Image of Four Views Monumental Hotel

Four Views Monumental Hotel

18 of 24 hotels in Funchal

4 out of 5 from 10 reviews
4 stars
Estrada Monumental 284, 9004 ? 541 Funchal, Portugal

10 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    0
  • Very Good
    7
  • Good
    2
  • Average
    1
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Deana
9 years 11 months ago
Stayed in this hotel with a large family group, we called 2 days before and asked if any apartments were free and how much for an upgrade, Because it was a Sunday the booking office was closed. When we arrived to check in, the receptionist I spoke to remembered me and had upgraded us free of charge. The apartments are fantastic, we had a sea view, loads of extra room, a kitchen with hob, microwave, toaster, everthing you'd need.
The only down side was the building work on the adjacent apartments. The drilling did occasionly start at 9am and could be heard on and off throughout the day, but as we weren't in our room all day this didn't bother us much.
Food while not a huge choice one fish, one meat each evening came with a nice selection of veg and potatoes. "not always chips". Lovely puds, fresh salads, nice soup and pasta dishes. Even saw staff taking the temperature of the salad dishes.
The staff were friendly, though I found Madieran people very friendly everywhere on the Island. The rooms were left spotless. Towel's changed as often as you required. Pool towels left in your room, hairdryer in bathroom. Nice little extra touches.
Great little cafe/bar across the road to the left, food and drink the cheapest we found. Food good quality. Entertainment while looked ok, with a 4 year old not suitable and started about 10.00-10.30pm so didn't stay to watch it.
Will say nothing for kids to do. My nephews were bored most of the time. Even with the darts, pool internet and swimming pools, no kids entertainment at nights. Not many children in the hotel. Island is more suited to the older age bracket. Saying this, I would go back to this hotel and would recommend it.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Eclipse

Recommended
Alan Broadhurst
10 years 3 months ago
Monumental Lido was a splendid hotel, with outstanding comfort, cleanliness, food variety and location.

We were situated overlooking the swimming pool - looking out to sea, which was an exceptionally quiet location.

The linen was changed regularly with ample towels provided - including two for use at the swimming pool.

The air conditioning and ceiling fan particularly appreciated, as well as the free refrigerator.

I thought the entertainment was fairly basic overall, but presumably having regard to the predominantly British clientele(!). The sngers relied greatly on their 'backing' music and microphone, which was largely of a 'karioke' effect. The folk dancers were colourful but looked bored through 'repetition', and the tables very close together.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
Andy
11 years 1 month ago
We stayed for a week March 2007 on a half board basis with a double room overlooking the pool.

Overall the hotel is very good and has a great location. The room was large enough and the furniture off good quality. There is a 20 inch TV with many cable channels (only CNN and BBC World in English), a fridge and a hair dryer. The balcony furniture was also comfortable. Maid service daily and everything was spotlessly clean.

The public rooms again are clean and of a high standard. The reception well organised and efficient/friendly. In the lobby there are plenty of comfortable sofa's and there is a library where you cabin swap books, internet access (payable) and plenty of tourist information.

There are two bars, one behind the lobby and one next to the pool. The lobby bar has entertainment each evening, the pool bar serves snacks etc throughout the day.

There is a newly opened Spa and indoor pool and a gym/fitness club within the hotel.

Meals were served in the dining room on the 4th flour. It could be said that the table layout was a little cramped but we were fortunate to have a stand-alone table for two allocated for dinner, there are no table allocations for breakfast.

The food overall was served from a buffet for all meal and was of a high quality. It was warm and replenished frequently through the sitting. My only criticism of the food was the there could be more variety, every evening it was soup or salad for starter and a choice of one meat or one fish main course.

Underneath the hotel is a shopping complex which has several tourist type outlets and eateries. It is one of the cheapest places for coffee at 1.50 Euro for two cups ( one espresso and one latte). Also in the shopping complex is the
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
11 years 3 months ago
This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. The food is excellent and plentiful,(champagne at breakfast).

I would recommend a seaview room. We will return to this hotel the next time we come to Madeira.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Norma 65
11 years 5 months ago
Very clean hotel. Food very good and always hot. They opened the restaurant at 4am for us our flight time was 7.30am

Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Recommended
June Swale
12 years 1 month ago
Excellent hotel, very clean, food extremely good (and I'm a fussy eater) could even do a Bucks Fizz for breakfast.
Well located, easy to get about but not noisy, we were warned of building work but can honestly say that we never heard it.


Only had to sit on a lounger and someone was there with a matress and towel.
All in all a lovely holiday, beware of hills if yiou are not agile.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: portland

Recommended
13 years 5 months ago
Booked a last minute break with First Choice, guaranteed 4* hotel allocated on arrival, and got the Monumental Lido.We were given a room on the fifth floor which at the back of the hotel is actually level with the road, due to the hills in Funchal.

It seemed noisy and when you went out on the balcony you felt like you were sitting in the middle of the traffic.We asked to be moved and were given a room on the seventh floor which was much better if still a little noisy.

The rooms at the front are a lot more expensive.The hotel is very clean and comfortable,and the staff very helpful and most speak English. Food was varied and always plentiful and hot.

There were three main courses and several puddings.Towels changed every day and pool towels provided.Bus stop right outside the front door. If you get your bus tickets at Joes round the side of the hotel(ask at reception) you get a return for the price of a single and they're not dated so you can bulk buy! If you get a seven day ticket from the booths in Funchal (you need your passport) it's even better value.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: first choice

Recommended
Sandy Buchan
13 years 6 months ago
Second time this year I
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Airtuors

Recommended
M Walker
13 years 8 months ago
Good Hotel, very clean , pool attendance was 1st class. You were supplied with your pool towels , which were placed on a padded sunbed along with a sun parasol, these were all brought to you by the pool attendant. Plenty road noise. Would recommend paying for a sea view room. Food choice not great only 1 meat dish,1 fish dish and 1 pasta dish per dinner. Breakfast was the same every morning, however the champange at breakfast was very refreshing. The staff at the hotel were most hekpful and all spoke good english.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland Direct

Recommended
Angela Cooper
13 years 11 months ago
Hotel is on a main road,very busy and noisy during the day and more so at night (boy racers and mopeds),fairly clean although bathroom did not smell very pleasant,food was ok very fresh well prepared vegetables but not a great choice of any thing,restaurant is too small and cramped,crowded and noisy (no good for a romantic meal for special oaccasions) staff,some nice some not so pleasant,entertainment,total waist of time,starts to late and is rubbish,pool area is clean,overall this hotel is now very dated and need a good overhall to bring it in line with some of the very very nice hotels that are near it.
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Portland

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum