Image of Dunas do Alvor Apartments

Dunas do Alvor Apartments

8 of 15 hotels in Alvor

4 out of 5 from 29 reviews
3 stars
Estrada Da Barca, Alvor. 8500-588 Portimão.Portugal., Portugal
There's a friendly atmosphere at the modern Dunas do Alvor. A spacious sun terrace, cafes, bars and shops are close by in the horseshoe-shaped courtyard of one block of the apartments.

29 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    6
  • Very Good
    18
  • Good
    3
  • Average
    2
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Service
  • Location
C.woodcock
9 years 11 months ago
the only good thing about the hotel was the cactus 11 bar. the staff were really welcoming and made our holiday worth while. the pool was suitable but very cold. we stayed for two weeks but didnt have our beds changed for the whole two weeks we were there. our towels were only changed twice a week.

mark and ali and there wonderful staff debbie and bridie. mr and even younger miss rotherham wish to thank you for your hospitality and my bugs, we would definatly visit alvor again but not the dunas do alvor apartments. mark, ali were coming to stay with you and pepe.
we only been back a few hours, and we are missing you all already. thankyou again and hope to visit you again xxxxx
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thompson

10 years 1 month ago
The apartments are well located between beach and resort centre. Certainly better located than many of the others featured in brochures.
We had a 1 bedroomed apt for 4 of us. I normally go for two bedrooms but couldn
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: T Cooks

Recommended
Jason
10 years 1 month ago
we stayed at these apartments to celabrate a family members birthday and we thought everyone who got involved to make sure it happened did a brilliant job especially mark and ali from the cactos ii bar. the apartments we found were very clean and tidy and positioned very well the pool was clean as was the surrounding area we enjoyed the 2 week stay very much and the weather was out of this world.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Hebden
10 years 2 months ago
Hotel was what we wanted just gald to get away and relax. Looked onto the road but never bothered us had a great time at the Cactus bar Mark and Ali were great fun had many a good night there. hope they remember us Mr & Mrs Yorkshire who thought about moving there
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
10 years 11 months ago
We had a wonderful week at the Dunas Do Alvor. Our apartment was massive with two balconies. It had everything we needed- including an electric kettle and toaster- and the reception staff were very helpful too. The pool area was well kept and clean and the pool itself massive. We had some wonderful evenings in the Cactos 2 bar but never tried the restaurants in the complex, other than for a quick snack, as there are far too many authentic Portugese eateries to try.
The only gripe was the walk to the beach, slightly more than 400m as the brochure staes and across wasteland which is an issue for me as I walk with crutches.
Would go back and will recommend.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thoms Cook

Recommended
Debbie Mccabe
11 years ago
Stayed at the Dunas Do apartments through to the first week in September. Had a fantastic time. The apartments are very clean and spacious, more than enough room for three of us.
We had 2 balconies both of which were plenty big enough. We also a had kettle in full working order!
Maid service was excellent. Fully equipped for self caterers, although it is probably cheaper to eat out.

Lovely big bathroom and lots of clean towels.
Entertainment provided by the Catos 11 Bar (with Mark & Ali) and not fogetting their bar staff Amanda & Debbie. You will be known throughout your hol's as mr & Mrs (and the town you are from) We are Mr & Mrs Manchester and young Mr Manchester. Marco's restaurant does the most delicous meals. His mega grill is not for the faint hearted. I would recommend the Lamb shank, Mmmmmmmm Only one reastaurant gets a huge thumbs down and that is The Carvery situated just past the taxi rank- Don't bother. The food is a disgrace.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Susan Somers
11 years 2 months ago
The apartments are quite big but lacking a few facilities such as an electric kettle,air conditioning and certain cutlery items. There is a large swimming pool and a small one for the toddlers. On location visit the Charity shop for stray dogs, there you can pick up a lilo for as little as 4 euros. Then you can return them at the end of your holiday. We found the rooms to get very hot at night but fans are available to hire. The balcony was a little small and overlooked by your neighbour.The windows and patio door didn't lock so we had to wedge them shut. The location of the apartment was good. The supermarket was right outside across the street.I wouldn't stay at the dunas do again though.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Louise Wheeldon
11 years 4 months ago
Thought the accomodation needed an electric kettle as waiting for the rings to heat up took forever!!

The local staff at Marcos and Cactus 2 bar were excellent made you fell really welcome! My hubby and I took ill over the week with flu Marcos staff really looked after us. Thank you!!!!! x x

The kids loved Ali's "Crazy Frog" and found on the bus via Posh Birmingham the secret ingredient bottle for us from Ali. Thank you again!!!!!! X x

We'll Miss all the people mentioned above that made our holiday so relaxing.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Dianne
11 years 4 months ago
Clean but basic, the apartments are very spacious though would certainly benefit from an electric kettle as another reviewer said as well as sharp knives and comfortable seating.

It was Easter when we visited but nevertheless we had expected the apartment to be cleaned more regularly than it was - twice over the week. Furthermore, no-one was particularly bothered when we mentioned this to them. The rooms were cold - a God send in the Summer I'm sure but in April heating should have been available and wasn't.

Good location for the town with lovely restaurants a-plenty (Alcaide was super as was Bouganvila) and the gorgeous beaches fairly close too.

The cafe on site, Marco's, serves lovely food in the day time and full breakfasts were great start to the day.

Cactos II bar is a real gem with a genuine and lovely couple, Mark and Ali, who entertain as well as provide the drinks and make sure they welcome everyone; Mark's speciality as well as singing is making sure everyone gets to know the rest by the names of their home towns! Made us laugh anyway!
Well worth a visit.

All in all Alvor too is worth a visit but this Apart-hotel needs to lose its complacency!
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Rebekah Bell
11 years 10 months ago
What can I say, absolutely idyllic. My self and my partner spent 10 days here in October, the weather wasn't the best, we even had a mini tornado (so the staff said) but we still had a wonderful time.
Alvor is a beautiful little fishing town and the Dunas do Alvor are situated perfectly between the town centre and the beach.
The complex has a lovely swimming pool, if a little cold in October. There's a great wee shop on complex and a couple of places to eat but the best thing is Mark and Ali in the Cactus Bar II. They are little gems, well worth spending time with them, wicked cocktails too!!
The staff are very friendly and helpful, the apartments are huge and well cleaned. Like a few others have mentioned we were on the roadside and got woken most mornings by the school bell! If you put the kettle on as soon as you wake I found it boiled by the time we had our cornflakes.
All in all if you want a relaxing holiday the Dunas is a great place to stay - hey they even have a laundrette on site - bliss.
We will definatley be back again and take the kids with us too next time.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum