Image of Alvormar Apartments

Alvormar Apartments

1 of 15 hotels in Alvor

4 out of 5 from 14 reviews
3 stars
Rua Dom Sancho I 1, 8500-013 Alvor, Portugal

14 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    1
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Claire Costell And Darren Rose
3rd Stay - ideal for families
7 years ago
Just returned from our 3rd stay at these apartments and they didn't disappoint again.

Clean with friendly staff and in a great location. I have read that some people think the apartments need updating and yes, this is true but we did see lots of maintenance going on this year and there was also a brand new kitchen in apartment this year.

There is a small play area by the pool which was very useful when my children wanted a break from the water.

We found these apartments ideal for families with young children and would happily go back again and again!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Recommended
Geoff
In need of some TLC
7 years 3 months ago
The hotel is in a great location for all your needs the kitchen has a new oven and hob and all the pots / pans you could wish for.

Overall the rooms are old and tired and in need of a good refurb. Wall tiles are showing their age and signs of constant small repairs are evident. The cleaning was not as good as other places we have stayed at. Bedding changed once a week; fine in Winter but no good in Summer. Bath towels showing their age, as is the hotel.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Chris And David Hopkins
Third visit, speaks for itself!
7 years 7 months ago
This year will be our third visit to these apartments. I think that speaks for itself.

The apartments are a good size and well equipped. We weren't troubled at all by the birds visiting each evening, in fact I used to stand and watch them arriving each evening. The library is very useful as there is no need to pack any heavy books. You can usually find something to your taste.

I enjoyed the swimming pool very much as in October there weren't too many folk using it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Robbie And Susan
8 years 1 month ago
A real gem. A great central position but about a 10 minute walk to the beach. Well equipped apartments that are looking a tad tired but otherwise spacious. Staff top notch. the swimming pool is minuscule. If location is your prime objective with the town centre only 3 minutes away then the Alvormar Apartments are highly recommended. One suggestion when booking request a room not overlooking the road as it can be a little noisy for a short while late evenings.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Monarch Holidays

Recommended
Mc Colgan
9 years 6 months ago
Alvormar is a centralised hotel with town 5mins away,beach 5/10mins away,bus stop & taxi rank on the doorstep.The hotel rooms are well equipped,tv,microwave,a 4 ring cooker,toaster,cooking utensils & plenty of crockery etc. Staff/housekeeping are excellent. The poolside is cramped but clean,snacks available,as is alcohol. A great area to watch birds do their eveningsong very entertaining. Ive stayed here three times without complaint,hotel has its own beauty salon & launderette next door.The primary school is on the same stretch of road,some balconies look onto main road but not an inconvenience.All rooms have air coditioning.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Freedom direct.com

Recommended
Karen
9 years 7 months ago
right in the heart of the town and a mere 5-10 min stroll to the beach.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended
9 years 7 months ago
In 2007 we went to Alvor for the first time and stayed about 10-15 min walk away, so we had looked at Alvormar before we booked, we didn't see any rooms then but liked what we saw, but was an ideal location

Was really surprised at the size of the apartment we had, it was kept clean, beach was 20 minute walk everything else a short walk away.


I have already booked for next September

Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Flyglobespan

Recommended
10 years 7 months ago
Pleasantly surprised when entering our apartment. Found it to be larger than expected and kitchen well fitted out. Kettle, microwave and toaster also. There was a tv. No noise at all and only 5 mins away from nightlife. Taxis practically outside ans also bus stop which we used to go to Portimao. Pool only small but a games room with snooker table and a childs play area plus small pool. Also a snack bar which is very reasonably priced. We only went to the pool area once as we prefer the beach. The beach is lovely but surrounded by waste ground and nothing in the way of shops etc.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: travel republic

Recommended
Clark
11 years 8 months ago
We had a family two week holiday in the Alvormar Apartments. Enjoyable holiday, with the apartments having an excellent location close to all the town bars and restaurants (5 mins walk) and beach (15-20 mins depending on small child walking speed!!).

Not much in the way of facilities in hotel, just a pool side bar doing snacks, sandwiches, burgers, drinks, etc - fine for lazing by the pool during the day, and so close to town that we ate out everynight (but decent kitchen if you want to self cater). A very small pool, but friendly family atmosphere with all the kids mixing well.

Fine for the money and would be happy to go back. Alvor is a great town and we loved it (but not for the nightclub brigade!)
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Hotel Rental Group

Recommended
Terry And Kate
12 years 6 months ago
A smaller complex of about 50 rooms centrally located about 5 minutes from the Old Town. The rooms are clean, comfortable and well equipped and include air conditioning .

The Alvomar apartments are an ideal base if you do not want many facilities on site. A small swimming pool and cramped area with sun loungers. The beach is a 20 minute casual walk but the main bus stop to Lagos and Portimao is just around the corner.

The bedrooms back onto the corridor and you therefore do hear some noise when guests return to their rooms at night. Not really disturbing but could be an issue if you have children who want to get to sleep.

All round we thought this accommodation was a high standard and the staff were wonderful. Rooms cleaned 6 days a week.

Ideal for couples.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Cosmos

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum