Image of Vila Petra Aparthotel

Vila Petra Aparthotel

22 of 106 hotels in Albufeira

4 out of 5 from 28 reviews
4 stars
Rua Mouzinho de Albuquerque, 8200-356 Albufeira, Portugal

28 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    7
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    4
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Maz13
A very enjoyable stay here.
8 years 1 month ago
On first impressions the hotel reception looked a little tired and really didn't like the look of all the huge plants growing in the centre as a feature, but when we got to our 1 bedroom apartment my opinions completely changed. The apartment was big with a large double bedroom. Separate kitchen complete with dishwasher, fridge, microwave, cooker, kettle, very well equipped. Large bathroom, flatscreen tv with sky channels etc. In the hotel there was a small gym, indoor pool (need a swim hat) jaccuzzi, sauna, mini market, my teenage sons thought these were excellent.

The restaurant catered for all nationalities, we were half-board and the food was lovely, The evening meals were waiter service and the choices were very good and the staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The outdoor grounds were beautifully kept, and the pool was large and very clean. Although the hotel was full the areas such as the pool and restaurant never felt crowded.

The evening entertainment wasn't all that, karaoke, pianist, guitarists etc, but the hotel is only a few minutes walk from a lively strip of restaurants, bars and shops so it’s a nice to walk off some of the extra calories.
The vila petra is very clean and we all had a very enjoyable stay here.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Evelyn Dawson
8 years 3 months ago
We stayed at the Vila Petra in a studio apartment for a week in May 2010. It was our first holiday with our nine month old son. We found the apartment very satisfactory as it had lots of room for a cot and high chair for our son. The kitchen had a dishwasher and microwave. The pool area was lovely and clean with a separate childrens pool.The strip is very close to the hotel approximately two minute walk. Unfortunately our holiday had a terrible end as my husband was mugged walking back from the strip and had a five night stay in hospital. The hotel staff helped me out in every way they could, but I felt we could have been warned in advance about the high risk of muggings in the area.It is a lovely hotel but we will not be returning there.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Karen
10 years ago
Very impressed with room size, as we had a 2-bedroom apt. that slept 6. This was 2 bedrooms with 2 twin beds in, and 2 huge pullout settees in the front room. My son, who is 6 ft 4 loved the settees so much he refused to budge - and that was just lying on top of one, not even pulling out the bed!!
The snack bar was very good, if a little expensive - 5 euros for a coke! But good size platefuls, if you just fancied a lunchtime snack.
The hotel has a lovely big pool, and no fighting for a sun bed.Hurrah!
Excellent location. You are 2 minutes from The strip, but well away from any noise.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Smith
10 years ago
This hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were very nice. The hotel is just off the top of the strip but far enough away from the busy bars and clubs. It was our first time to the algarve and we would definately recommend this hotel and this area of Portugal. Has a large pool with plenty of sunbeds, the bar prices were expensive but no more so than what you would expect, we had 2 teenage girls with us and the place seemed really safe
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Bettina Southey
10 years 1 month ago
We arrived to be told that if we sioled the linens we would be charged, not the best welcome. The decor was tatty and dusty with a cobweb hanging from the air con unit. On the plus side towels were changed every day.The receptionist had a mobile phone attached to her at all times even when giving change. Most of the equipment was faulty in the gym and the table tennis and tennis courts were old there as a sign in the gym tht actually said-not running on treadmill!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

10 years 4 months ago
Excellent hotel, very clean and spacious with all mod cons. Loads of nice places to eat on strip. Bit expensive but this was mainly due to exchange rate.

Bad bit, we choose this hotel due to having an indoor pool and gym. The pool is used mainly for the locals swimming lessons (timetable on hotels website)they don't ask you to leave but it does make you feel very uncomfortable when the pool is full of portuguese female oap's attending auqa fit and your 3 and 5 year olds want to play.

Would go back, but not if we wanted indoor pool.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Sian
10 years 8 months ago
I was very impressed with the Vila Petra Hotel. It was clean, airy and rooms were very spacious. The air con took a bit of working out but a bonus to have. It was quite close to the strip, in easy walking distance, but we were away from all the hustle and bustle. We were there for New Year and there was a fantastic party on a local beach with a concert and fireworks, all the music was in English! It was the best New Year I think I have had. We will definately return in the future.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Ross
10 years 10 months ago
Just returned from an excellent stay at the Vila Petra. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Was exceptionally clean and staff were extremely friendly. We arrived at the hotel at 9am and although told we could not check into our room until 2pm the receptionist swapped rooms around so that we could check in straight away. When checking out you have to vacate room by 10am however upon our request we were allowed to keep the room on until 1pm with no extra charge.

The apartments are extremely clean and have everything you need i.e. hairdryer, toaster, microwave etc. Maids came in everyday and were friendly - made a big fuss of the children.

The pool area was really good and kids were in the pool from morning until early evening (far too cold for the adults though). They do have an indoor pool however you have to purchase swimming caps to wear.

We were self catering so did not eat in the hotel however there are numerous excellent restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

Will definitely be going back next year.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: On The Beach

Recommended
11 years ago
Back here again for another great holiday. The apartment had everything we needed and we got extra pillows and a replacement toaster upon request.
We all had sickness during the week and the cleaners were so good about changing bedding and towels.
The pool area is lovely and the staff did stop people leaving towels and heading off for the day so the people at the pool had the beds.
Bus to the beach is great, although we walked down you would not walk back up!
Really great place for family and couples to stay. Just off the strip and away from the noise.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
11 years 2 months ago
Have just got back from my second visit to the vila petra and I was not disapointed.

The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are friendly. We booked the holiday ourselves by using vila petras website and we ended up saving our selves a few hundred pounds by doing so.

We had booked a studio however on arrival found ourselves in a one bedroom apartment for no extra cost which was a pleasent suprise. The apartment itself was extremely spacious and had everything you need for staying self catering. The kitchen was equipped with an oven, hob, fridge, dishwaher, kettle and microwave. The living room had a tv, DVD player, 2 sofa beds and the all important air con!

The bathroom was gorgeous, all done out in marble eefect with a bath and over head shower, toilet, large sink and a massive mirror for vain people like myself to stare at yourself in.

The bedroom also had air con and the beds were really comfortable. Not hard and lumpy like some hotels Ive stayed at. There was also extra wardrobe space in the hall as you walked in so plenty of space to put your stuff.

We had a huge balcony that got the sun all day and there were chairs and a table if you wished to sit out and have food etc.

The room was cleaned every day and fresh towels were always left. The same woman cleaned the room every day so we got to know her and she would always say hello.

We didnt use the pool much as there was quite a few kids and we prefered to sit on our balcony or go out to the beach or the old town. The complex has a good range of facilities including an inside swimming pool,tennis & squash courts a gym, sauna, Turkish bath and massage room.

My boyfriend treated me to a massage which was 40 euros for an hour and it was really good, so relaxing.

We never really ate on the complex either so cant actually comment on the food. The supermarket on sight was good and things were fairly cheap.

The reception were always very friendly and they can change travellers cheques which makes it easier.

The hotel is situated just back from the strip so its easy to get to but at the same time you dont get the noise from the bars.

Like I said at the start this is my second trip to the vila petra and we like it so much we are going back for a third time next year with a group of family and friends.

I would definitely recommend to anyone.


Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: n/a

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Traveltext offers worldwide travel at unbeatable prices
Holiday Truths Forum