Image of Alvor

Alvor Holidays

4 out of 5 from 134 reviews

Hotels in Alvor, Portugal

Image of Alvor Club Apartments
13 of 15 hotels in Alvor
6 Reviews
Image of Alvor Jardim Aparthotel
9 of 15 hotels in Alvor
4 Reviews
Image of Alvorferias Club Apartments
10 of 15 hotels in Alvor
40 Reviews
Image of Alvormar Apartments
1 of 15 hotels in Alvor
14 Reviews
Image of Dunas do Alvor Apartments
8 of 15 hotels in Alvor
29 Reviews
Image of Luna Alvor Bay
5 of 15 hotels in Alvor
Ask for a higher floor.
1 Review
Image of Luna Clube Brisamar
15 of 15 hotels in Alvor
Use the hotel taxi to the town/beach, and there is a washer in apartment so take wash tablets. Quiet on Sundays but still some things are open..
1 Review
Image of Maralvor Apartments
14 of 15 hotels in Alvor
4 Reviews
Image of Pestana Alvor Atlantico Hotel
4 of 15 hotels in Alvor
3 Reviews
Image of Pestana Alvor Park Hotel
5 of 15 hotels in Alvor
1 Review
Image of Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel
5 of 15 hotels in Alvor
1 Review
Image of Pestana Delfim Hotel
12 of 15 hotels in Alvor
7 Reviews
Image of Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel
3 of 15 hotels in Alvor
9 Reviews
Image of Quinta Nova Sun Club Apartments
11 of 15 hotels in Alvor
17 Reviews
Image of Vitors Plaza Apartments
2 of 15 hotels in Alvor
34 Reviews

134 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    36
  • Very Good
    63
  • Good
    25
  • Average
    7
  • Poor
    3

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
Claire Costell And Darren Rose
7 years 7 months ago
Alvor is a lovely village with great places to eat where families are always welcome. Great if you don't want your night life too lively. The beach is about 15 minutes walk but worth it. I would recomend alvor to anyone with children.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Geoff
7 years 11 months ago
Alvor is a nice place for all except thoes with walking issues..be prepared to remove dog mess from your shoes as there is a lot of it about .overall the place is nice and frendley ...you get what you pay for sums it up
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Chris And David Hopkins
8 years 2 months ago
There are plenty of eateries and bars to cater for all tastes in the resort and we had great fun in the one of the Irish bars. We found some wonderful beaches not too far away. We are looking forward to our holiday there this year very much and will probably try to visit again in 2012. We love Alvor and the Alvormar Apartments.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Patricia Devlin
8 years 6 months ago
The Maralvor is 35mins away from the main resort of Alvor. alvor is beautiful with some really good restaurants. The beach is very clean, we would definately visit Alvor again
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Rach
9 years 2 months ago
Alvor is a lovely resort, it was described to us before we left as 'cornwall in the sun' and in some places, especially down at the harbour then it really is, lots of tavernas selling fresh fish and a good atmosphere. The harbour area is very pretty and it's nice to sit and watch the boats as the sun goes down. The beaches are also very well maintained with sunbed and parasol hire costing us 10 euro which we thought was very reasonable, the lady hiring even threw in a third sunbed for our daughter.

We didn't find much entertainment on in the main resort area, maybe it was because of the time of year. We did however find a great bar just at the edge of the resort of Alvor called the Cactos II. It's owner Mark and his wife Ali do an excellent job of making their customers feel very welcome. Mark provides live music every evening and they really go out of their way to make every customer feel special, we cannot recommend the Cactos enough for anyone visiting Alvor, we found their prices were also a lot more reasonable than the habour area.

The only annoyance with the resort is the pavements, or lack of them. With a 3 year old and a pushchair we thought it was dangerous. Our rep. tried to tell us it was perfectly fine but we didn't feel it was and apparently the local council are going to be upgrading the pavements, i'm not sure when. If you want a resort with a walkway right along the beach then it's not the place.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Alan
9 years 4 months ago
Alvor is a lovely fishing port, with great beaches. It is more for couples and families, not singles looking for a wild time.

Good choice of restaurants, with the best food being at the Lemon Tree which we found excellent quality and friendly staff.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
J White
9 years 6 months ago
Alvor is a lovely quiet resort, and has a lovely beach. Many fine restaurants. It was a delight to walk through the town at night.
There is an excellent bus service to several delightful destinations.
I will be taking another holiday in Alvor in September. I will be staying nearer the town and the beach.
If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place to go.
I would rate this resort 5.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Bobby
9 years 7 months ago
Alvor smashing place to stay if you like a more traditional holiday. The small quaint cobbled streets come alive at night, with the smell of freshly cooked fish wafting around the beach front bars and restaurants. if you like a friendly bar with entertainment every night then you must visit the Cactus11 bar. Mark and Alison the hosts make you feel very welcome, and provide a good experience with the minimum of fuss. Marks range of songs chosen (by the audience)keep you singing along in a light hearted atmosphere enjoyed by all. Well done Mark and Ali!! from all of us Wirralians
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Mc Colgan
10 years 2 months ago
Alvor a tradional fishing village,with lovely people.Their English is perfect as their service. Restaurants serve high quality food,for seafood the choice is wide ranging fresh everyday but Monday. Nightlife varies but good,Saturday night the town is buzzing the Portuguese party til late,in fact most bars dont come to life til mid-night. In Alvor theres a great sports complex,pool,gym & sports grounds.For walkers like me,there is the long beach & sand dunes,all other areas are roads some steep some on busy roads. I would recommend Alvor for families & 45+.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Carolanne Haffie
10 years 3 months ago
Alvor is really nice with lots of places to eat. Was still a busy resort in September, but not as busy as the months before, but just how I like it.

on our first night we ate at the Albar snack bar & restaurant. fantastic value for money, service was quick and the staff freindly. and twice we ate at the Grill restaurante A Lote, just up from the harbour, with the biggest prawns iv ever seen, and the food is the best ever. staff great and will be back to eat again.

The Black Stove bar, really freindly staff and met other some friendly customers, with great entertainment every night.

Booked for Sept 2009

Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Luna Clube Brisamar
Luna Clube Brisamar
Alvor, Portugal
Small but content...
Image of Luna Alvor Bay
Luna Alvor Bay
Alvor, Portugal
Great Hotel
Image of Alvormar Apartments
Alvormar Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
3rd Stay - ideal for families
Image of Maralvor Apartments
Maralvor Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
The Maralvor was bleak in as much as the pool area…
Image of Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel
Pestana Dom Joao II Hotel
Alvor, Portugal
We had an excellent family holiday in Pestana Dom …
Image of Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Dunas do Alvor Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
the only good thing about the hotel was the cactus…
Image of Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel
Pestana Alvor Praia Hotel
Alvor, Portugal
we have visited this hotel many times over the y…
Image of Alvorferias Club Apartments
Alvorferias Club Apartments
Alvor, Portugal
apartments very clean and were huge,lovely pools t…
Other popular destinations
Image of Albufeira
Albufeira
Algarve
Image of Praia Da Rocha
Praia Da Rocha
Algarve
Image of Funchal
Funchal
Madeira
Image of Vilamoura
Vilamoura
Algarve
Image of Lagos
Lagos
Portugal
Image of Carvoiero
Carvoiero
Algarve
Image of Monte Gordo
Monte Gordo
Algarve
Image of Portimao
Portimao
Algarve
Image of Olhos de Agua
Olhos de Agua
Portugal
Image of Praia da Oura
Praia da Oura
Algarve