Image of Funchal

Funchal Holidays

3 out of 5 from 95 reviews

Hotels in Funchal, Portugal

Image of Baia Azul Hotel
22 of 24 hotels in Funchal
3 Reviews
Image of CS Madeira Atlantic Resort & Sea Spa Hotel
12 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Duas Torres Hotel
23 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Eden Mar Suite Hotel
10 of 24 hotels in Funchal
2 Reviews
Image of Enotel Lido Madeira Hotel
4 of 24 hotels in Funchal
7 Reviews
Image of Four Views Monumental Hotel
18 of 24 hotels in Funchal
10 Reviews
Image of Girassol Hotel
19 of 24 hotels in Funchal
7 Reviews
Image of LTI Pestana Grand Ocean Resort Hotel
12 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Madeira Panoramico Hotel
10 of 24 hotels in Funchal
2 Reviews
Image of Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel
12 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Madeira Regency Palace Hotel
21 of 24 hotels in Funchal
A higher floor for a good view
5 Reviews
Image of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
2 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel
7 of 24 hotels in Funchal
7 Reviews
Image of Pestana Casino Park Hotel
8 of 24 hotels in Funchal
13 Reviews
Image of Pestana Grand Hotel
9 of 24 hotels in Funchal
3 Reviews
Image of Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
6 of 24 hotels in Funchal
5 Reviews
Image of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
12 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Porto Mare Hotel
5 of 24 hotels in Funchal
10 Reviews
Image of Porto Santa Maria Hotel
3 of 24 hotels in Funchal
12 Reviews
Image of Quinta Da Casa Branca Hotel
1 of 24 hotels in Funchal
4 Reviews
Image of Quinto do Sol Hotel
12 of 24 hotels in Funchal
1 Review
Image of Raga Madeira Hotel
20 of 24 hotels in Funchal
15 Reviews
Image of Savoy Gardens Hotel
24 of 24 hotels in Funchal
Wait until the building work has finished before booking a holiday at this hotel
3 Reviews
Image of The Cliff Bay Hotel
17 of 24 hotels in Funchal
13 Reviews

95 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    3
  • Very Good
    23
  • Good
    50
  • Average
    15
  • Poor
    4

Review Overview

  • Eating Out
  • Nightlife
  • Beaches
A L D
7 years ago
Fuchal is a working town so at night all the shops are shut ,so apart from the restaurants there's not much entertainment ,no beach - but the Island is beautiful when you get away from Funchal,car hire is a must , up in the mountains the views are
fantastic , would i return - someday maybe !.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Carol Cox
7 years 5 months ago
Very friendly locals. There are not a lot of nightclubs in Madeira. There is a casino. No beaches as such in Madeira, Porto Santo has beaches but is a ferry ride way. Taxi drivers seem to charge what they like.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Gina Coles
8 years 3 months ago
Madeira is a very clean island with a very low crime rate. We hired a car and went to several little villages but very rarely found a village centre (as you do in France, for instance) where you could sit with a coffee/beer and watch the world go by. One fishing village was full of what appeared to be fishermen on a day off lounging around and we soon left there.
We did find the odd cafe but they were always on the roadside away from the village. The rides through the mountains to get to different locations were fabulous and the views are some of the best I have ever seen.
It takes a while to find your way around the island. The roads do not have numbers and only the next village is marked on the signposts, so you need to get a map and make a list of all the villages en route to your destination. There's a lot of going around in circles!
It took us four visits to Funchal to find a row of shops. There were a couple of blocks of shops accessable from the seafront but nothing worth looking at. It wasn't until we were in a taxi on our way back to the hotel we went through about 30 - 40 really nice looking shops near the flower market - all closed for the night. As we were leaving early the next morning we never got to visit them.
I would have liked to do the toboggan ride or one of the cable cars but never saw any advertising for either and forgot all about doing them. As it was I spent a great deal of time in my hotel room reading and sleeping, which was absolutely lovely, but I do wish I had been inspired to do more!
Oh yes, as we took off we flew over a lovely beach with parasols and what looked like a handy bar!!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Terry &Mary Ledger.
8 years 5 months ago
The resort of Madeira is an outstanding place to spend a relaxing and comfortable vacation, the friendliness of the locals,the cleanliness of the resort and the availability of many forms of entertainment (enough to suit every taste) especially the restaurant scene makes this island a must to anyone wanting to spoil themselves. Please dont be put off by my beach standard rating,this was only made after the terrible floods and landslides engulfed the small beach area in funchal,and was being cleaned up daily whilst we were there and should by now be cleared away.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Billy & Sally Owen
8 years 11 months ago
Funchal is a working city, and so the transport is excellent. From the centre of town you can catch buses to just about anywhere on the island. There is no beach in Funchal, but the hotels more than make up for this with their pool facilities.

We would recommend taking the cable car up to Monte. You can take tea at the Quinta de Monte hotel, in their lovely gardens. You can tobbogan half way down from Monte in traditional wicker sleds. It is pricey, but you only have to do this once, just to say that you have! Be aware of the cab drivers, they do not always put their meters on and can try and charge more than you should really pay.

That said, it's a great place to stay if you want a quiet peaceful holiday without the 18-30 crowd.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
G.Wright
9 years 2 months ago
Stayed at Funchal ,lovely resort with plenty going on,went up cable car,and eat out at different restaurants every night,never had one bad meal.Shame there is only a small beach,but plenty of lidos for swimming in sea,with sea water pools,plenty of shops and cafes.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Suze
9 years 6 months ago
Funchal is simply amazing. Lush, green and so colourful. The locals are very friendly, especially if you attempt a little portuguese. The food is amazing and I can especially recommend the small bars that are dotted almost on every street, quite often not visible until you pass them - great tapas style food and incredibly good value. If you want steak on a stone, there are plenty of restaurants that do it, was well as lots of restaurants serving fresh fish and seafood. The cable cars are worth every penny, but we did skip the wicker toboggans as we had had to put ourselves on a bit of a budget after moving hotels. The Botanical Garens are amazing, but then, so is the rest of the island! Lovely - very lovely. Would love to go again.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Den Carter
9 years 6 months ago
The Lido area of Funchal suited us very well. We especially enjoyed walking along to the cinema at the The Forum Shopping Centre and visited five times during our month long stay.There is a great choice of food outlets - don't miss the opportunity to try the estpatada at Lareira's restaurant - nicest food and staff anywhere. We enjoyed the walk into Funchal and loved the island. Boat trips were amazing - saw dolphins each time. Watch out for the levada walks they can be terrifying and you're not necessarily made aware of that when you book but it is a very relaxing, friendly island and we will definitely return to that resort.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Steve
9 years 8 months ago
A very nice place ( Funchal Lido) plenty of choice in eating & drinking I didn't see much in the way of nightlife. Just a few cocktail bars, but to be fair wasn't looking for this.No rating for the beach because there isn't one! but this was pointed out by the travel agent before we went mostly rocks in place of beaches throughout the island.The streets are kept very clean by an army of sweepers throughout the day, & at all times of the day & night we felt safe walking about.There are occasional forays by timeshare touts though !!
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Peter & Karen
10 years ago
Very clean resort, where you make your own entertainment.
No beach as such, but there is the ferry to Porto Santo with miles of golden beaches.
Beaches:
Night Life:
Eating Out:
Recent reviews
Image of Savoy Gardens Hotel
Savoy Gardens Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Constant noise from Building Site Next door
Image of Madeira Regency Palace Hotel
Madeira Regency Palace Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Regency Palace Hotel Madeira
Image of Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Pestana Promenade Ocean Resort Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Hotel mostly OK
Image of Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Second Class Guest
Image of Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel
Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Great Hotel recently refurbished
Image of Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Excellent hotel for adults only
Image of Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Funchal, Portugal
Good for families of all ages, regular entertainment,
Image of Raga Madeira Hotel
Raga Madeira Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
The Raga is the most awful hotel we have ever stayed at
Image of The Cliff Bay Hotel
The Cliff Bay Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
Efficient and friendly
Image of Baia Azul Hotel
Baia Azul Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
just arrived back really enjoyed holiday overall, …
Image of Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
The Porto Mare is a lovely hotel both in terms of …
Image of Duas Torres Hotel
Duas Torres Hotel
Funchal, Portugal
we enjoyed our stay at this apt hotel, the rooms…
Other popular destinations
Image of Albufeira
Albufeira
Algarve
Image of Alvor
Alvor
Algarve
Image of Praia Da Rocha
Praia Da Rocha
Algarve
Image of Vilamoura
Vilamoura
Algarve
Image of Lagos
Lagos
Portugal
Image of Carvoiero
Carvoiero
Algarve
Image of Monte Gordo
Monte Gordo
Algarve
Image of Portimao
Portimao
Algarve
Image of Olhos de Agua
Olhos de Agua
Portugal
Image of Praia da Oura
Praia da Oura
Algarve