg room, and this was one of the worst with thomson probably being the best
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
Mr And Mrs Weatherley
10 years 6 months ago
Just come back from 1 weeks holiday. First time in the Algarve. Great location. Fantastic resort. Hotel would suit the over 60's, not for familys at all. No outdoor swimming pool but as so near to the beach this is not a problem.
There was'nt a tea/coffee facilites in room which is bit on the downside. Room was clean but basic.
We stayed bed and breakfast, breakfast was very basic. We would'nt have paid for the evening meal due to seeing what is on offer at breakfast time.
Overall we had a great holiday, weather was good for time of year and the views from the hotel was out of this world. Would'nt proberly come back to this hotel in a hurry but def not the worst. Just simply a basic oldey wooldy hotel but cannot beat the location.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
10 years 10 months ago
Stayed here from 1st june to 4th june for a short break, loved the hotel, yes its oldish but an ideal location right on the beach, perfectly clean, nice rooms with great view over the beach, cannot fault it.

Friendly staff worked hard and were great.

Beach bars under the hotel were really nice and the views
were perfect, we even had a pod of dolphins swim across the bay on saturday afternoon, no more than 100 yards from the beach.

Cannot fault the place and am going back in july for
another short 4 day weekend break.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: expedia

Recommended
Glynis HT Admin
11 years 1 month ago
My friend and I returned early hours of this morning from a 3 night stay at this hotel.

We stayed B&B and thought the breakfasts were average. On 2 of the days there was mouldy bread in the basket by the toaster, we informed the staff and they were quickly removed. The sausages were the of the tinned hot dog variety. The bacon was tasty but way too overdone. It made it very dry which was a shame. The rest of the breakfast ingredients were fine. Fruit salad, ham, cheese, bacon, sausage, fried/scrambled/boiled eggs, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans. Various varities of tea and coffee, fruit juices.

We did book one night for the evening meal. The restaurant closed at 10m and we went in at 9.30 which was a little late it appeared as nothing was being replaced.

Location, as has been mentioned is excellent. Just around the corner from the square and of course those gorgeous sea views. Take the lift down to floor 0 and you are on the beach or you can go through the tunnel to the square.

Our room was spacious and very clean. No tea or coffee facilities but we had taken our own kettle etc for the 'first thing on a morning cuppa'.

Staff were excellent. Very friendly and helpful.

Entertainment that we saw over 3 days was basically an organist, but the elderly people who were there during our stay certainly seemed to enjoy getting up and having a dance and singalong.

This hotel, to me, didn't seem suitable for children. Much more suited to couples or friends.

I would definitely stay here again (still on B&B as I like to eat out)and would certainly recommend to couples.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: DIY

Recommended
Jeanie
11 years 7 months ago
Had a wonderful time, perfect spot right on beach.We e-mailed the hotel and asked for rooms on the top floor weren,t dissapointed.

Very roomy and cleaned to a high standard, fabulous view and while we were there they had firework displays on the beach and I reckon we had the best view.

Food quite good but think they could improve what was on offer.

Entertainment wasn't up to much but is it ever.We went down for happy hour and hubby's had a game of pool.

Staff really pleasant and helpful especially the maids.

The best part of this hotel is the location!fantastic!
Love Albufeira but don,t think much of the new square, takes away a lot of its charm.

Jeanie
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: independant

Recommended
Mr & Mrs B
12 years 5 months ago
The hotel was built in the 60's but has been upgraded over the years,and still retails the beautiful old 60's style bar.

It's location is excellent with all rooms overlooking the sea,giving breathtaking views over the sea at dawn & dusk.
The room was a good size was was well maintained. It was very clean and comfortable.

Entertainment was good with a keyboard player every night and 3-4 shows a week.

As far as food was concerned, breakfast was fine,with a good choice and something for every taste. Evening meals were however only average with a good salad selection,but a poor hot meal selection with only one choice of meat and one choice of hot vegetables. The sweet menu was very poor with little choice and no ice cream.

Generally we were very comfortable here and would stay again.

The only note of caution we would offer is regarding the streets of Old Town which are currently undergoing major sewerage upgrades,causing much disruption in the Old Town.

This looks as though it will go on well into next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: My Travel

Recommended
SH
13 years 1 month ago
Stayed here in March on half board basis but ate out on a couple of occasions as food was mediocre - choice ok but never very hot. Good value wines in restaurant.

Room and public areas spotless.

Room well equipped but a hairdryer in the room would have been useful. This had to be loaned from reception.

Staff very friendly and helpful, particularly those on reception.

Entertainment available every night with four shows during the week.

Best feature of hotel was its position, close to old town square with cafes, bars and street entertainment. Right on beach and all rooms have sea view with furnished balcony.

Would definitely stay here again.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtours

Recommended
Taylor
13 years 11 months ago
my husband and myself spent the last two weeks in may at the hotel Sol e Mar. we had a superb holiday, rooms were really spacious, lots of wardrobe, cupboard and drawer space,air conditioning/heating remote controlled by the guest, satellite tv, full bathroom, maid service every day. the hotel was kept spotlessly clean and the food was excellent. breakfast consisted of cereal, continental breakfast and full english breakfast with fuit juice, tea,coffee. Dinner consisted of soup, salads, choice of three main courses and about 8 choices of dessert. the hotel staff were all really friendy and extemely helpful and polite. the entertainment included a resident organ player/singer every night, and great shows four times a week. all the rooms have a seaview and the beach is on the doorstep. the one drawback to
this hotel is that it does not have an outdoor pool with sun terrace so, if you want to sunbathe, you have to pay for sunbeds on the beach which at 5 euros per sunbed and parasol works out at 15 euros a day for a couple. apart from this, the hotel was exceptionally comfortable and we will certainly be going again next year.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum