Image of Alvorferias Club Apartments

Alvorferias Club Apartments

10 of 15 hotels in Alvor

3 out of 5 from 40 reviews
3 stars
Clube Alvorferias, Estrada de Alvor 27, 8500-521 ALVOR, Portugal

40 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    15
  • Good
    13
  • Average
    6
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Francis
10 years 1 month ago
apartments very clean and were huge,lovely pools the quiter one over the bridge was where we went most days.handy pool bar for drinks etc not cheap tho.shop on site good too lovely fresh baked rolls in morning.snack bar was ok as well kids liked burgers chips but again not cheap.decent walk into town but worth it alvor is lovely.beach is also a walk away but again well worth it.we'll be going again sometime soon i hope.......
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomas cook

Recommended
Doyle
10 years 11 months ago
Club Alvorferias is a large complex devided by a foot bridge, on arrival my partner and I were given a room in the reception area and our friends on the other side of the foot bridge on the Saturday evening, Sunday morning our friends apartment was broken into and 1000 euro was taken on them which was locked into their suitcase, then 4 other couples apartments were also broken into and their safes were taken off the walls of their apartments, money passports visa cards were all taken from the safes. My own apartment also had someone snooping in it as my purse was trown on the floor when we returned to the room but there was no money in it. All the apartments broken into had no signs of a break in and all doors and windows were lockek. So be very careful with money in these apartments and dont even feel secure if you have taken out a safety deposit box.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: First Choice

Jill And Tony
10 years 11 months ago
Just got back from 2 weeks in Alvor, and we were very happy with our apartment apart from a awfull pong some days, not every day, I asked maids to put some thing down drains but she said`it is the time!

We had a huge balcony that had soil pipes I think that is what hubby said and he thought they should have been higher, but that wasn't all the time, we got a air freshener and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Didn't really use the pool as we like the beach 20 min walk, excellent beaches all sand, dunes or rocky and caves, we found a lovely cove, and all the bars on beach, great, best coffee ever I reckon over there.

We also had a little balcony looking out on to a old farm yard, nice to watch the man come up with his horse and cart and the dog greeting him, chicken and pig making noise, we live in country so it was good to hear.

We found the staff helpfull and friendly, our rep Claire very nice, we never go back any where but if we did I would go there, not for evening entertainment though, I didn't see what they did for kids but club is little and mostly kareoke, or tv, but we were into oct before we left, good weather apart from 3 wet days,in 80s some days, hotter than I expected, good fun super holiday.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: thomson

Recommended
Debbie Hannigan
11 years 2 months ago
Large apartments. We stayed over the bridge on the other side of the road.

Pool here was quieter with a Kiosk for ice creams and drinks (quite expensive).

Very disappointment with maid services, had to request clean towels regularly, only changed the bed once in a fortnight and didn't empty bins until specifically requested.

The shower didn't work and even after we requested that it be fixed, it never was. Hot water was also very limited and cold showers were had by all!

Overall cleanliness of the apartment was poor.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:

Travel operator: Mytravel Light

Duffield
11 years 2 months ago
This complex is split into two parts with a bridge across a fairly busy road connecting the two. Both sides of the complex have their own pool, we were on the side of the road away from Reception and this was generally the quieter side, apart from the noise from the road on a night. The rooms are large and reasonably set up, if a little dated. As there were 5 of us our room had two bed rooms and a very large lounge area with the extra bed. The rooms had TV and aircon, but to work them you need to pay a deposit at reception for the remotes. The problem apart from the road is the dogs! There is a house near the reception building with a number of dogs that bark loudly almost all night. It did not affect us too much being over the road, but you do notice them. The pool area was ok but did not seem to get much attention from the cleaners. The staff were friendly but the pool side bar was expensive. The entertainment in an evening was in a small bar area which smokey and tended to be kids singing kareoke! Daytime entertainment seem to consist of pool games for youngsters.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: JMC

Andrea
11 years 10 months ago
Well what can I say, again they have outshone themselves. Everything about this hotel is great, I couldn't fault anything.

It's the second time we have been and would recommend this hotel to anyone who asked.

Food is ok, the only let down really about the food were the burgers.

Staff are really helpful & couldn't do enough for you.

I will definatly return again
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Panorama

Recommended
Sinclair
12 years ago
After arriving on a flight at 5am to be told that our rooms would not be ready til 12 noon did not put us in very holidaying moods.

When we finally did get our rooms we were all a bit too tired to take anything in after a short nap we woke in much better moods to take everything in.

The apartments were huge we were situated on the other side away from reception which in our eyes was the better side. Our apartment was over looking the pool and we could see the sea in the distance.

The hotel was very clean with the cleaners working non stop they were quite friendly but understood little English.

The hotel food was o.k a little pricey. The only downside was the location of the apartments.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: airtours

Recommended
HAYLEY
12 years 1 month ago
Well what can I say we love this place! It is the second time we have been and will be returning next month.

The apartments are large but basic but have everything you need.

The location of the apartments is in a very good place just a five minute walk away from loads of bars and resturants.

The hotel staff are lovely and helpful and good looking!!

The entertainment in the club on site is fair could be better.

The pool area is clean and large and has lots of sunbeds for everyone there are also pool boys who sit and watch the pool so the children are safe around it.

The beach is further to walk but there is a bus that will take and pick you up from the beech that leaves from the apartments so I would take this if you have little children or disabled people because it is quite a trek to the beech, but well worth it when you get there, and when we were there we were sat next to Mike McCarthy for anyone who now
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: TOMPSON

Recommended
12 years 3 months ago
The hotel is based about a 20 mins walk from the main village of Alvor, but don't worry too much if you think this sounds a little too far, we did it with a 5yr old no probs.

The beach is about 20mins walk down hill (not steep)
The complex is on 2 sites at either side of the main road, joined by a bridge, both sites have their own pool. We stayed in a spacious 1 bedrm apt (reception side), the balconies are very small. The cleaners came in daily to empty the bins, towels changed every 4 dys, bedding every 7days. They aren't the best of cleaners, but don't do a bad job.

The Thompson Rep (Claire) is great, she has worked in the Algarve 15yrs and is VERY helpful. Not much in way of evening entertainment, but we didn't go there for that.

There's a kids mini disco in the bar in the evening. In the day there is a small kids club (free I think.) The staff at reception are very helpful, the pool bar staff (reception side) are equally as nice. The pool area is fairly spacious a lot of sunbeds to go round, but prob in height of season it would be a 1st come 1st serve. Yes I would recommend this hotel.

The village of Slvor is FAB, but at first we were a bit unsure, it certainly gre on us, It is a lovely fishing village, with plenty of place to eat, The beaches are great very clean.

I would recommend hiring a car, visiting, Monchique and foio in the hills, great views. Also cape st vincent and Sagres are worth a visit, you can call at some great beaches on route.

Another great day out )we went with Thomsons) is Splash and slide, Under 5's i think were free. Our 5yr old went on loads on big rides. I would go back to both Clube Alvoferias and Alvor again.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
David Sanders
12 years 3 months ago
We stayed here on a very cheap (half brochure price)allocated on arrival, late booking. With this in mind I cannot seriously fault these apartments. If however we had paid the full brochure price, I might have had a few misgivings.

The complex overall is very well maintained, all of the buildings appear freshly painted, and the green/garden areas are kept very neat & tidy. Both of the swimming pools and their surroundings also appear very clean. The cleanliness of our spacious studio apartment was just about adequate, as were the facilities. There was no microwave, toaster or electric kettle, so it meant a leisurely wait to boil water in an old fashioned type kettle on the oven hob! Thankfully though aircon was included, they charge a refundable 25 euro deposit for the remote control.

We didn't try the restaurant, or poolside snack bar, so can't comment on the food. The on-site supermarket as one might expect is not cheap, but is reasonably well stocked. It's opening hours are best described as quirky! 0830-1300 & 1500-1800 this means it is closed, just as you are thinking about having lunch or tea/dinner. So if not eating out, a bit of forward planning is required, the next nearest supermarket is a 15 min. walk away down the hill in Alvor.

The complex is on either side of a main road, with a pedestrian bridge linking the two halves. The road wasn't very busy (in May) so traffic noise not an issue. Our apartment was in the block opposite the supermarket, and was blissfully quiet both day & night. It's a 15-20 min. stroll into Alvor town. The fabulously beautiful Prainha beach is about 25 mins away and well worth seeking out, it can be most easily accessed via the lift in the cliff belonging to the Canico restaurant/bar.

The reception staff are very polite and helpful, the shop staff are polite and cheerful, and the cleaners are friendly too. In fact we did not encounter any miserable or rude people serving customers anywhere inside or outside the complex. English is very widely spoken in Alvor, but as ever, at least attempting a few words of Portugese is generaly appreciated.

We didn't partake of the hotel entertainment, so can't fairly comment on it. Children that were present seemed quite content with the pools, play areas and organized kids club. The t.v in the apartment had BBC1, Sky news and C.beebies/BBC4 channels.

We would definately stay at this complex again, but only if it was offered at a bargain price again!







Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum