Image of Vilanova Villas & Apartments

Vilanova Villas & Apartments

20 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 57 reviews
3 stars
Av. Francisco Sa Carneiro Areais de Sao Joao, 8200-262 Albufeira, Portugal
Large and spacious complex. With organised activities for the wholw family 6 days per week. Well kept lawns. Has a tennis court and outside pool. Complex is in a very good location. 800m down a steep hill to the beach and 10m to shops bars and restaurants.

57 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    20
  • Very Good
    20
  • Good
    7
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    2

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
8 years 2 months ago
Totally enjoyed this Holiday, have stayed at the Vilanova in the past when it was a Thomson Superfamily complex with all the entertainment etc but now its different with the only bar at the hotel open is the pool bar from 9am to 7pm but due to its excellent location on the strip you dont need any other bars at the hotel, pool and grounds were kept well maintained, bar staff were ok, reception staff very good.
Plenty of good bars around, head up the strip towards the Montechoro end if you have kids good bars are Stones, 60's, Absolbar and Coconuts plus plenty more.
Head down the strip for youngsters or Stags/Hens - way too many bars to mention but a special one goes out to the Blue Star bar.
The Hotel does cater for Stag and Hen parties but they tend to stay in their own groups, can get a little rowdy but thats what they have gone for!!
I'm back at this hotel again in October on a stag do too - Cant wait!!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Travelrepublic/Easyjet

Recommended
Mark
8 years 4 months ago
We stayed at these appartments from the 1st -11th April 2010.
On arrival we checked in and noticed thet the pool was green.We asked as we checked in what the problem was and was it safe to swim in.The receptionist told us they they had put chemicals into the water and it would be clear tomorrow.We went to our apartment to unpack.The room was large but had rather dated furnishings but was adequate for our needs. We were on the ground floor and had a great terrace with chairs. We had a view of the pool bar and the green pool.
The area around the pool has a lot of grassed areas which is great for playing ball games and is very nice. Villa-nova is in prime location as well
being at the top of the strip with numerous bars and restaurants.The whole area is a bit run down. Maybe it was because we we here at the start of the season.
There was alot of work going on with alot of resturants and bars about to open
for the season.The next morning we woke after a bad nights sleep due to ignorant
people shouting and screaming,stomping their feet down the corriador. This happened
for the first two nights at about 2-3 o'clock in the morning. I think this was due
to a large group of lads staying here at the time.(You know who you are) I think if you stay here it's pot luck to who your neighbours are as the rest of the week
the noise wasnt too bad. The corridors are very echoy.
The kids bought themselves lilos and we went to the pool. We were horified that the pool was now dark brown and totally unuseable. We went to reception again-the lady said she was unaware of any problem with the pool. We later found out this was a lie.
Over the next 5 days we constantly complained and each time we were either fobbed off or the receptionist was basically rude to us as if it was us with the problem.
We consequently found another swimming pool to use which was great. However we did have
a 15 minute walk each way to get to it.
The beach is also about 15 minute walk but is well worth it - its beautiful. Sandy with
gentle surf rolling in. It is a guarded beach with lifeguards. They put yellow flags
up as soon as the sea gets rough.The sea is cold at this time of year so we were glad
we packed our wetsuits. These also come in handy for the swimming pools as they are
freezing. Yes we looked a bit stupid but at least we were warm!
We found a great place to eat lunch if your looking for home cooking. "Julies" is a small cafe just up from the beach. She makes her own homemade pies and quiches. Also her Julies house brekfast is yum with English bacon and sausages. She cooks home made cakes. Her potatoe salad and coleslaw is the best. The other great place to eat is the Chinese resturant on the main strip. All main meals are only 3.50 Euros. The cheap price put us off to start with but as soon as we went in the decor and table lay out changed our minds.
All five of us ate for 50 Euros including a bottle of wine,three soft drinks and 3 puddings!
The old town of Albuefera is very beutiful and probably offers better quality restaurants.
Its a bit more expensive though. Especially Crespa Fresca right on the seafront. Good service but they're
out to rip you off. My children's drinks were 2.85 for a coke. The pizza that was on the children's menu turned out to be the adults pizza with adult price of 9 euros.The bill was nearly 100
euros with no puddings and they also not happy to accept the discount voucher that one of their touts gave us.Also my meal of BBQ ribs was rubbish. A taxi to the old town from Villanova costs about 5 euros or the road train 2 euros one way or 3.50 return.
To sum up- not a bad holiday,especially for what we paid for it. Resort is nice with plenty of choices to eat or drink.
As for the Villa nova-i would not go back due to the staffs rudeness and very unhelpful . They were all unprofessional except Jose in reception and the older guys from the pool bar where we ate breakfast each morning who were very pleasant and didn't mind going the extra mile.
We ended up not having the use of the swimming pool for the whole ten days, and we spoke to people who got here
before us so we reckon is was like that for at least 2 weeks.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Easyjet

10 years 1 month ago
We arrived at Vilanova Resort (Albufeira) at 12 midday after very good transfers from follow me tours the man on reception was very helpfull we had to pay 60 euros deposit (2 weeks) for the air con and tv remotes which we got back on checkout safety deposit was 10 euros plus 15 euros deposit again returned at checkout we were given a map to find our villa (one bed)and was allowed in even though it said 2pm on booking.

our villa was ok (more of a chalet) it was a bit dated but clean i have herd that some have been refurbished it was mainly dark wood inside and had open planed stairs to the bedroom they were very steep not good for young children or if you have had a few would be nasty if you fell onto hard floor and wall. kitchen had all you need kettle toaster microwave and cooker ect.Beds were ok not too bad

Big plus most villas are around the pool area so just open your patio doors onto a small patio area which leeds to grassed area and the pool so you can nip back to the room from the pool.Sun loungers lots round the pool never had problem getting one even upto 12 midday only minus no covers on them so not the most comfort.

The pool is quit big with three diving boards and is quite clean there is a small pool for the little ones.the pool area over all is very nice

Hotel position when you come out of the hotel you are on the strip with all the bars ect never had a problem with nois from the strip so ask for a villa round the pool only noise we had happend about three times people diving in the pool in the earl hours but i think someone moved them on.

Entertainment there wasnt any(day or night) which didnt bother us but maybe a prob if you like to stay in the hotel.Checkout no probs again.

to sum up nice hotel needs bit of a refurb great location nice pool area,i would use this hotel again would recommend the villas, good bar would recommend absolbar with Gry and Paulo very nice people come out of hotel turn right across main road at the zebra and the bar is up on the left about 900 yards pool table and a few games for the kids as well across from that is a resturaunt called silk very good food
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: medhotels

Recommended
Michael Davidson
10 years 10 months ago
Great holiday, Thomson staff excellent, especially Dan "the man" Preston and "Hyper" Hannah who were the main stays in the poolside and evening"casablanca bar" entertainments. Both brilliant entertainers who deserve to go far in whatever they choose to do. Accommodation was in basicly furnished but adequete roomy 3 bedroomed villa, only complaint that despite telling hotel staff that part of the air conditioning didnt work, it wasn't sorted out. Superb pool area, unable to move chained down sun-loungers but didnt cause much problems. Great location just off The Strip and our villa wasnt subject to any noise.
I can see possible problem in future as I believe the Hotel's new owner is cancelling the Thomson's contract and having open house policy to other companies. May result in poorer entertainment. Pity, as otherwise would consider going back in near future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Mrs D Anderson
10 years 11 months ago
Reps were absolutely brill!!! The complex was lovely too, Unfortunately we were put in block 4 directly overlooking the strip.

We were kept awake by the loud music and noise until 5am every day for 2 weeks.

Hotel manager said we could not move rooms...nasty so and so watch out for her!

Hotel staff were all pretty miserable good job the reps were there!

Food & drink is really expensive everywhere.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Lane
10 years 11 months ago
booked apartments but on arrival were given villas which were very nice although a bit dated .lovely grassed area and pools kept very clean .entertainment staff brilliant with kids and adults especially dan the man and hyper hannah.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Emma
10 years 11 months ago
the vilanova was the best hoiday i have ever been on i woud defently come back hyper hannah and dan the man are the best enertainment reps ever would recommend it to anyone.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Emma
10 years 11 months ago
the vilanova was brilliant it has been the best holiday i have ever been on hyper hannah and dan the man are the best reps ever they are always around the pool playing games or quizes and always in the casablanca bar at night best reps ever i would recommend it to anyone. does anyone know weather the same reps will still be there next year ? hope so there great.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Bev & Paul
11 years ago
We arrives Thurs afternoon had a studio was a late booking so unsure what we would get. Went straight to pool was bit disappointed with the rubbish that was all over the place especially around the snack bar. Would of like to of had bedroom with 2 beds rather than mattress on tiles slabs. When all said and done though we only slept in room never used it through day. The pool itself was fab 3 diving boards a definate must if you have a family. From what i saw of the reps they were brilliant with the kids. Going back to the pool understand why sunbeds were chained to floor except you couldn't move them far unable to sit close to your other half which was a downside for me. The complex and staff was great i would return but ask for a villa if i prebooked it, preferably round pool area.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
Patricia Dry
11 years ago
The whole apartment staff and cleanliness was excellent, would have no hesitation in going back there next year, Location was excellent right next to the strip, staff very helpful and friendley,
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum