Image of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Porto Santa Maria Hotel

3 of 24 hotels in Funchal

5 out of 5 from 12 reviews
4 stars
Avda do Mar e das Comunidades Madeirenses 50, Funchal, Madeira 9050-029, Portugal
The Porto Santa Maria offers wonderful views across the port. suitable for families and older couples who enjoy a peaceful, historic location.

12 Reviews

Traveller Rating

  • Excellent
    9
  • Very Good
    3
  • Good
    0
  • Average
    0
  • Poor
    0

Review Overview

  • Cleanliness
  • Entertainment
  • Food
  • Service
  • Location
Joy Townsend
Excellent hotel for adults only
6 years ago
This hotel is beautiful. This was our second visit and have already booked for next year. Booking a sea view is a good idea. The hotel is ideally placed for shops and restaurants in the old town of Funchal.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and always has a beautiful arrangement of flowers in reception. The kitchenette in the room is very useful, especially the fridge and kettle (tea and coffee provided). The rooms are cleaned daily, bath robes are provided and pool towels are in your room instead of having to collect them each day. We only ate breakfast in the hotel but this was very good. Plenty of choice of hot & cold food. No dashing down to reserve sunbeds for a nice change. Just go when you're ready. Staff very friendly and approachable.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:
Recommended
Peter & Karen
10 years ago
Great hotel, in what we thought was the best end of town. The staff are very good and can't do enough for you. If you travel to this hotel, only book half board as there are so many excellent restaurants nearby - some just outside the hotel.

Our room had a great view - we sat on our balcony and watched the liners coming and going.

Not the place for frantic nightlife - but a wonderful place for a holiday. We will go again, probably early in the year when the gardens are in full bloom.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended
A & L Burgess
12 years ago
This was our honeymoon. We booked a junior suite - well worth the money.

Separate lounge area with patio door on to the balcony which had its own sunbeds, table and chairs and seaview. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the breakfast was nice with a choice of continental or cooked.

Location great - plenty of shops and local restaurants right on the hotel's doorstop. The hotel staff were very friendly. There wasn't much entertainment in the evening but we didn't mind that as we ate out in the evenings at the local restaurants. Most evenings we had a 3 course meal and bottle of wine for
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Firsr Choice

Recommended
D.and M. Wilson
12 years 5 months ago
My wife and I had a wonderful stay at the Porto Santa Maria Hotel.hotel last week. We found the hotel service to be near perfect. We had an excellent, well -appointed room with a fantastic sea view on the second floor, though most of the rooms appear to have a reasonable outlook anyway. Watching the liners come and go from the balcony is fascinating. The room was cleaned scrupulously each day and the hotel staff were friendly and polite. The breakfasts were more than adequate but sometimes if you were there at a busy time, you had to hang around a little for a table, especially if the weather was poor and the tables on the terrace outside not in demand. When the hotel management became aware that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and a
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Kathryn & Stuart
12 years 8 months ago
We spent New Year 05/06 at Porto Santa Maria.

The hotel is one of the very few Funchal hotels which is not situated in the tourist area. This is a huge advantage because the tourist area is much further away from the town centre and seems to have no real character. Almost all rooms face the sea. They also have a basic kitchen which is good. Hotel was very clean and although the staff could have been politer, they spoke every language possible. Breakfast has a large selection, lunch is leftovers from last night's dinner and dinner is a large buffet or a la carte. We stayed in for dinner a couple of nights because it was convenient but preferred eating out. Lunch is better at one of the numerous cafes (great for people watching!) or at the hotel pool bar.

One bit of advice - don't take travellers cheques. The hotel charge 10% commission and although the guidebooks say banks are cheaper, the only bank in Funchal that changes them charges a flat rate of 26
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Independent

Recommended
Ken
12 years 9 months ago
Excellent hotel with very helpful and friendly staff, I found it was the little extras that made the difference like an alarm in the bath if you needed it, but lets hope you don't. Sheets seemed to be changed everyday, sweets left for you. The whole hotel just made you feel relaxed.

The indoor pool and Jacuzzi were great and there is also a nice sauna that you have to book in advance (1 hour) at a cost of 4 Euro.

If you want a hotel to relax in and on the level with most of the attractions in Funchal this is the place for you.

We have stayed in the Hotel area before but this location is much better.

We found some nice places to eat just outside the hotel, avoid the ones on the main square apart from the Chinese which was very good another is in one of the smaller streets Gaviano Novo not very big but will cook it as you want it even with no Garlic another one to try but a bit more expensive is the one on the corner if you walk up with the Gaviano on your left, very nice steak with local entertainment.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
S Seagrove
13 years 4 months ago
This must be one of the best hotels we have stayed in. A four star which could easily be 5 star.

Location in the old town is excellent, quiet but surrounded by really good restaurants and bars and within easy walk to the centre of Funchal.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, rooms very spacious (go for a sea view).

Staff friendly and courteous, couldn't do enough for you.

Exceptionally clean and excellent breakfast.

Can't wait to go back.
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomas Cook

Recommended
Roger Hooton
13 years 10 months ago
A good hotel in excellent location (in the Old Town), which is only short walk to shops and even shorter to some good restaurants. I recommend the Chinese just around the corner with its excellent fresh produce and service!

Porto Santa Maria Hotel is modern, unpretentious and represents good value for money. The rooms are large enough, and above all exceptionally clean, Unfortunatly the beds were as hard as a rock! Do not book a room with out a sea view as the hotel is situated right next to the sea and the outlook is just great!

The indoor and outdoor pools are clean, well maintained but are very shallow with no deep ends. The buffet breakfast is very good and you will be spoilt for choice (mind you, there is always some idiot who wants something not provided).

The drinks and food served are not at rip off prices and I believe that the staff could be on the friendlier side. All in all a very good hotel to stay at which caters for adults who want a quiet place to unwind and soak up the sun
Cleanliness:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: First Choice

Recommended
Rhian Hughes
13 years 10 months ago
I have nothing but praise for this hotel. Ideally located in the old town only a few minutes walk from the restaurants and very quiet.

Go for the junior suite well worth the extra, enormous balcony with sun beds, sea view, king size bed, kitchen, lounge, great bathroom, toiletries and beach towels supplied.

Both indoor and outdoor pools were warm and clean. Well equipped fitness room and a large jacuzzi.

The breakfast was buffet style, all you could eat, fresh fruit salds fruit juices coffee cooked breakfast even bucks fizz!
Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Style

Recommended
Lilian Ritch
14 years 1 month ago
This is an excellent hotel, all staff very friendly and helpful. The pool area was was so relaxing and very clean. We really cannot think of anything to say against this hotel, we believe it is one of the best we have stayed in anywhere and will certain think of going back sometime.







Cleanliness:
Food:
Service:
Location:
Entertainment:

Travel operator: Thomson

Recommended

Ask a Question

Got a question? Ask our community of over 1.5 million users.

Post your question

Book Your Stay

Looking to stay here? You can check the accommodation availability and get the best prices using the link below:

Holiday Truths Forum
Holiday Truths Forum